We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Rating is 0” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #219 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My Rating is 0”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not sure how can they name an 2 star hotel in 5 star category. I stayed here for three nights and one of the worst hotel i have every stayed. The rooms are very small, the room is 50 % bigger than their bathroom. If you going with your family or girlfriend , please avoid this place. Might be an ok one if you are travelling alone. The fun part was they upgraded me to luxury room and asked me to stay in 3rd floor, if the luxury room is worst not sure about the ordinary one.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd and 6th floor rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Siv-PR,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied.

The InterContinental De La Ville Roma, previously a convent, is an historical building in the heart of Rome.
The hotel is a 5 stars traditional property successfully passing the very regular quality and service controls conducted by our mother company IHG and the Italian ministery of Tourism.
Our rooms are of various sizes and we are at your disposal to assist you to book the right roomtype for next time. Classic room around 20m² to the Presidential Suite of 55m².

The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the area.

We try to provide the best guest experience possible, and we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service.

Your comments have been shared with our management, we still hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and do remain at your full disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    373
    196
    104
    64
See reviews for
253
674
72
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had heard wonderful things about this property and to our amazement it held true and beyond our expectations. Elegant yet not intimidating - wonderful staff and well appointed rooms and very nice amenities. Location had us close to shopping, fine dinning, attractions. The lobby lounge had a wonderful cabaret singer every night. Wonderful breakfast area with a vast assortment of fruits, pastries, eggs, cheeses, meats. Concierge handles all of our tour arrangements and were extremely helpful

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are definitely quieter. We faced a center courtyard area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear SchneeTraveler,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to post such positive comments on Tripadvisor.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us and that both the location and the service were up to their expecxtations.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to IC De La Ville Roma once again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our trip to Rome for Honey-moon just got spoilt with the ambience and service of this hotel, I should say.Starting with the reception place where they took some 40 minutes(for just check-in) to finish up their formalities to the business center where a charge of $5 is to be paid for the use of internet I dont suppose this hotel has got the value to bear the 5 star.The room was extremely congested for 2 with very poor lightings.The funiiest part is that the wardrobe was much larger than the bathroom.The so called TV(which is also charged for usage except news channels)is another mess.The hotel's location though is very nearest to the station, once we need to go to the city centre then we have to walk through the steep spanish steps where most of our calories would be burnt and we will be left with zero energy to enjoy further.The only consoling fact of this hotel is that the christmas tree kept in front of the hotel was decorated beautifully.Since it was christmas season I had one reason to rate this hotel with 2 rates else this hotel is an extreme disgust.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Babili,

Thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on tripadvisor.com.

Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, we are sorry that we have not been successful in your case.

We regret to read your experience was not enjoyable for you, however, the rates we apply for rooms and services are regularly benchmarked against other 5* hotels in our area and
we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service. We are continuously refreshing our furnitures and interior of rooms in order to always meet our guest's expectations and we are working on a renovation plan.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints for the same reason like yours.

I remain at your full disposal.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed one night here, courtesy of my cruise line, the night before embarking on a Mediterranean cruise. I would not have stayed here otherwise.

The room was smallish but comfortable, and classy. The public areas were also nice. The front desk was helpful with currency exchange, as was the concierge with answering our questions.

The location is convenient to the Spanish Steps, and the Villa Borghese.

Breakfast was included with our room, and what a buffet they have! Everything you could want was there, including champagne, and all of it was delicious. I would not have paid the 35 Euro asking price for it, though.

Nice place, but I'm not rich enough to make a habit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Freyja S,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay and that both the location and the service were up to your expecxtations. We do offer quite various packages and promotions through out the year and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Sincere regards,
Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Can't say anything good about this hotel. Not a 5 star property not even a 4 star. It does shame to the Intercontinental brand. I did not expect a room that was not much bigger than a closet, with a terrace that look out at a brick wall. The bath tub was so narrow (to fit into a sub sized bathroom) you could not move your feet more than a few inches apart. Despite a request to the front desk the bathroom faucet leaked during our entire 3 night stay and stains on the floor tiles around the toilet were never cleaned. Strange noises from the floor above were never addressed (like cart being pushed across the floor) and even the doorman was rude (when we cancelled a taxi he had called, at the last minute.) Not helping were the prices for food and drinks (17 euros for an average desert) or the failure to make up our room, an hour after the request, while we waited in the lobby. If location is a factor, remember that this hotel is at the top of the Spanish Steeps, meaning you transverse 138 steeps going and coming, each time you walk toward the city center and the designer shops/ return to the hotel. A nearby public elevator is filthy and smells of urine, also it only operates until 9:00 P.M. & and is reached by a dark, isolated street (the hotel staff did not even tell us about the elevator).

Room Tip: Do not stay in standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Candoer,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is with great regrets that I learn about your disapointment.
We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied.

The InterContinental De La Ville Roma, previously a convent, is an historical building in the heart of Rome.
The hotel is a 5 stars traditional property successfully passing the very regular quality and service controls conducted by our mother company IHG and the Italian ministery of Tourism.
The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the aeraa.

We try to provide the best guest experience possible, and we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service. We are continuously refreshing our furnitures and interior of rooms in order to always meet our guest's expectations and we are working on a renovation plan.

Your comments have been shared with our management, we still hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and do remain at your full disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location size of room and good service
Do u need anything else ?
very cleane
Good breakfast
As always helpful consierge
Our second time in the same hotel in rome
Yes we pay for the Internet
But the to towels water bed etc was great
It is our second time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Michaela55,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to learn the that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff are definetly very attentive to guests needs and I am glad to hear that you have a warm and friendly encounter every time you stay.
Thank you again for posting a review and for being such a great customer, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having stayed in many IHG hotels (Holiday Inn & Crowne Plaza) we thought we would treat ourselves whilst in Rome. Unfortunately this hotel did not deliver, which was not only because the room was dull and unwelcoming (without tea & coffee), but mainly because it was so damned pretentious!!

As my title suggests the location is great being only a few yards from the Spanish steps and within walking distance of the trevi fountain, Fontana tridente, and Villa borghese. There are also many good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try the Hassler up the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kingofclare,
thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel.
We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received.
Your comments have been shared with our teams and we look forward welcoming you soon to show you how devoted we always are to your satisfaction.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Rome
#102 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#103 Family Hotel in Rome
#201 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.