We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Super Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #125 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location and Super Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We started a 3 week vacation/cruise at the Grand Flora.....and things started to happen! Husband pops a serious bad headache....no problem for Massimo.....gave exact directions and instructions written in Italian to take to the farmacia...fix obtained...husband back in the game....next day....oops! cracked a crown....repeat fix from Massimo just sent to the 24 hour ER farmacia via taxi for this solution. Alessandria was also a dream. Sent me to a great salon for a cute hair cut. We liked the dining room at the hotel and ate there several times. The location is simply the best, in our view, for the American traveler. You are in the thick of great shopping...across from the Borghese garden and museum (a must see!) and lots of great walking....15 minutes...it is down hill! to the Spanish Steps, fancy shopping and Via Del Corso for the walk that really gets you into the thick of the locals.
As for the building, yes the rooms are smallish and need a re- do but the beds are Marriott quality and the staff is so wonderful that you don't want to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    272
    91
    29
    10
See reviews for
157
422
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Overall the staff at this hotel are excellent. A special thanks to Massimo and Anna-Rosa. Both helped insure a positive experience. Since much of the visit to Rome was leisure the area including great restaurants were known by the staff at Marriott, but especially Massimo and Anna-Rosa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Recently stayed one week at the Flora. It exceeded my expectations. The hotel is a classic. The service at the front desk was great-extremely attentive.Check in was lovely-very personable and friendly. Yolanda and Max were great. Check in was a pleasure. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful -large, exquisitely decorated and the views were spectacular. Housekeeping was remarkable-always discreetly tidying up the room --very attentive-very special. Bathrooms extremely well maintained and spotless. All rooms and bathrooms were large.
The front desk was always very helpful. Any request was immediately attended to-really amazing. The doorman during the day was fantastic always helping with directions etc.

Size of the hotel is perfect-not too big-always a comfortable relaxing feel.

There is a lovely bar area serviced by a very attentive and hospitable bar manager-definitely visit and relax at the bar-very pleasant.

The location on the Via Veneto was perfect-10-15 minutes to Spanish Steps,Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, restaurants, shopping. The hotel is right next to the Borghese gardens-lovely walk on a Spring Day. The Vatican is a bit farther -probably a taxi ride. Otherwise most major attractions are a walkable distance. Great restaurants minutes away.

The buffet breakfast on the rooftop is very nice. Food and Service -very good. Most importantly the view from the rooftop restaurant is amazing!!! Definitely a must do!

Simply a wonderful hotel staffed by wonderful professional people. Truly a Classic!!!!

Room Tip: We were in the presidential suite on the fourth floor it was a stunning room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so. cal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I love this hotel. I've stayed several times and always feel very relaxed, "at home" and welcome. It is in a good location, has comfortable beds and the food is great. As a solo mature female traveler, I appreciate the attentiveness of all staff and have always felt safe and at ease here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here in February of 2014. The hotel is beautiful and nicely located. The front desk was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel is very walkable and we were able to get to all the major sights within a 20-30 walk through the streets of Rome. There are also wonderful restaurants within 3 blocks of the Hotel.

As a Marriott Rewards member - I would definitely recommend this hotel. There is an Autograph collection hotel down the street but this has most of the same benefits. They also have a wonderful Mimosa Bar for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Via Vittorio Veneto, 191
Rome, 00187 Italy
How To Fully Enjoy Rome, Italy? Start With A Great Hotel!


My wife and I elected to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary in Rome, Italy. In planning, we decided to go in February, 2014, Rome’s “off-season,” in an attempt to avoid the city’s masses of tourists. It was a very wise decision. February was beautiful, unhurried, uncrowded, with absolutely prefect weather enhanced by a few refreshing rain showers in the late evenings.

As soon as we arrived at our hotel, we knew it was a “show stopper,” a hotel property worthy of an anniversary celebration. But you may ask: Why stay at this particular hotel when Rome has so many other well know, and significantly important properties to choose from? Simply, because the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora is so much more than just a hotel. It is a worthy destination in itself.

LOCATION: The convenient location of the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora places you minutes away from everything Città Eterna, and you can’t help but smile as images of Three Coins in the Fountain seductively slip into your thoughts. Gazing across the street from the Grand Hotel Flora, sits Harry's Bar, which, was featured in director Federico Fellini's classic 1960 Italian film, La Dolce Vita. From the Marriott, you can Walk/Metro/Bus/Bike/Vespa (if you dare) to practically every historical and famous landmark with great ease, including the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Forum, and St. Peter's Basilica. Moreover, a mere few steps from the hotel entrance, you can stroll through the myriad of trees and plants in the Borghese Gardens, where you’ll also find several museums including the Villa Borghese Museum.

