We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy the historical Rome !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #225 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“enjoy the historical Rome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love this hotel - the location is amazing and the staff is really great . I enjoyed my wonderful time there last week . The consierge was is very helpful !! The breakfast was very nice . The hotel is fantastic - on the top of the Spanish Steps ! I will be back there soon . Best regards to Mr Oddis - one of the most professional consierge of the world !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Tina90210,
Staff attitude is our priority and guest feedback is the most precious tool allowing us to continuously improve.
Your comments have been shared with our Mr. Oddis and teams and we look forward welcoming you soon to show you how devoted we always are to your satisfaction.
Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    368
    193
    104
    64
See reviews for
247
666
71
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Only stayed one night at the intercontinental post cruise. The hotel is in an absolutey fantastic location you could not ask for more, you walk out the front door and five paces to the right and you are at the top of the spanish steps. Rome is a really beautiful city and you can walk to all the major attractions ( with the exception of Vatican City ) from the front door of the hotel within an hour or so to each ... you can easiy explore in a day, but make sure if you travel in August like i did you take a hat and plenty of water the heat in unbearable.
The hotel was really well appointed and our room for Rome was really very large, and well exquiped.
Room: Everything you need but very few English chanels on the TV, not that you want to stay in and watch TV but we where missing the Olympics so had to resort to watching it in German.
Toiletries are Elemis which was very nice, powerful shower and a bath, all usual facilities you need, iron, ironing board, safe etc and a view out onto the streets of Rome.
Dinning: We had breakfast in the court yard and it was really nice, food excellent and location really beautiful.
We had an evening meal in the resturaunt on the roof of the hotel it is only small so i recommend y ou book in advance but it is well worth it. PLEASE BOOK .. it is so lovely, you have a muscian playing as you are served excellent cuisine as you watch the sunset go down over the whole of Rome, dont think you are going to get a veiw to beat it and to my surprise it was very reasonably priced too... a meal for two three courses and wine came in under £150 which is really good for Rome. The services was also excellent, really friendly and tentative without being intrusive really made us feel at home.
Reception: Warm welcome though on occassion it came across a little bit stuffy and elitist ...not everyone but certain memebers of staff.
Bar: there is a small bar downstairs that serves afternoon tea, really nice and staff excellent, beware it is not cheap though but worth a visit.
Overall a excellent location for a short stay

Room Tip: I am sure the hotel has some high romms with small terraces though we did not stay in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear jlmaryon,
Thank you very much for your very positive review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that both the location and the service were up to your expectations.
Regarding the few English channels, the issue has been submitted to the management in order to take some corrective actions.
We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.
Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the best spots in Rome, right on top of the Spanish steps. Walking the down the steps you can do much of your shopping and dining right at the bottom of the steps.
Location is important in Rome as the city tends to be crowded and getting around on foot is probably your best choice, if possible.


Cons:
1. Rooms are really small with old uncomfortable furniture. However, in Room TV was ok with some English channels.
2. Breakfast buffet: standard with limited selection of cheese and cereals. Omlete can be made to order. On our first day, my wife had to change her order two times before getting the vegetarian omelet she requested.
3. Reception/concierge: staff were sufficient. However, not friendly or helpful. They would answer or help you out in what you need, but with sort of an attitude.


Overall: it was not a bad stay, expect average service and rooms and you will be fine. Recommended if you would like to stay at the Spanish steps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Bardeesi,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay among us was not up to your expectations.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future

Sincerely,
V. Schipilliti

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

July 17-19 2012 after our cruise we stayed two nights at this hotel. Location fantastic, right at the top of the Spanish steps. Not a good choice if you have trouble with 100 stairs. We arrived at 10am When we checked in we were promised an upgrade, which was not available yet. there was another room available. I did look at the available room and was told that the upgrade was worth waiting for. We were told it would b ready around 3pm. Fine, we left our luggage and went out to explore. I phoned the hotel and was told the room would b ready after 4pm We returned at 430pm and the upgraded room was still not available. Further the gentleman we had been dealing with had left and no one knew what room he had designated. they thought the room he had suggested was still occupied We ended up with the same room I had seen at 10am. It did have a wonderful outdoor sitting area. Oh well! That same evening we returned to the hotel after dinner to discover there was a blackout in the hotel and our room was unusable. We were able to get into the room about 1130pm The hotel did arrange a lovely dinner as compensation for our troubles. I do recommend the restaurant on the sixth floor wonderful views. Very pricey. Maybe for drinks at sunset.
I would not stay here again. I prefer a view from my room and I found the hotel a little dated. The room was lovely and had many nice features. Good storage and cupboard. Service at hotel was good. I like a coffee or drink in the lobby and the two nights I was there no one was working at the hotel lobby bar.
Also, the Internet was not included and breakfast was not included. As an ambassador member I do expect Internet. The fruit basket and water was quite a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear dmorcareers

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry for the unacceptable service you received during your stay. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We are currently on holiday with the family in ROme . We had booked the De la ville as we had stayed there before .this time though we were extremely disappointed with the hotel . It is completely run down and looks like a hotel in the 1960's .For the price we pay the rooms are small and old . There was a moldy smell in the corridors and rooms as well . When I asked about why the hotel hadn't been renovated I was told it was an old site and that's the way it had to be kept . We decided to leave and go elsewhere . We left the same day so had spent about 2 hours only in the rooms . They charged us for one night for both rooms even though we were hardly there . Their staff 's attitude was terrible . They were extremely arrogant .It seems like they take advantage of their location . Never again will we choose an Intercontinental hotel if this is the quality they maintain .....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Radhika K,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I deeply apologize your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the hotel, unusual smell, room accommodations and conduct of our hotel staff. I understand the discomfort and inconvenience this caused you. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead offer good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Rest assured, your feedback will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I chose to stay at the Intercontinental, as the brand is reputable. But the room for which I paid close on to 350euros, was less than 15square metres including the bathroom. When i looked out of the window, my view was of the roof of a courtyard. There was no free wi-fi in the hotel. There were no complimentary teas, coffees or even water in the room. I upgraded my room to a suite for an extra 500 euros per night. And this price excluded breakfast. It was frighteningly expensive. No complimentary anything even with the upgrade to the suite.
This hotel is not worthy of belonging to the Intercontinental Group.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear TANYA W,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are glad that you thought so highly of the hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. However, we are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the room accommodations and some aspects of our hotel services. Your valuable feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to take into consideration for possible modifications or improvements.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Rome and this hotel was recommended by friends. We arrived early and not only was our room ready but we were given an upgraded room overlooking the courtyard ! Unfortunately, we arrived in Rome the same day that the first snow storm in 25 years had as well, so we were unable to enjoy the beautiful setting, nor the rooftop bar that the hotel had to offer (our friends had raved about it). Much of the city was shut down during our 5 day stay (including local transportation); however, the concierage at the de la Ville was absolutely wonderful in assisting us .. he pointed out the best walking routes to possible open venues throughout the city that we might be able to enjoy as well as alternate routes to get down the bottom of the Spanish Steps (can you believe they were roped off as well !!!)

The room was lovely, bathroom size quite large for european standards, and room service was fast and very good the few times we ordered it. Wi-fi was included which was fantastic as well.

Although at times we felt "stuck" in our location at the top of the Spanish Steps during this trip and quite removed from most of the tourist attractions, I do not believe this was a reflection of the hotel at all ... but rather the freak snowstorm that blew in causing the limited access we were granted with respect to transportation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Family Hotel in Rome
#204 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.