We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fair Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tritone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tritone Hotel to your Saves list
Tritone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Tritone, 210, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #387 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fair Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had 4 nights here with 3 rising college freshmen. We had stayed in the Via Veneto area a couple of years back and had wanted to be a bit closer to the action this time. The Tritone location was ideal, being close to the sights and shopping - the July sales were tremendous this year!. We even walked to the Colisseum in about 2minutes. The hotel itself is at the better end of 3 star quality in my experience. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated and we found them to be a reasonable size for Europe, quite well, albeit functionally appointed, and clean. By definition the restaurants nearby are going to be tourist focussed and our youngsters enjoyed the abundant nightlife in the area. The staff were efficient and were helpful in recovery missing Alitalia luggage. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    133
    51
    23
    7
See reviews for
68
120
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at this three star hotel five times, maInly because of its fabulous position. The,' Hop On Hop Off' bus stop is just on a corner nearby and all shopping,Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona are very near. They even arrange a taxi to the airport for 45 euro. The hotel is gradually being refurbished.This can be a trap as the modern rooms are nice and airy with light colours but for the same money you could get an old room or half refurbished room with dark carpets.MAKE SURE THAT YOU GET ONE OF THE MODERN ROOMS SHOWN ON WEBSITE BEFORE YOU LEAVE! If you want to upgrade once you get there they charge 35 euro a person! The people we were with, unfortunately were stuck with an old room. A poor young family were stuck too and they called it 'Faulty Towers'. The lift is so small but we think this is cute. Only one can go up with the bags at a time. There are stairs though. We found the people at the desk very nice and very helpful. No wifi in rooms but there is a lounge with wifi.
Breakfast quite good and the breakfast room is at the top of the building - nice and bright. Plenty of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Spent a couple of nughts here. Rooma were spacious and well equipped. The staff was competent and kind. We appreciated the wonderful location, right in the center near Via Veneto and the US Embassy.Everything was great except for the breakfast, a bit poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here during our last trip to Rome.
Though the hotel is classified as 3-star, the room is poor, the reception staffs are unfriendly and unhelpful.
The hotel charges 3 euro for 1 hour of internet access, 7 euro for 3 hours and 15 euros for 10 hours. And here is the bit that was conveniently left out when we were advised to take up one of the option : the access must be used within 24 hours (1-day) fom the purchased time.
We requested for an airport transfer service, we were advised the cost would be 45 euros.
When we asked the staff to ring up an outside transfer service which costed 1/2 the price quoted, the evening reception staff wanted us to wait and tell the day staff to do the booking , until we insisted.
This hotel is less impressive than some of the 2-star hotels we've stayed during this trip to Italy.
Not recommended.
If you have time , look elsewhere first for better value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenatravelroma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tritone Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are sorry if your stay did not turn out as you expected. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, helping us to improve our customer service.

We understand that if you are on budget you look for cheap rates: for this reason we offer, around the year, special deals with free internet, or minibar or transfer included. All those offers are clearly listed in our website.

Room booked was a discounted one with such a convenient rate that add-on service as WIFI, were not included. For this Summer, for instance, we offer one refill of Minibar, complimentary.
With regards to the room impression, we think is a matter of personal taste and entirely up to the person. We do have three type of rooms with different décor and we are always at Guest disposal to show any alternative, to meet personal expectation. Have a look of Hotel pictures, in order to book what you like the best.

In the end, our reception is famous for being helpful, ready to assist our Guests in finding the best solution available. Company we use for transfer to airports applies tariff of 45.00 euros, luggage included, not shared. Alternative companies, have different standard of service, they are cheaper and much more exposed to delays and appointments canceled.

We are honest and verifiable. When you book us, you will be exactly right behind the Trevi Fountain and close to everything in the center.
Enjoy our hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent central location however we were not at all impressed with the 'superior' rooms which were very ordinary (at best). We would certainly not stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor in which the a/c was ineffectual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here in late June, booked by our travel agent - thanks Louise! We had a lovely first floor room with a tiny balcony looking out on the street and the church next door. All very clean and modern. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast on the top floor included and although fairly standard for Europe it was all we needed considering the lunches and dinners we were tempted with in Rome! Did not need to use public transport but the open top buses all stop just 100 m up the road. Good wifi connection but had to pay - this appears to be anormal and annoying practice these days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed in the hotel for four nights. Our son works in Sicily so were meeting for the weekend. We booked this hotel since it advertised triple rooms with full sized single beds - meaning that we could share a room rather than two rooms at city centre prices. It did as it said 'on the tin' - but the beds took up all the space in the 'superior' room meaning there was no walking space round them. The bathroom was lovely - with a lot of wasted space - it was almost as big as the bed space! The breakfast was adequate - although no variation at all any morning. The hotel was just round the corner from the Trevi Fountain so was ideally situated. The lift in the hotel was 'quaint' and we often had to use the stairs since others hadn't closed the doors fully when leaving it. No problem at times - but at others after sightseeing and being on your feet all day was a bit of a hassle! Would I stay here again? Probably because of its location - but not for three of us in one room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tritone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tritone Hotel

Address: Via del Tritone, 210, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tritone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation rental in Rome is a "suite" in one of the most elegant residence in Rome right on the Spanish Steps. The room looks out onto the Spanish Steps and Piazza di Spagna... A very coveted view in Rome. This Rome accommodation has a double bed and a single sofa in the same room, making it an excellent choice for a family of 3. There is a large bathroom with shower that also has a panoramic view of one of Rome's most famous piazza's: the Spanish Steps. Enjoy the freedom of having your own key to your Rome suite, while being in the safe environment of an elegant, serviced residence. The service here is extremely friendly and efficient. Minimum Stay: 1 Check-Out: 10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tritone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tritone Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tritone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.