We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel it's nice ,clean,good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Borgognoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Borgognoni to your Saves list
Hotel dei Borgognoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #148 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The hotel it's nice ,clean,good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel it's clean and the location it's in the center almost and the staff they are very polite and helpful , I think it's better to chose room which the windows it's facing inside the hotel not to the street because of the noise, the weakness in this hotel is the waifai it's so week inside the room but it's very strong in the anther place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    155
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
97
197
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

stayed there for 4 nights as a starting point of my 15 nights in italy.
the location is superb (5 mnts to both Trevi Fountain, spanish steps & metro station).
unfortunately, when we arrived we were not welcomed properly by the somewhat "rude" receptionist ! he asked me for my name to check our reservation, and then the incident started.
he saw my daughter with me and my wife, and told me the agency booked for double room without mentioning the child ! itried to explain that the travel agency booked the whole trip, and by that i mean the tickets and hotels, so it doesn't make sense that they book a flight for 3 people and hotel for 2 !? but he was complaining and saying that this is not right ! you cannot book for two people and bring another person (my 5 year old child) ?!!
he gave us the room, but made us uncomfortable after a tiring trip from Kuwait to italy.
i had been in many countries and hotel and never had such a bad treatment ! even if there is a mistake, he must be calm and respectful to the people !
on the other hand, there was a nice lady whom i forgot her name, but she was nice to everybody
and helped us with any questions we had.
they provide us with a map to find the attractions. next door there was a "supermarket" which was a plus to the beautiful location.
we didn't like the breakfast really, small buffet with little items to choose from.
we compared it to the breakfasts served by dubai hotels "for example" and it is really poor !
but the staff were nice, and the cappuccino was good. in front of the hotel there were 2 caffes that serve breakfast if someone likes to have another option.
the room was small, no free internet, no complemantery water, one card for the room, the bathroom was not clean properly as an amenity of a four star hotel.

in general, we didn't feel that it was a 4 star hotel, we saw a 3 star hotel with a superb location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Direttore at Hotel dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I’m really sorry for this incontinent that happen at your arrival. I spoke personally with the person in charge that morning. I also spoke with our Concierge lady also on duty that day. The misunderstanding was that, unfortunately your Agent booked a room for two people - double room - (please check also you voucher) .

That morning the hotel was totally fully booked for triple rooms, this is the reason that we could not give you what you expected with no reservation – a triple room – , the only possibility we had was to put an extra bed in the room assigned , on our behalf with no extra cost for the bed and with no extra cost for the breakfast. The Front Desk person tried to explain you situation of the reservation, showing you also our confirmation for a double room…….was never booked a triple, this created some tension, but I do apologize of his insistence to explain the real situation.

Regarding our breakfast room, this should not be compare with Dubai Hotels with 300/400 rooms. Hotel dei Borgognoni is a boutique hotel with 51 rooms with a different philosophy than a Hotel Chain has. In any case I’m glad that you had a positive relation with all the rest of our Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is well located in the city center of Roma (the capital of the world)... Moreover, we appreciated the good service and the tastefull breakfast... Furthermore, miss Francesca Marzullo has been very helpfull and very friendly; she is the best
Best regards...
Elie Bou Fadel & Nathalie Khayat

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We loved our stay; I booked the reservations over email directly with Luca; the manager and he was there waiting for us. Although we arrived early we were shown directly to our beautiful room which looked identical to the photos on line. The hotel is 5 min to Trevi and 8 min to Spanish Steps; we liked the location because you could go to all attractions; if you got tired go back to the hotel for a power nap and leave out again, Rome is ALL walking so it is important to have your hotel with easy access to the attractions. Our room had a beautiful bathroom with a large jacuzzi and all kinds of extra amenities. It was quiet and on a side street; no noise at night, Luca, Deborah and Joseph were all wonderful; the breakfast is free with your Room and so amazing you will only need to eat and snack then one other meal per day. The wifi access was fast and the hotel has a small business center; they printed our boarding passes for free and offer a quiet library. I have stayed in so many upscale large hotels I far preferred the smaller boutique hotel....where everybody knows your name. I would encourage you to contact Luca in person via email on the hotel website and make reservations with him. The room are just like what you see in the pictures; their red orange juice from Sicily is to die for!!! also a quiet bar for a night cap. There is a great sandwhich shop next door for pannii and also a market so if you forget anything they offer food, water, snacks, sundries. If you need airport transfers emal romalimostar.gmail.com Allesandro Marconi is GREAT and will whisk you off in his big black Mercedes and give you mini tour of Rome on the way to the hotel. His English is very good and we really liked him very much. there is no better located hotel nor no better driver in Rome; we know; we tried several and are often "hard to please"

Room Tip: We stayin in room 410; it was quiet and we loved it! any request will be met by the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Hotel dei Borgognoni is an amazing small hotel in a perfect location in Rome. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The lobby and breakfast area are a calm oasis from the busy streets of Rome. Our room was fantastic. Clean and quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Direttore at Hotel dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are all very happy you enjoyed you stay with us. Hope you se you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Centrally located in what seemed to be a safe area. We were able to check in a bit early which was nice and the room was clean. Staff was ok, not overly friendly but not unfriendly. They were helpful in making sure we had a car service from the Airport though Shower pretty tight but more or less what we expected.
WIFI was 9 euros extra for 48 hour period and somewhat slow and inconsistent. Morning breakfast was good.
-Great home base to be able to walk to the Colosseum (20 minute walk)
-Trevi Fountain (5 minute walk)
-Vatican (8 euro cab ride)
-Travestera (20 minute walk)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although we've stayed at many hotels in Rome over the years, this place is by far, our favorite. It is located in an excellent area that is quiet and safe. It's a relatively small "Boutique" hotel with reasonable rates that include a wonderful breakfast (not just coffee & rolls like many other hotels) served in a very nice dining room, linen tablecloths, waiter in white jacket, etc. It also has a cute little bar for that before dinner cocktail. The entire staff is very friendly & accommodating. Everyone speaks English. Airline crews are frequent guests. This hotel possesses the perfect balance of comfort, atmosphere, and location. It sits right between Trevi Fountain & Spanish Steps. Beware when other hotels say "near attractions", that could mean a couple of miles. At this hotel you are a few blocks walk from just about everything including excellent and reasonable dining where many of the locals frequent. The area is loaded with outdoor cafes where you can have lunch, dinner, or just a rest with a great bottle of wine. Again, it's a great base for a Rome visit. I cannot recall ever having to use cabs or public transportation to get around.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms overlooking the street where I can open the window in the morning and listen to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Borgognoni

Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rome
#61 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#113 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#198 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms ( 4 star superior) all renovated recently. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Borgognoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.