We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Inghilterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Inghilterra to your Saves list
Hotel d'Inghilterra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at this one time luxury hotel with my son and elderly mother for a weekend. We arrived separately, having booked one single occupancy and a twin room. The rooms were mixed up on arrival and my mother was given the twin much larger room. When my son and I arrived we were offered the single occupancy with a double bed. No apologies were offered and only after much discussion we were finally moved to another more suitable room. This set the tone for our stay: incompetent, haughty staff who seemed not to understand the simplest requests delivered in Italian (we are bilingual). Restaurants were never booked as instructed and one reservation was never cancelled. We gave them some ice packs to carry medicines while travelling to put in the freezer and they never did. Never before have I come across such incompetent and unfriendly service. In addition, the beds were uncomfortable, the pillows rock hard, the room temperature erratic and the recent refurbishment vulgar and over the top. The hotel is badly managed and it has lost its former elegance and exclusivity. The only memorable things about it is the price: too hefty to forget in a hurry. Don't go, choose more wisely: even the neighbouring Plaza is better than this debacle.

Room Tip: Top floor with terraces over Roman rooftops. Even better go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are truly sorry that we have not been able to offer you the attention you deserved, but please believe that it was not our intention to make you feel unwelcomed.
We do hope that you will reconsider your decision and you will contact the Hotel Executive office upon your next visit to Rome to make your room’s arrangements. We will do our best to recover your faith towards Hotel d'Inghilterra.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us,
Best regards

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    68
    31
    21
    20
See reviews for
55
129
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a pricier choice for me. A bit of a splurge or stretch option I indulged in. It's in the high rent luxury fashion district a few blocks from the Spanish steps.

For the most part, I'd say it's still slightly out of my price range, but if you have money to blow, this doesn't seem like a bad option for Rome. The rooms were a decent size, the bathrooms all marble. There was a chandelier hanging over the bed. Literally a chandelier. They have a nightly turn-down service and the staff were all professional and helpful. Firm bed.

One note about the staff: I forgot my iPad in the room as I was checking out. I realized I left it as I was on the train to Fiumicino, which was too late to go back and get it. I called them and arranged to have them send it to me in the US. It arrived quickly and without any damage. Some other places might conveniently claim they never found it, or lose it in transit, but D'Inghilterra handled this professionally and without incident.

Again, while pricey for some (19 euro scotch at the hotel lounge, 18 euro daily charge for wifi access), this was a nice place. I imagine this is ideal for the expense account set.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
The most sincere THANK YOU from all of us for taking the time to share in detail your experience at the Hotel d'Inghilterra.
We are very pleased by your wonderful report; there is nothing more inspiring than our guests’ recognition!
Hoping to welcoming you soon again.
Best Regards

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel was extremely well situated only 200m from The Spanish Steps, in a small Piazza.
Good Sized Room and staff were always helpful in planning our days (and meals out at night).
Breakfast was quite good.
Only negative was the cost of transport from and to the airport quoted by hotel ........... over twice as much as we paid having arranged our own limo service before we left UK.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Piazza and if possible get a Corner Room which has a few windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel d?inghilterra for your recent stay here in Roma.
We are really thankful to you for having spent some time in sharing your comments.
We would like to thank you for your kind compliments, hopefully you had the time to taste our restaurant for a romantic candle light dinner, repeatedly appreciated by international magazines,always new and original menus,
We look forward to welcoming you again in Rome,
Best Regards,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After traveling with a tour in Sicily for a week, we chose what we thought was a top hotel in Rome. Aside from location, there was nothing special about it, and it was twice the price of our other accommodations.. The room and bathroom were good size, but there was no ventilation as they'd turned off the ac and at night it was too noisy to open the window. The feeling of the hotel is "stuffy", "uncomfortable". The breakfast was fine, but the staff seemed stressed and over worked and, consequently, unhappy. Internet was $18 a day (highest we experienced) and didn't work well. When our safe wouldn't open, there was no apology or explanation. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floor. Check the room before you move in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are deeply sorry you were not able to experience our property at its best but ones again we will take in to deep consideration your tips in the upcoming future. We are proud of having recently received by Trip Advisor itself a proof of excellence for our service and commitment to our beloved guests.
We are sorry to read all your comments, but we will do our best to improve our services.
We hope that you'll give us a second chance if you'll come back to Rome, we will be pleased to greet you and offer you a memorable stay.
Best Regards,
Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Inghilterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Inghilterra

Address: Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Inghilterra 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel d'Inghilterra, a temple of warm, welcoming Italian hospitality, is Niquesa Hotels & Residences flagship property in the heart of Rome. Niquesa's Hotel d'Inghilterra is one of Rome's most distinguished and desired destinations. Moments from the iconic Spanish steps, our deluxe boutique hotel sits gracefully at the very heart of historic Rome. Each of our unique rooms and suites is a perfect blend of traditional decadence and modern freshness that embodies Italian design. From the elegant Classic Double rooms to the heavenly Penthouse Suite with its flower filled terrace overlooking the city, every space is resplendent with luxuriant details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Inghilterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Inghilterra Hotel Rome
Hotel d Inghilterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Inghilterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.