We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but pricey; awesome breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #231 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but pricey; awesome breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed one night here, courtesy of my cruise line, the night before embarking on a Mediterranean cruise. I would not have stayed here otherwise.

The room was smallish but comfortable, and classy. The public areas were also nice. The front desk was helpful with currency exchange, as was the concierge with answering our questions.

The location is convenient to the Spanish Steps, and the Villa Borghese.

Breakfast was included with our room, and what a buffet they have! Everything you could want was there, including champagne, and all of it was delicious. I would not have paid the 35 Euro asking price for it, though.

Nice place, but I'm not rich enough to make a habit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Freyja S,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay and that both the location and the service were up to your expecxtations. We do offer quite various packages and promotions through out the year and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Sincere regards,
Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    397
    210
    106
    67
See reviews for
279
706
75
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Can't say anything good about this hotel. Not a 5 star property not even a 4 star. It does shame to the Intercontinental brand. I did not expect a room that was not much bigger than a closet, with a terrace that look out at a brick wall. The bath tub was so narrow (to fit into a sub sized bathroom) you could not move your feet more than a few inches apart. Despite a request to the front desk the bathroom faucet leaked during our entire 3 night stay and stains on the floor tiles around the toilet were never cleaned. Strange noises from the floor above were never addressed (like cart being pushed across the floor) and even the doorman was rude (when we cancelled a taxi he had called, at the last minute.) Not helping were the prices for food and drinks (17 euros for an average desert) or the failure to make up our room, an hour after the request, while we waited in the lobby. If location is a factor, remember that this hotel is at the top of the Spanish Steeps, meaning you transverse 138 steeps going and coming, each time you walk toward the city center and the designer shops/ return to the hotel. A nearby public elevator is filthy and smells of urine, also it only operates until 9:00 P.M. & and is reached by a dark, isolated street (the hotel staff did not even tell us about the elevator).

Room Tip: Do not stay in standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Candoer,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is with great regrets that I learn about your disapointment.
We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied.

The InterContinental De La Ville Roma, previously a convent, is an historical building in the heart of Rome.
The hotel is a 5 stars traditional property successfully passing the very regular quality and service controls conducted by our mother company IHG and the Italian ministery of Tourism.
The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the aeraa.

We try to provide the best guest experience possible, and we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service. We are continuously refreshing our furnitures and interior of rooms in order to always meet our guest's expectations and we are working on a renovation plan.

Your comments have been shared with our management, we still hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and do remain at your full disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location size of room and good service
Do u need anything else ?
very cleane
Good breakfast
As always helpful consierge
Our second time in the same hotel in rome
Yes we pay for the Internet
But the to towels water bed etc was great
It is our second time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Michaela55,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to learn the that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff are definetly very attentive to guests needs and I am glad to hear that you have a warm and friendly encounter every time you stay.
Thank you again for posting a review and for being such a great customer, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having stayed in many IHG hotels (Holiday Inn & Crowne Plaza) we thought we would treat ourselves whilst in Rome. Unfortunately this hotel did not deliver, which was not only because the room was dull and unwelcoming (without tea & coffee), but mainly because it was so damned pretentious!!

As my title suggests the location is great being only a few yards from the Spanish steps and within walking distance of the trevi fountain, Fontana tridente, and Villa borghese. There are also many good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try the Hassler up the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kingofclare,
thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel.
We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received.
Your comments have been shared with our teams and we look forward welcoming you soon to show you how devoted we always are to your satisfaction.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Although you have to pay for the extras, including a high cost for wifi, the InterContinental is the perfect location at the top of the Spanish Steps. Their brunch was fabulous and the service excellent. The concierge was unfriently and not helpful, but other hotel staff were great. We loved our room and the architecture of the hotel was a real treat. The brunch was amazing and room service prompt. Just a friently warning - Rome taxi drivers will rip you off every chance they get. Be careful and discuss the cost before you get in. However, the taxi drivers are considerate - they cover the meters so you don't see how badly you're being taken. We always use EuropeanDestinations for our trips to Europe and we arrange the transportation to/from the airport through them as part of our package. Thank goodness this time was no exception, but we learned to take care after the first time of using a taxi to get across the city.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor and we loved it. Brunch is served on the second floor. It's ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Green53,
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am happy to see that the location of our hotel was convenient to you and that the service was up to your expectations.
The quality and consistency of service is our highest priority and I regret to learn that you have experienced some lack of consistency on the behalf of our concierge. We usually receive good feedback for our concierge, anyhow
your feedback has been raised with the management and teams and some corrective actions have been taken.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location, location, location! This hotel overlooks the Spanish Steps and is within an easy walk of lots of attractions. It is a grand and comfortable place with a very helpful and attentive staff. The rooms are clean, comfortable and offer great amenities. If you are a Virturuoso traveler upgrades are available. Breakfast is served in the plaza area and offers an amazing assortment. Dinner, during the warmer months, is served at "La Piazzetta", a roof top setting with astounding views of Rome. While a bit on the pricey side The Intercontinental is worth the extra dollar/euro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Peter C,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us.
I am happy to see that the location of our hotel was convenient to you and that the service was up to your expectations.
We are always working to be the best hotel around, and comments like yours will help us to do this.
We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.
Sincerly,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was nice overall. Friendly concierge service and front desk staff. Room was comfortable and spacious. I would stay here again. The bar and bistro on the rooftop was beautiful at night and their brunch was divine!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mary h,
Thank you for your positive review, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff are definetly very attentive to guests needs and I am glad to hear that you have a warm and friendly encounter.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#86 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#69 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#179 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.