We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Inghilterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Inghilterra to your Saves list
Hotel d'Inghilterra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€272 (EUR)
Ranked #403 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights from 2nd December, we arrived and were greeted by doormen and our host Massimo Mazzola. Nothing was too much trouble he was outstanding and made our stay extra special organising our trips. Beautiful location and hotel was very comfortable, we always stay in 5* hotels around the world. The character of the hotel and friendly staff are what makes it, the décor is perfect for the setting in Rome and makes the stay more authentic. Our room 564 was excellent with a roof terrace, comfortable bed and all the resources you would expect. Would definitely recommend this hotel and thank you all especially Massimo, you are a truly exceptional and a pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel d'Inghilterra for your recent stay here in Roma.
We are really thankful to you for having spent some time in sharing your comments.
We would like to thank you for your kind compliments, hopefully you had the time to taste our restaurant for a romantic candle light dinner, repeatedly appreciated by international magazines,always new and original menus,
We look forward to welcoming you again in Rome,
Best Regards,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    68
    31
    21
    20
See reviews for
55
129
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I and my family stayed at this hotel from the 28th November to the 2nd of December 2014. On November 30, we all went out of town and returned on 1st December. When my daughter was looking for her goods lost and small jewelry of my wife in hand baggage is also missing.

After I reported to the front desk, the manager only answer apologize and will be asked later with the housekeeping and later will be informed to us if they find those items.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We share your disappointment for the inadequate lack of security; it is clear that this certainly not representative of our usual level of hospitality.
Thank you for your constructive criticism; in spite of this experience, we all hope that, as a loyal Hotel d'Inghilterra, you will allow us another opportunity in the future to display the type of hospitality you expect and deserve.
Sincerely,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Ideally located around the corner from the Spanish Steps and in walking distance to the Trevi Fountain. Cosy hotel with good service. Rooms though comfortable, small and in need of refurbishment . Same goes for bathroom which was also not at all clean. Breakfast Buffet is small but everything there, Even glutenfree bread. Lovely small salons with tasteful Color schemes. In the afternoon they light scented candles in the hall by Cire Trudon, Abd El Kadir that smell like morrocan The' a la menthe, just lovely! As of 6 am pedestrian Road infront of window was VERY loud on both mornings. Only the lack of hyhiene in the bathroom would keep us from going back. But would come for a drink because of the scented candles. ( which we have ordernd for our home already).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments and review of the Hotel d'Inghilterra. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and your trip overall. The hotel is planning refurbishments to infrastructure and decor, expected to commence in the near future. I do hope we can welcome you back to experience the improvements in due course.

Sincerely Yours

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel as part of a tour package, and it was a big disappointment. The location is very good, in a pedestrian area and very near the Spanish Steps. Location and a comfortable bed were the best this hotel had to offer. I do give the bed credit -- we slept well each of our nights there, once the street sounds outside our windows quieted down.

We slept with our windows open because the weather was very warm and so was our room. The air conditioner did nothing other than move a little air and leak all over the (threadbare) carpet. We were fortunate; our room was fairly large and we had windows on two sides, so there was some cross-ventilation. The shutters on the windows could be left slightly opened but secured, and we felt safe leaving them ajar since we were a level or two above the street.

A greater problem than the air conditioning was the shower and the water temperature therein. The water temperature fluctuated dramatically, primarily from hot to very hot. There was no appreciable range between hot and cold, if one could even find cold water in the shower. We finally figured out that if the water pressure was reduced at the tap, the temperature of the water became almost bearable. Showering took much longer than it should have, and one felt at risk of scalding the entire time. Others in our group also had problems with water temperatures.

The upholstered furniture in our room was shabby. The linens were good, as was the hair dryer. Had I been asked to pay the price that this hotel apparently charges, I'd have been outraged and would never have stayed three nights. As it was, we managed to escape without being burned in the shower. I won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms here. Whenever there was a complaint -- and we heard s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are deeply sorry you were not able to experience our property at its best but we will take in to deep consideration your tips in the upcoming future. We are proud of having recently received by Trip Advisor itself a proof of excellence for our service and commitment to our beloved guests.
We are sorry to read all your comments, but we will do our best to improve our services.
We hope that you'll give us a second chance if you'll come back to Rome, we will be pleased to greet you and offer you a memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location as it is in the heart of Rome and you can easily reach any major location on foot. However the hotel itself was not worth its price. We were given rooms near the cleaners cupboard so we woke up at 6am to the noise of the cleaners moving around in the corridor, on the first night a cleaner entered our room early in the morning thinking it was the cleaners cupboard, waking us up. Also our room was facing an internal courtyard where turbines and heaters ran all night and not only cause a lot of noise but also steam and darkness. On top of all of this the breakfast was not at all fulfilling with undercooked eggs and no drinks. Finally to top it all off some lights and mains in the walls did not work, showers leaked even when they were off and the carpet was stained: maintenance is needed. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We share your disappointment for the inadequate maintenance status of your room; it is clear that there has been a lack of attention and supervision which is certainly not representative of our usual level of hospitality.
Thank you for your constructive criticism; in spite of this experience, we all hope that, as a loyal Hotel d'Inghilterra, you will allow us another opportunity in the future to display the type of hospitality you expect and deserve.
Sincerely,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Hotel d'Inghilterra contributed to a fantastic overall experience of Rome. The staff helped with organizing tickets to ballet and opera. The restaurant is charming and the library is a perfect hideaway spot. Would recommend it to everyone. I had my 9 year old daughter with me, and she felt at home. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review on TripAdvisor!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service of our team was up to your expectations. The location of the Hotel d'Inghilterra, right on the city centre is indeed a real advantage for our guests.

We truly hope that you will find your way back to Rome soon and that we will have the chance to welcome you again!

Best Regards


Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

How disappointing. This hotel was recommended/featured on the American Express Rewards website and a friend stayed their years ago and said it was good.

I expect it was once a good hotel but it is not now. I stayed there at the beginning and end of my tour of Italy and each of the 2 rooms was dingy and dark with filthy carpets, scuffed walls and trim and minimal AC. Neither room had enough light to read by, tiny towels in one room, broken safe in the other, one room faced the side street and was very noisy (I had to use ear plugs). I couldn't close the curtains because that would block the AC. I spoke to other guests from the States and they had similar comments.

When I spoke to the staff they explained that the hotel is gradually being renovated and that things would improve. I believe the hotel has new owners.

I must say that the staff was great; they found a private tour guide for the Vatican and helped me with other miscellaneous things. The food at breakfast was also very good.

The location is superb.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel as opposed to the front or side street are no doubt quieter. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldInghilterra, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. We are truly sorry if you did not experience the level of service you are right to expect from the hotel d'Inghilterra.
Nevertheless, we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on this subject and on the other issues you brought to our attention.
We would be extremely pleased to receive by you a second chance in order to make your next
stay a memorable one.

Best regards

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Inghilterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Inghilterra

Address: Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Inghilterra 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel d'Inghilterra, a temple of warm, welcoming Italian hospitality, is Niquesa Hotels & Residences flagship property in the heart of Rome. Niquesa's Hotel d'Inghilterra is one of Rome's most distinguished and desired destinations. Moments from the iconic Spanish steps, our deluxe boutique hotel sits gracefully at the very heart of historic Rome. Each of our unique rooms and suites is a perfect blend of traditional decadence and modern freshness that embodies Italian design. From the elegant Classic Double rooms to the heavenly Penthouse Suite with its flower filled terrace overlooking the city, every space is resplendent with luxuriant details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Inghilterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Inghilterra Hotel Rome
Hotel d Inghilterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Inghilterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.