We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hidden hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Hotel to your Saves list
White Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via In Arcione 77, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A superb hidden hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming, our room was in excellent condition and the location was unbeatable - a 2 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and 5 minutes to the Spanish Steps. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Collete,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments.
We were very pleased to have you as our Guest.Your rewiew made our day!

Kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    256
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
139
287
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights on a package with British Airways. The hotel's location is excellent, very close to Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, the Pantheon, and some lovely Piazzas - with restaurants and bars, and very close to Barberini metro, to get to other locations such as Vatican City (approx 15 mins by metro) and the Colisseum. From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff made us very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was compact, but had everything we required, with lots of storage, safe, TV, good wifi, bar, very comfortable bed, and was very clean. The breakfast was great, lots of fresh food on a help yourself basis, and was constantly replenished. The staff again were very helpful,and polite. The hotel also has a small but very welcoming bar, and Mario the barman looked after us very well, and makes some great cocktails. He also set me up on their own apple computer and printer so I could print out boarding passes etc for our return journey. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Lopei,

Thank you for the time taken to write your rewiew.
We are very pleased that you appreciated all efforts, from any component of our staff, to meet your expectations.
Proud to be part of one of your memorable stay, we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind Regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I was one week in the thirst days of april.
When we arrived we decided to change the room because the normal room was terrible. Completly old, moquette was old and seemed dirty, when you have to open the door of the bathroom slammed against to the wc. We changed the room with superior, was better, highest price, but not very nice the floor with parquet was spoiled and very small. There was not light from the window.
Tsphe best thing is the position, very central near Fontana di Trevi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Babynick,
thank you for taking your time, for sharing your impressions with us.
We are sorry we didn’t fulfilled your expectations. We would like to inform you that, every month, we schedule restructuring works such as wall to wall carpet changing or walls paintings, since our high occupancy asks for a regular maintenance. Additionally, in our rooms we offer tea and coffee facilities and free Wi-Fi, to be able to work in total comfort.
Looking forward to have a second chance to show you our improvements,
Kind Regards.
Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

First of all, if this is your first time in Rome, this is a good location, easy to get to everything and lots on your doorstep. We walked to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Spanish steps, Collosseum with ease. If you are a seasoned traveller, you could be put off by how touristy the area is. Trevi fountain is mobbed and we were constantly accosted by people trying to sell things, harmless but a little annoying! The other downside of being in such a touristy area is the hit and miss restaurant quality. I was really let down by some of the food I ate on the trip, yet it was so hard to know which restaurants were best, even one recommended on tripadvisor was a big let down.
The hotel/staff - The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour. The overall decor of the hotel was fresh and clean, and the bar area was lovely, with a cool little games room which had a retro tabletop arcade console with games like pacman and donkey kong - freeplay. The barman Mario was really friendly and made us feel really welcome. It was a pleasure to go in for a drink after a days travelling and have a little chat with Mario. I recommend the Ameretto sour made by Mario! Seamless transfer from the airport for €50 in a nice mercedes 6 seater arranged by the hotel.
The only let down in the whole experience was the room. I always turn a blind eye when people on trip advisor complain about small rooms, I always think they are not used to Europe standards. Well even by Europe standards this was tiny, we walked through the door and my first word was "oh". Me and my husband were literally tripping over each other constantly and what made things worse was the heat! For some reason we couldnt seem to control the air con, it seemed to be making the room hotter. It was not too bad as we had the window open of a night, and thankfully we were not on a noisy side of the building, as it was loud enough on our side! On the plus side the mini bar was reasonable and there were good tea/coffee facilities. The bed was also very comfortable. If you like to watch some TV whilst getting ready forget it. Our connection was very poor with snow on the screen.
I am still giving the hotel 4 stars as I believe you can book better rooms, ours was the basic so maybe if you pay more you may get something bigger I'm not sure.
The overall package i.e location, welcome, cleanliness makes this worthy of a 4 star review as opposed to a 3 star.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basic rooms as they are tiny with a capital T
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Amiandsmark,
We would like to thank you for having spent your time for leaving your impressions.
You are right: our location is amazing the White hotel is in fact located within walking distance of anything interesting in Rome, and we are strongly focused on ensuring a friendly and relaxing atmosphere.
We recently refurbished the hotel and the modern décor includes a new sauna and Turkish bath area and a pampering, cozy gym, with Technogym equipments.
We are very proud that you appreciated our helpful staff and welcoming bartender. Do not hesitate to ask them for reliable restaurants suggestion.
Even our repeated guests are remaining impressed by our renovations and appreciate our efforts in improving our quality service.
Hoping to welcoming you again, kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

