We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tritone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tritone Hotel to your Saves list
Tritone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Tritone, 210, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Near to attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance from the trevi fountain, colloseum, spanish steps.
But travelling to the hotel is a bit more troublesome as the nearest metro stop is still a good few hundred meters away. The cobbled sidewalks make it hard to pull your luggage.

Supermarket is across the road.
There was no coffee maker in the room. The curtains were quite thin and we could hear the noise from the road.

The lift was very small, and had to be operated manually. The service staff used the same lift to bring their equipment, so at many times, we had to climb up the stairs. Breakfast was at 7th floor. So in the morning, most of the guests had to climb up the stairs to take breakfast. :<

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Tritone Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear yclum,
thank your for your feedback about your stay at the Hotel Tritone: as you might understand, our property is located inside a historical building, therefore spaces might be tiny, especially if compared with brand-new buildings. Our location is a paradise for all travellers who are wishing to visit the city centre just walking and the subway stop is less than 10 minutes walk from us, with plenty of buses stopping just in front of the Hotel: we hope you enjoyed your stay in Rome and wish to have you again as our Guest.
With our best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    133
    51
    23
    7
See reviews for
68
120
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel our base on our italy holiday. Going to the Colosseum, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain!! Also there is a supermarket across the road which is very convenient. Staff were also very helpfull and friendly. This hotel does not serve dinner, but in a way this is good as it helps you get out and explore.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Tritone Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mgal7,
thank you for your enthusiastic comments about your stay at the Hotel Tritone! We are happy to see that we have been an important element of your vacation in Rome: we wish you'll come back soon and we are ready to welcome you again.
With our best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is all about the location - central to the attractions in Rome. We stayed 3 nights in April - during a heat wave in Rome - and the government of Italy apparently will not allow anyone to turn on the A/C until May 1st. It was very warm - we bought a fan from a shop down the street. The room is very small, with the twin beds (??) taking up 85% of the space in the room. We had to have the window open because of the heat - and it was SO NOISY we couldn't sleep. We even had a room at the back - but the noise from the street echoed up into our room. The staff were very nice to us and the breakfast was good. The shower was very very small and tight. Again - nothing really good to say about it except the location and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Tritone Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TampaTraveler2007,
thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Hotel Tritone: we are sorry for the inconvenience occured with the A/C but, as you mentioned, in April we had an exceptional heat wave and we could not switch the system to cold due to a local law...
We hope you enjoyed our location and managed to visit the heart of Rome easily!
With our best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Totally agree with previous comments about location in city, to restaurants and Fontana di Trevi. The breakfast place was also nice with a view. What I wasn't so impressed with was the shower, I'm 5 ft 2 and felt cramped, the shower curtain kept sticking to me. The noise of the doors being slammed in the hallway (perhaps by guests but from what I could tell was staff) startled me in bed at 8:30am. We were also on our honeymoon and the bed was made up as two separate single beds, which was disappointing.
Nothing too outstanding either way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the centre of Rome - could'nt find one bad thing to say about it!!
Within walking distance of everything.
Very reasonably priced (20% off for 4 night stay thru their own website) and were lucky to be upgraded to superior room.
A taxi rank within just a few metres, Trevi fountain around the corner with lovely places to eat and have a few glasses of wine while watching the world go by.
Staff very helpful and spoke perfect English. Rooms small by American standards but perfect for us - very comfortable large bed - reasonable minibar prices - room safe (large enough for laptop)
Breakfast was on the fifth floor with large plate glass windows and a very good selection of food - plenty of choice.
Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: lift is very small so choose room on lower floor if stairs are a problem. We were very lucky that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Tritone Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kay C,
thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at the Tritone Hotel! As regards the room size, as you said, we are right in the heart of Rome, in a historical building, therefore all the rooms have different dimensions...but, still, we hope we could balance this issue with our perfect location and our service!
Best regards from Rome!
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in the Tritone Hotel for four nights during the Easter holidays and were so pleased that we did. The hotel is superbly situated for easy walking or bus services to all of Rome's main attractions. The rooms are on the small side, but recently refurbished and for a long weekend break were just what we required. The breakfast was outstanding, great choice, quantity and quality. The heavy bedroom doors were our only real issue, they have no slow closing mechanism so a few times during the night we were awoken not by the noise of returing guests, but by their bedroom doors slamming shut. That aside I would totally recommend the Tritone Hotel and hope one day to return ourselves.

Room Tip: A lower floored room avoids the need for the one very small lift they have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

priced high for a good, not great room. Hectic but happy area. Good if you are sociable; not good if you want peace and quiet.

You are right at Fontana di Trevi for meeting people from all over the world making wishes/ tossing coins and having fun. Walking distance from the Pantheon area, Pz di Spagna, and tons of shopping. There is a deli nearby for bottled water, fruit, sandwiches at grocer prices. Buses to everywhere are within a block.

Room Tip: avoid room on busy street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tritone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tritone Hotel

Address: Via del Tritone, 210, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tritone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation rental in Rome is a "suite" in one of the most elegant residence in Rome right on the Spanish Steps. The room looks out onto the Spanish Steps and Piazza di Spagna... A very coveted view in Rome. This Rome accommodation has a double bed and a single sofa in the same room, making it an excellent choice for a family of 3. There is a large bathroom with shower that also has a panoramic view of one of Rome's most famous piazza's: the Spanish Steps. Enjoy the freedom of having your own key to your Rome suite, while being in the safe environment of an elegant, serviced residence. The service here is extremely friendly and efficient. Minimum Stay: 1 Check-Out: 10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tritone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tritone Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tritone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.