We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were staying in a friend's home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lord Byron to your Saves list
Hotel Lord Byron
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe de Notaris, 5, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like we were staying in a friend's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in two rooms for several days over the New Year's holiday. The staff treated us like family. It is a lovely, small, quiet hotel that is a bit secluded but within walking distance of some attractions. We attended the New Year's Eve dinner at the hotel, and were thrilled that we did - it was very festive, and you get to know the staff so it felt like you were celebrating with friends - but you can get more delicious food at other restaurants within walking distance. Ask the concierge - he'll send you somewhere good. But definitely have some drinks and talk to Nickolai before you go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    91
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
230
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our friends recommended this hotel and it was delightful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room size was perfect and quiet. We prefer smaller hotels and this was just that. We'd stay here again and plan on booking another LHW hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Room at the hotel last night and found the experience wonderful. The hotel has an opulent charm very rare these days. The abundance of art deco objects and fine oil paintings give the hotel an ambiance that would be the envy of chains the world over. Complimentary mini bar and wi-fi were a very nice touch, however the crowning glory are the staff. All were Italian and all had the worldly experience to offer 5 star service. Classy location by the Borghese Park is very peaceful and away from the tourist crowds (10 minute walk through the park to the Spanish steps though). And such a great breakfast! It was a great end to our holiday and the three of us will look forward longingly to our next stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel appeared run down. Room was dirty, small, holes in wall. Restaurant food was the worst we've ever experienced in Rome. Breakfast was inedible- stale breads/pastries, soupy eggs, fruit swimming in syrup. Their ad says WiFi is included- we were told we would be charged for it. Not a good location. Does not live up to a 5 star restaurant. Would not stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We’ve read your comment on Hotel Lord Byron and, further to your title “awful”, we wish to express our respect to your opinion but consider your judgement quite unpleasant.
We feel very surprised to read about your overall neagtive feedback and would like to invite you to read of many other Guests opinions we often receive. The proof of our words is the content of our guests books as well as Tripadvisor reviews.
Should you wish to give us another opportunity to show you our ability in servicing our Guests, we encourage you to contact us directly.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was great- the rooms were huge, breakfast was excellent, service was nice, and views were beautiful, but with a hotel like this, you could drop it right next to an oil power plant and you would still enjoy what went on inside the hotel. Thats the only real problem I had with the hotel: it seemed off to the side of everything. And forgive me if I sound like an idiot for being bothered by this, but since I prefer to be a "temporary local", it made me feel a little too much at home. Just about everyone I saw staying at the hotel was British or American like me, and didn't seem to make much of an effort to act at all Italian (again, sorry if this is too biased). The service, although it would be hard to find a nicer collection of people, always seemed to be speaking English to me even when I spoke Italian.

But despite that, my day and a half in Rome was great. Overall, I'd give the hotel thumbs up if you want a luxurious place to stay and don't mind longer-than-average cab rides (the drivers they provided were great, by the way). It's a little hard to find this hotel, my parents spent about twenty minutes looking for it, but of course theres that risk for every hotel, isn't there? So read your map with confidence and walk up the steps of the hotel Lord Byron like you own the place- and I guarantee, you'll enjoy your stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice. It had a good view and atmosphere to the room and a fine breakfast with good coffee. However, this is not the hotel for you if youre looking for something ultra italian. The nieghborhood shared a huge resemblance to Washington Dc, (which I live near and visit often.) Everything about the hotel, from the guests to the staff to the atmosphere of the breakfast was British. It's like the british embassy hotel, which if you're like me, American and enjoy being around those who have British accents, you will love this. However, if you like the comfort of knowing youre the only native English speaker in miles, I stay go to hotel Corleone Demarini instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We loved this beautiful hotel in a quiet part of Rome! The staff were very professional and courteous! The decor of the hotel was very luxurious. Some of the pictures on their website really don't do it justice. It is a small boutique hotel with only a few rooms (around 30) but quite lovely! Would stay there again! It may just be our favorite European hotel!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris, 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere, Escapio, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lord Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.