In terms of position this hotel is hard to beat. 100 meters from the Trevi Fountain and walking distance to the Vatican, the Colosseum,the Metro and most of the other major sights of Central Rome. Free wifi and a very helpful reception desk. Breakfast was included and was excellent.
The downside was that the room and bathroom was really small although the provision of good storage space made that more bearable it was still small even by Italian standards. That said the room and bathroom was fresh and clean. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Uludog,
Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.
Your comments help us to improve our services and to better understand our guests expectations.
We just need to remind you that in historical buildings, rooms have limited square meters. Guests, that know this characteristic, accept it because we care of them with an accurate cleaning, tea and coffee facilities, comfort of beds and relaxing public areas. We decided to daily spoil our guests with adds on, like high quality breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free Spa and gym area.
On behalf of our staff, we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best regards,
Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel really exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. We had a package deal from British Airways and the two of us stayed for seven nights at the end of March for just under £600 each, hotel and flight inclusive. Free wifi was included in the package.

We had a standard room on the second floor overlooking an internal courtyard, which was very quiet. It was not big, but we've had smaller ones before in cities, and it was very well fitted out with concealed and very adequate storage spaces, a tea tray, a safe in the hanging cupboard and a flatscreen TV with English news channels. Following advice on here we brought a 4 socket extension lead so we could charge our devices simultaneously from the one convenient socket. The room also looked lovely!

The bathroom had a good shower and a hairdryer. Wifi was fast and excellent, with a strong signal. We did have to log in each time we returned to the hotel, and get a new code after 24 hrs of useage, but we thought it was the best wifi we've ever had in a hotel.

The breakfast room in the basement was also lovely, with ample room and nice modern decor - white of course like the rest of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive with fruit, yoghurt, cold meat, ham, tomatoes, olives, scrambled egg, bacon, sausages, bread, pastries and cake, so something for every taste. Everything was very fresh, put out in small amounts and constantly replenished.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, and the breakfast waiter in particular was excellent and efficient.

We were pleased with the location, and rather to our surprise found very good restaurants in the streets around, but we had done our homework on tripadvisor to identify them in advance.

The only negative aspect was the high cost of drinks in the bar and the minibar in our room. As a result we only used the bar once, and of course the minibar not at all, as is usual for us. There's a very handy well stocked convenience store just along the road!

Maybe we were lucky with the room as we were staying for seven nights, but we would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Anne123,

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments.
We feel proud especially because you had experiences in many hotels, all over the world.
Your plan to definitely return here, with us, enforces our engagement in improving level of guests satisfaction.
Best regards,
Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly the location is excellent- you can walk to Trevi fountain, the Spanish Steps, The Panethon, Piazza Navona and is a short taxi ride to the Colosseum. However, our room was old and tired looking, and when someone had a shower the whole floor got soaked as the water ran around a lip on the wall and straight onto the floor. Our room was really too small for 3 people - there was very little space in the main bedroom area and once the sofa bed was made up there really was no room to move. And, in spite of what their advertising says, the wi-fi would not work in our room, the attached wall hairdryer did not work so we had to get one from reception, and the air-conditioning did not work (for some reason although it was winter it was extremely hot in our room) and, the concierge certainly were not able to provide any assistance with organising itineraries. The included buffet breakfast was reasonable and the breakfast waiter was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at White Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Conder2014,
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to deliver special experiences and we are sorry that we haven’t completely fulfilled your expectations.
All rooms are differently big, but full of comforts such as shoulder or legs adjustable beds, tea and coffee facilities, individual temperature setting. Since hotels hairdryer are normally quite weak, we thought to offer, for free, professional beauty salon hairdryers, just asking to our reception.
Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Our staff is always available for giving you instructions, in case you can’t manage the connection.
What really surprises us is your comment about receptionists. As you can see in Tripadvisor reviews,they are always reported helpful and professional. We can only imagine you said that they couldn’t assist you, with organizing itineraries, because they cannot handle your credit card details, for your privacy.
We do hope you'll give us another chance to welcome you at our hotel. We're eager to better show you our hospitality.
Kind regards,
Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hotel

Address: Via In Arcione 77, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#80 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
#155 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your White Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Rome
Hotel White Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.