We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you want peace and quiet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Frescobaldi 5, 00198 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beware if you want peace and quiet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for two nights in September.
The hotel is some way from any of the main attractions but we were reassured that we would be able to use he hotel shuttle. The only issue was our only full day was a Sunday and the shuttle does not run on a Sunday. When in Italy one of the pleasures is stepping outside of your hotel and finding a local bar or restaurant. There is nothing close by so you are stuck with hotel food or you need a taxi or 20 minute walk.
The hotel building itself is very nice, typically Italian, very clean and most of the staff were very pleasant.
Our biggest issue was the noise. Although in a relatively quiet location, one side of the hotel is on a very busy road. We were given a room facing that road and were on the second floor. In between the road and the hotel is a small service yard and directly under our balcony, the hotel rubbish was collected at 2.00am !. Also deliveries were made in the this area during the day. You could not have the windows open and the AC was not very effective so the room was really poor for us. Put that together with the new `natural linen` bed linen which was similar to sleeping in a hessian sack and it did not make for a good visit.
When I complained I was told " we are not responsible for the street noise or council rubbish collections". No apology or attempt to understand.
The most disappointing thing was the hotel was not full and we did not have to be given that room.

Room Tip: Refuse any room on the main road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    218
    114
    54
    42
See reviews for
161
276
30
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Rome. A major factor was our stay at this resort. We had an easy check in and check out. Maid service was outstanding, they even check with us in the evening to see if we needed anything! The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff very helpful. The bar was nice and the staff really on top of things. We did not try the dining room as we ate out at different locations. Nor did we use the spa as we had for full days planned in various parts of the city. It is a bit of a walk to the more interesting parts of Rome, but, if the weather is good this should not be a problem. In fact, we ran into a lot of interesting things by walking around. The Villa Borghese is a very nice place to walk and we found a very nice restaurant for lunch on the far side of the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

rooms are not huge, but they are well decorated and have a small balcony. Pool and bar area is lovely. the buffet breakfast is fabulous. others in my party had to wait past check-in time for their room which was very hard on them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The locaton of the hotel was nice, it was in a pretty residential neighbourhood far enough away from the crowds of tourists in Central Rome. There is a tram that is close to the hotel, it runs quite frequenlty and takes you right into central rome and to the Metro. The hotel was what you would expect from a 5 star hotel with very good service and attention to detail. When we arrived there was a bottle of proseco chilled, fresh fruit and some warm appetizers it was a nice touch!The hotel staff were most helpful making hotel reservations and arranging for taxis. They were even kind enough to show me some of the architectural details from the original interiors designed by the noted Italain architect Gio Ponti. The outdoor hotel pool was STUNNING with gorgeous landscaping and surrounded by a park. There was a local restaurant that we walked to every night for dinner - the food was superb and it was filled with lively local residents. We never did have time to use the indoor spa although we did tour it and it looked lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have just spent 4 nights at this hotel with my family and it was fabulous, our rooms overlooked the swimming pool and Borghese Gardens, very peaceful. Staff very attentive and after a days sightseeing it was wonderful to return to hotel to relax in the Spa. After a shower in the evening we would return to find beds turned down and fresh towels in the rooms. The hotel spoke of a genteel bygone age with soft furnishings and all marble and ancient paintings. The outdoor pool was very cold but we managed a swim. Breakfast was very nice and waiters very attentive. Would definitely return to this Hotel. Word of warning take plenty of money as Rome is tremendously expensive but so worth visiting. A really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking swimming pool and gardens very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

hotel located in a quiet area, away from tourist crowds. old hotel, classically decorated. large swimming pool outside. the breakfast is minimal. we stayed in a superior suite - room quality was great. the personnel quality is not spectacular but everything is done polietly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed in many 5 Star Hotels in the World. None are perfect. Most are quite pretentious live off hype and Brand names. Often overrated because of meaningless attributes.
The Parco dei Principi , however, s an oasis of luxurious calm in a hectic City. Grand, traditional and spacious but with a good balance between modern necessities and comfort. Rooms are very clean and combine nostalgic and atmospheric features with trendy bedrooms in an acceptable adhesion.
This Hotel is a few euros taxi ride to the heart of ancient Rome ( why the gripes ? ) but offers lovely gardens, a resort standard pool , and a Spa and indoor pool which is one of the best I have seen anywhere in the World.
The usual niggles of overpriced wi fi, and breakfast selection, although good could be improved. Its a 3 star breakfast. in a 5 Star Hotel. I really dont expect to get my own coffee and tea in a 5 Star Hotel, and an omelette or visible a la carte extras menu would be well receoved. . Despite all of this, and having viewed many other Hotels in Rome of a similar standard, If you can negotiate a good price for your stay here you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Park/Pool view rooms are wiorth the extra, they also get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Address: Via G Frescobaldi 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rome
#67 Business Hotel in Rome
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#147 Family Hotel in Rome
#283 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.