We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #150 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights here. Breakfast is taken in the roof restaurant on the 7th floor and there are superb views over Rome if you sit outside. Breakfast choice was adequate and service was good and cheerful. Our room size was pretty large. We were in about the 2nd cheapest category of room but it was well equipped. Frankly we did not expect the best views for that price (about 330 euros per night) and we had an attractive courtyard view of the Attrium roof !
However,The price for the presidential suite is abot 1750 euros per night. If I had a niggle about the room ,the bathroom had little or no storage space for all the accoutrements you bring on a holiday. Also,the size of the bath must have been designed for a Roman man from about 50 AD !. I'm only 6 feet tall but it was like being in an old tin bath tub (size wise) ! These minor gripes did not detract from what was an excellent stay. The reception staff were particularly efficent and the concierge gave us some very good restaurant suggestions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    292
    98
    31
    11
See reviews for
166
459
23
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a stay at this hotel. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel itself is beautiful with marblework throughout and is on the Via Veneto with the Borghese gardens within close proximity. The rooms were clean and decent sized considering that European hotels tend to run a little smaller. The breakfast was a delight was located on the top with a great roof top view. My only critique was that our room did not have much of a view as it overlooked a courtyard with other rooms. Overall, a very nice hotel in a great location. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm a Marriott Gold Member and I try to use Marriott as much as I can. Usually I do the Fairfield (cheap) brand, because they have free everything and spacious room (just what I need!).

For our trip to Rome, we picked this hotel because it was a Marriott.

The location is PERFECT - , I have to admit it, 120 seconds from Borghese Park, 30 seconds from the Subway, 30 seconds from a lot of taxis (friendly and price are good) and a lot of restaurants on the Via Veneto street. So about the location, you cant be wrong with this hotel.

The price is EXPENSIVE - , I know it's a Marriott, I know it's in the middle of Rome, in a perfect location, but really, price is to much for what we get. The hotel was build more than 110 years ago, so I'm ok to get small room, but I'm sure Marriott have enough money to invest a bit and update some stuff in the rooms.

The rooms are small, and if you have two beds (two single beds) you wont have a lot of room to use the desk or move in the room (I'm just talking about rooms, not suite). I had a tiny issue with our room at the checkin, the front desk (french guy) told us that we will get "an amazing deluxe room with amazing view on the 5th floor" and we was happy (6floors total), but the room had only.... 1 king bed! So back at the front desk, and she (french guy was not here anymore) told me that I had two options: Sleep in this room tonight and they will see tomorrow if an other room (with view and 2 beds) is available, or we can move to a room on the first floor with NO VIEW (inner court).... After talking a bit she finally found a room on the third floor with 2 beds, and guess what? A balcony! I think the Balcony made our stay really good and is why I give 4 stars to this review. Was really good to enjoy it during the end of the day and morning. Shower was small but good!

Free breakfast on the roof terrasse, and really this is WOW! If you have a room with "no view", you will be able to enjoy the amazing view from the terrasse! and Breakfast was really good too (classic american).

Now, we will talk about the wifi... provided by Swisscom! And really, you will probably hate the internet access! It's unlimited and fast enough.... BUT you need to reconnect after 250MB! EACH TIME! So imagine you watch a video or simply write something online, and you reach your 250mb... You will lost your internet connection and will need to connect again! I think this is a SHAME! If you dont trust you customer enough to dont give them classic unlimited access, dont provide them internet.

The doormen was really friendly!

Now, if I return to Rome, I will pick this location again, but wont pay this price to get a room with no view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view (ASK FOR IT!) Balcony on lvl 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our room was on the small side but had all the amenities we required, plenty of wardrobe space and a room safe, tv, desk, etc. We had no view from our room as it looked onto an internal courtyard but this meant it was very quiet, so no problem there.

A beautiful marble bathroom that was immaculate and lots of fresh towels.
The room was spotless and it was nice to have clean sheets and towels everyday.
On returning from a long day out in Rome the turndown service was a nice welcoming touch.

There was a charge for internet which was 7 Euros for a week so not expensive.

The manager has a 2 for 1 promotion on breakfast which meant it was 30 Euros for both of us, this still may seem a lot but the breakfast was superb and meant that we only needed a gelato for lunch so actually covered 2 meals, we paid the same outside the hotel for an omelette and a coffee.
The view itself from the breakfast terrace was worth it to sit in the sun having a superb breakfast with everything from the Vatican to the Colluseum in the background was very special.

We also took our own drinks and nibbles up on the terrace to watch the sun set over the hills of Rome - spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Recently spent three nights there. Our room was spacious, clean and quite acceptable. Not much of a view, but little street noise. A disappointment was the roof top restaurant. The pictures on the web site show the great view and we assumed it would be open for dinner or cocktails--no such luck. A check on returning home revealed the site does indicate only breakfast is served there. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large variety and tea/coffee service was prompt--be sure it is included, however, the room service prices are extortionate. A minor irritation--the hotel hosts outside groups and on two occasions they took over the majority of the gound floor cocktail bar, relegating guests to a small corner area.
Bring your own converter--the ones at the desk will not accommodate polarized two prong US.
While the hotel is at the top of the Via Veneto and within walking distance of the unimpressive Rome Metro (Spagna od Barberini stations) the "horizontal" distance isn't close to the "vertical" distance. I knew Rome was built on seven hills but underestimated the height of the hills. It's quite a climb from either station (worse from Spagna) especially at the end of a long day. Taxis queue at Berberini but are reluctant to take on fares for such a short ride since they then have to get back into a long queue for the next fare. Given age and mobility it can really be an issue.
Expensive but what in Rome isn't?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just got back from a trip overseas and stayed the first few days at the Grand Flora Hotel. Beautiful facility in a wonderful location on the Via Veneto with the Borghese gardens and gallery directly behind it. For walking be aware it is at the top of a long hill so at the end of a long day be prepared. The restaurant on the top level is not open to guests on a regular basis--except for breakfast in the morning so if you were hoping for a drink on the rooftop at night you'll have to go elsewhere. It is also hard to find in the hotel--not off the main elevators. Food for breakfast buffet is excellent. They have a nice lounge and bar area but again while we were there it was used two of the three nights for exclusive parties and so not really get to enjoy it and they don't tell you that.
Rooms were nice, small but clean and with all the necessities.
Overall, a good experience but not really anything special for the price they charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here on our last three nights in Italy. We used a gift card to pay for our stay and we were expecting one of their least desirable rooms. That's what we got. So no surprises there. The room was one floor up and had an excellent view of the garbage bins just below the bedroom window. The room was small but the bed was comfortable. The hotel location is excellent as has been noted in other reviews. We found the staff to be pleasant and we had no complaints in that regard. The concierge recommended a local restaurant within walking distance that was not touristy and we found another one on our own that was just a block away that we loved.

My conclusion is that if you're going to spend that kind of money for accommodation and you're not using points then there are several other high end hotels just down the street that I think might provide a higher level of service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
#111 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Marriott so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.