We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Hotel to your Saves list
White Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via In Arcione 77, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for the ultra convenient location....
While 2 floors of this hotel have been redone, we were unfortunate enough to stay on the 3rd floor. The elevator ran sporadically and brought us to 3 dingy rooms. This is purportedly a 4 star property, but is barely 3. The rooms are miniscule. There was clear need of some very serious cleaning in the corners of the bathroom and there was apparently some mold on the bathroom ceiling.
The reception desk was efficient and we were provided with a bag breakfast as we had a very early flight to catch. If you must stay here, ask for a room on the first two floors which have been redone and are much more cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    227
    51
    16
    12
See reviews for
119
252
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is right in the heart of the city. We found the staff friendly and helpful at all times. The reception manager made us feel at home from the instant we walked in. He was always extremely helpful to make our stay enjoyable. My Italian is very limited but whilst his English was perfect we enjoyed gaining some more Italian words/ phrases with his help. Nothing was any trouble at all, we were treated professionally at all times, but also like friends receiving help. The hotel is well placed for the Trevi fountain and nearly all other major attractions being within 20 minutes walking (at most).The room was smaller than some other locations but similar to many Paris hotels but very clean. It was comfortable . The usual international facilities of TV, safe, trouser press. Very large mirrors and reasonable storage. Tea coffee all provided. The breakfast room is somewhat small and although it did not happen to us, a few guests did have to wait for a table. The breakfast was typical continental meats, cereal, cheese etc. It also provided scrambled egg bacon and small sausages. Coffee freshly made. There is plenty of choice for evening meals in the street just outside the hotel ( would recommend the Wine and Grill; This restaurant is linked to the hotel ( you can get discount if staying at the White, and the food there is very good see separate review) plus plenty of others within 300 yards or so. The location and staff make this a good reliable choice if you are taking a city break to Rome. Other reviewers warn against the El President restaurant which is some 50 yards away( see this site and decide for yourself) we found that other establishments in the area give good choice/value and confidence.

Room Tip: executive suites are more expensive but if you want a more contemporary feel and larger room , this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is tucked away down a lane way. The Laneway happens to lead to the Trevi Fountain! Location wise, we were thrilled. We had a small child with us & a pram so we were keen to walk as much as possible. Everytime we picked up a map to go & see the next site we felt like we were always close by! The first room we were allocated smelt like smoke. As we had a requested a non-smoking room we returned to reception & they were only to happy to move us on. There is no flashy views or fancy reception but its neat, clean & suits a family on the go in Rome. The restaurant directly opposite the hotel (AMORE i think its called) was also delicious.

Room Tip: The lifts were slow & small. I would opt for ground floor or take the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Whist undoubtedly a good location ( just a minute from the Trevi Fountain,) this 400 yr old hotel is certainly in need of an update, its 20 years since it was refurbished and it shows. Our room 102, was a really single, just approx 9x10ft, and whilst it certainly had all mod cons, was so small both of us couldn't get dressed or unpack at the same time.!! It was also very noisy .We were moved to the 3rd floor, where the configuration was just as poky although overall a better room for 2. Whilst its true to say, we only spent minimum time there ( sleeping)and the staff were lovely, dont expect much more.. For the price I think they should improve the overall comfort etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On reading other reviews I wonder if we stayed at the same hotel!! Yes, location is wonderful - a short walk from the Trevi fountain. We had a refurbished room which was well planned although stairs up to the sleeping area and bathroom were a little treacherous! Sleep quality was good though but definitely felt that the whote room needed a 'deep clean'!!
Breakfast on the first morning was an experience but had the pleasure on the second morning of being the first to use the newly refurbished Breakfast Room. Clean, Bright and White - and full of interesting design features.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the White Hotel for 5 nights in August .Perfect location -walking distance to most of the tourist spots .Rooms are small but but really well appointed .The staff were fantastic -nothing was a trouble

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at White Hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. There are so many positives about this hotel, the location is superb, minutes from Trevi Fountain and the spanish steps and within walking distance of all other major sights. The hotel staff are brilliant, very curtious and helpful. The breakfast was better than average, certainly enough to set you up for walking around Rome. All amenities are close by with a supermarket at the end of the road for water and other things you need and Metro station 5 minutes walk which is handy for getting around when your legs are giving up. There are plenty of restaurants near by although would warn you that there is one a few doors down called Al Presidente which I would avoid at all costs (read the reviews by other travellers on this site) The best bit was being able to come back to the hotel to drop things off, rest your feet or get showered and changed before dinner. The room itself while not huge was big enough and always clean, the bathroom was better than average compared with others in Italy, only small complaint was the fridge did not work, there was no ironing facilities and the bed was a bit on the hard side, we asked for more pillows which was not a problem and helped make it a bit more comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hotel

Address: Via In Arcione 77, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#80 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#136 Family Hotel in Rome
#156 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Rome
Hotel White Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.