ROOMS: We had a Junior Suite that came with a spectacular view of one of the most elegant boulevards in the world – the Via Vittorio Veneto. The bedroom and sitting room were absolutely pristine, quiet, and very well appointed. The bathroom was admirably clean, with a luxuriously deep bathtub, and even by European standards, surprisingly spacious. The beds and bedding were comfortable, sensible, restful, with good lighting in all rooms, lots of storage space for clothing and empty suitcases, easy to access in-room Internet, and two well operating flat screen TV sets. We did get to tour one of the hotel’s standard rooms, and I would say that business travelers as well as vacationers such as ourselves would be very comfortable even with a standard room.

REMARKABLE HOTEL STAFF: I must thank Michele Buono, General Manager Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, and his extraordinary staff (we discovered that nearly all of this fine hotel’s staff speak exceptional English, and, remarkably, several other languages). Genuine, heartfelt customer service, can’t be taught. It is a behavior, one that Mr. Buono obviously fully subscribes to himself, as well as the staff he has hired. We met with Michele on our second night and he was absolutely gracious, charming, and truly a most generous host. You should make it a point to meet with Massimo Crea at the front desk and concierge. Massimo is a name you will want to memorize. We befriended Massimo (call him “Max”) upon our arrival, and it was an excellent decision. Massimo is like visiting with your favorite cousin. He is approachable, knowledgable, very funny, and extremely well connected with the community. He knows the landscape, and can direct you to any destination or event you desire. Max is an ambassador of global goodwill, and your visit in Rome will be all the better for meeting and getting to know him. Max can be reached at info@grandhotelflora.net, attention Massimo Crea.


TOURS: Thanks to Max (see above) in the Marriott’s concierge, we were introduced to Lucilla Favino of Love Holidays. Like Max, my wife and I befriended “Lucy” immediately, and over the course of a few days, she personally gave us a guided tour of some of Rome’s most famous sites (including several Roman places wholly unknown to tourists). Sure, anyone can hire a “classic tour guide” if you have a few extra Euros to spend. But here is where Lucy made the difference. In addition to speaking English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Arabic, Portuguese, Russian, and Polish, Lucy has a Master’s Degree in History, and, she is a working Doctor of Archeology! Thus, she is an incredibly valuable asset to travelers who want the meaningful depth and rare details only a working archeologist can offer. I can’t stress enough how much Lucy enhanced our explorations of the city. Ask Max to connect you with her for an affordable, memorable journey through Rome’s ancient past.

HOTEL DINING: Although we elected to dine out each evening at a different restaurant throughout Rome, in the mornings, after a modest workout at the hotel’s gym, we always had the buffet breakfast in the Hotel’s Flora RoofTop Terrace. Ideally perched on the top floor of the Marriott, this superb restaurant offers a variety of sublime worldly foods both European and American; meats, cheeses, pastries, fresh fruits, grains, eggs and more, (incredible coffee), champagne, and a good selection of fresh juices. All of the tables enjoy an expansive, glorious view of the city (at night the view is even more breathtaking!). After long days of walking the city, we almost always relaxed late evenings with a well-made cocktail or hot Expresso at the Hotel’s Cabiria Bar.

OFF PROPERTY DINING: With countless dining options within walking distance of the hotel, almost every conceivable type of cuisine is possible, far too may to name here. The hotel’s concierge (see Max) knows where the locals eat at modest prices, and, where the wealthy also like to dine. I had heard (and now believe) that there is no better city in the world to sample authentic (and varied) types of pizza than Rome. You don’t order “slices” in Rome. Here, waiters will bring you an entire pie, and no kidding, you’ll probably be grateful to have the entire pizza to yourself. But don’t despair: They are thin crust, and not heavy or greasy like their American offspring. Try the fried Roman Artichokes. Salads are gorgeous, simple, and usually come with extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The wines, not expensive, we’re perfect. Americans take note: Like Paris, Roman Restaurants are never in a hurry to present you with your bill. It’s their beautiful way of saying, “Relax. Enjoy your meal. Don’t rush it.” All waiters and waitresses will bring you your bill if you request it, of course, but my advice: Slow down. Enjoy. It’s a perfect way to unwind and actually savor a meal. Tips are usually included in your bill, but, if you receive extra great service, a few Euros left on the table will be appreciated.

Evan and Jane Zang Scottsdale, Arizona USA

Room Tip: Before you do anything else ask for MAX in concierge. He can connect you to everything wonderfully R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful hotel. The reception staff and concierge (massimo) are incredibly helpful and polite. Massimo in particular made some excellent recommendations and was very personable. We loved the hotel bar, roof terrace and breakfast room and every effort was made to ensure we had a perfect experience. No request we made was too large! My only suggestion would be to add extra lighting in the rooms, but otherwise they were perfect.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Business Hotel in Rome
#75 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.