We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #126 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I and my husband use the hotel as a base for 6 wonderful night. The staff were excellent and very attentive without being overbearing.

Do use the veranda for a superb way to start a days holiday any day of the week. The breakfast is excellent. Very good and we shall visit again.

Room Tip: We found the room very good and cool in the two days it was warmer tha the others. Another couple we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    272
    91
    29
    9
See reviews for
157
421
21
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently spent 5 grand nights at this property and enjoyed it very much. It's location is within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, etc., and is next to a old Roman wall and Borghese Park.
I'll try to list a few things that might be helpful during your stay:
*When going for the 45 minute ride from the airport to the hotel, make sure you hire a marked cab outside the airport. Private drivers will try to get you before you get to the cabs. A regular cab is about 48 euros while the private driver charges about 120.
*Cabs from the hotel charge about 12 euros for the one way trip to the Colosseum, Forum, Vatican City, etc. Since the hotel sets on a hill, most days we walked down to an attraction and took a cab back up.
*When you go to the connecting attractions, Colosseum, Forum and Palentine Hill, buy your 12 euro pass to all 3 at Palentine Hill. The line is much shorter there and it allows you to skip long lines at the Forum and Colosseum.
*There is a cab stand outside the hotel's front entrance to the right.
*The open top and public bus line pickups are down the hill on Via Veneto, about a 1/4 mile away.
* There is a grocery store across the street down the metro tunnel. We loaded up on fruits and snacks everyday which saved us money and allowed us to make it to supper. We ate out at one of the many cafes that line Via Vento at night. Most are pricey but we found some great 10 euro pizzas.
*The hotel had free coffee, capacino, etc. in the lobby until 9 am.
*You had to order ice from room service, but there was no charge.
*The staff was helpful and friendly and even upgraded our room when we had to wait so long to check in. We had room 405 which had a wonderful shower with two windows that opened up to a view of the Roman wall and Boghese Park. You could see out but no one could see in, or so we thought.
*During most of the encounters we had around the city just about everyone spoke English.
Though expensive this grand 120 year old hotel gave us a great Roman experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The property is in excellent condition and in a nice location on Via Veneto adjacent to Villa Borghese, not too far from Termini station. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and the A/C worked well on some very hot days. The breakfast is the best we had in Italy and the rooftop veranda is wonderful. As a platinum breakfast and internet were free. We booked two rooms with points and paid for a third. The staff and service were excellent except for one hiccup with the reservation. We found the street noise to be a bit loud and we had some extremely loud and rude neighbors one night. There are a couple negatives to the location: 1) the metro stop is a 15 min walk...seemed longer in the heat; 2) the restaurants in the neighborhood are all highly overpriced and just not very good. They were mostly empty and you get hawked every time you walk down the street. Strongly recommend you find better and more reasonable meals in other neighborhoods.

Room Tip: Lots of street noise on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. Our Marriott points status allowed us to have breakfast on the rooftop every morning which had amazing views of the city. The hotel was at the top of a large hill and not centrally located, so walking back to the hotel every day was a bit much. Staff was very friendly and accommodations were great, so it made up for not being centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

You can't beat the top of the Via Veneto in Rome for a hotel location. And Harry's bar is across the street. Great other spots to walk to. Hotel room at the Marriott advertised discount price was very small. Watch what they give you. General Marriott bookings don't include breakfast, which is a good thng in European hotels. Unusual and very good Internet option available comes out to about a Euro a day. Should be free, but it isn't. Upstairs rooftop view is a treat in Rome hotels. Both nights the upstairs was booked for a private party and a wedding. Don't advertise a great view we can't use. There a many great Roman hotels. If you feel comfortable with the Marriott brand, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Look at the room before they issue you a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is no better hotel in Roma than Grand Hotel Flora. The superb location at the top of Via Veneto, next to the Porta Pinciana walls overlooking the Villa Borghese park with a commanding view of the city are additives to the exquisite service a guest will receive by the attentive staff. The rooms are all beautiful, well furnished and with very comfortable beds. The linen is of the first quality and freshly replaced for the comfort of the guests. From the doorman staff, to the check-in, to the housekeeping the guest is attended promptly and with smiles. A guest is truly feeling at home in this very unique hotel. The General Manager, Mr. Michele Buono, a seasoned and experienced hotelier is on the premises and often personally is engaging with the guests. His leadership and pleasant manners are truly of a gone-by-era of grand hotel management where the guests were truly guests and not visitors. At the Grand Flora there is something special for everyone. Starting from the 7th floor Breakfast area with the most beautiful view of the "citta' eterna" where you will meet among other attentive staff, Ms. Laura, an astonishing attractive and intelligent attendant with a pleasant smile and a care for the hotel guests. She will pleasantly serve you with a freshly brewed cappuccino as the guests are selecting their choices from the superb buffet. All is good, for all palate and nationalities. Andrea, at the concierge is ready to make every wish come true, even at times the impossible, and always with a smile! Housekeeping is the best in the business attentive, prompt, and precise in all what they do. Relax at the caffe, loungevand you will experience skilled bartenders preparing alcoholic or non- alcoholic beverages competing with the across the street Harrys Bar! When in Roma, for business, pleasure, or a romantic visit, this is the hotel to stay and this is the team of professionals you will want to take care of your needs. Do not be allured by the flashiness of other touristy locations or the once regarded hotel brands, this is where you find true quality. Mr. Buono and his team are truly the best, they attended to my needs, the needs of my family and business partners for many years.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Porta Pinciana or via Veneto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well this was our final stay for three nights.
July 18-21
We are platinum premier members and were treated a little special which is nice.
The breakfast was plentiful but I guess in Italy bacon is not cooked thoroughly .
We had two rooms and both were quite nice.
Great size and very comfortable.
The one for the children had two rooms and they are three big boys and were
quite happy with everything.
Our room had a big king and was a nice size room and nice
bathroom.
The service was good and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#75 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.