We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #55 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We are 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 12 and 3) who thoroughly enjoy our 5-night stay at BWCanada, an elegant hotel a few blocks north of the Termini train station. The building is well-maintained including the vintage elevator (however, for health purposes, I prefer to use the stairs). The buffet breakfast is delicious, convenient, and well-worth whatever they charge. The beds are comfortable, the room is sound-proofed, the view from the 5th floor window is breath-taking. Knowing elementary Italian is helpful but not necessary for having a splendid time. I hear English, French, German, and Hebrew also being spoken around us (strangely, no Canadian). There are numerous good pizzerias, trattorias, gelaterias, and other fooderias nearby. Around the corner, a lavanderia will wash & dry your laundry for €11 per bag. The free wi-fi comes in handy. My only complaint is that the place is so pleasant, my family is content to hang around the hotel rather than adventure in Rome!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    481
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
361
748
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay in this charming hotel. The first two nights were free using our Aeroplan points which is mainly why we stayed here, but we were very glad we did! The hotel is so convenient to the train station (about 10 min walk) and a metro stop is just around the corner. We found most staff members to be friendly but especially appreciated the bar server who always made some cheerful conversation with us. Bar prices are very reasonable (even better than the restaurants) and most nights (after a long day of walking), we ended up back in the hotel lobby bar for a relaxing drink and complementary canapes. Our room was on the second floor above the main entrance (on the quieter street). The room was spacious with a very comfy four poster bed and was very quiet with the windows and shutters closed. A little unfortunate there's no fridge in the room, but not a big deal for us. A very clean and lovingly maintained property!

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our room overall was pretty nice but pretty small. We found out when we got there that we had to pay 8 euro EACH person EACH day to eat breakfast. Plus our friends who were in the hotel around the corner were not allowed to come up with us to our room.There is 1 elevator and its is extremely small (fits 4 people WITHOUT luggage, with luggage 2 MAYBE 3) while the location was pretty nice the rest sucked. We wouldnt stay there again, we were extremely disappointed and the staff was not very friendly. We felt like we were business that was it. Not a single hello how are you today, not once.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed at the Best Western Villafranca (?), it got some bad reviews but was a lot nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Canada_Roma, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ms. Kirsten

We are EXTREMELY SORRY for the bad experience you occurred while staying with us during your last visit to Rome. Only if you had informed us during your stay about what was going wrong we could have tried to help you, because clients’ satisfaction is our main purpose.

The reason why you had to pay 8 Euros per person a day for our buffet breakfast is because you booked a rate based on the room only treatment and 8 Euros per person for a buffet, which everyday is different, is not so much ( fresh juice, eggs, pies, different types of cold cuts, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, biscuits, fresh fruits, home-made cakes are among many other specialities you should have found if you had breakfast in our hotel!).

We would like to inform you the room you have been assigned to, number 530, is 16,74 meters sq. (bathroom excluded). You booked a basic room type, which is a little smaller than the standard one, but always over the range of size for a 3 stars hotel as we are.

Moreover, as per the Italian law (and security reasons), only people registered once checking-in can be accommodated in a room of the hotel and no one, who is not registered, can go upstairs. This is not our law, bur Italian one and we respect it in full.
Obviously, you should have spent some of your time with your friend in our large hall or in our Canadian Bar.

If you had read our web-site you should have realized that our hotel is housed in an ancient palace dating to 1870, and like many other historical building, the elevator can not be replaced with a modern one, which could be so different from our classical style (in our lift there is an advertisement about that).

We would like to say once again that we are sorry for the bad experience with us.

Maybe your next time in Rome you can experience the Best Western Villafranca Hotel, a 4 stars one, always Best Western “Family”!
Best regards

Pucci Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here last week and were pleased to find that it equalled our Best Western experience in Verona (Hotel Capuleti). The breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold,sweet and savoury food, served in a bright, clean and cheery room just off reception.

Our room 412 was a deluxe and this afforded us some extra space and as it was on the corner our bedroom had large windows on two aspects. When the windows were shut all noise from the street was excluded, but when open we could hear the street musician serenading customers at the adjacent cafés with a selection if italian favourites.

The large bathroom housed a four piece suite in an antique style which was in keeping with the overall style of the building. Plenty of hot water and good pressure so no problems filling the bath or having a shower.

Staff were always helpful and dealt with any requests including printing out our e tickets for the Vatican. The free wifi was brilliant and we had no problems picking a signal up.

Very convenient for the train station and we used both the metro and overground rail services with ease. In addition we also took a taxi from the hotel to the Vatican, which was quick and relatively inexpensive.

The air conditioning can be controlled from within the room and we maintained our cool at all times whilst the temperatures soared outside. It was a little disappointing not to have a fridge in the room but if you ask at the bar they will gladly provide ice in a bucket so drinks can be kept cool.

To top it all when we were on our way to the airport my husband realised he had left his MP3 player in the room. One phone call, panic over and arrangements to locate the item and contact us to arrange shipping in place. The said item us now on its way back to England . Many thanks to all for the fantastic customer service.

Though it is part of an international chain , the hotel is relatively small and retains it's unique identify and service never felt impersonal. If you want good value for money it is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Really a beautiful hotel from the classic lobby and lounge to the elevators and the well kept rooms. Inside rooms have less of a view but a balcony and more space. Location is also only 4 blocks
To the Termini. Service was friendly but just very slightly aloof? Overall I would stay again for he charm.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews and combination of price, location, cost. The hotel was very clean. Rooms were well appointed, clean, good water pressure, sound system in rooms, comfortable beds. We needed a place for me, my wife and our two teenage sons. Most European rooms only accommodate 2 so the same applied here...we needed two rooms. We paid 139 Euros per room per day. I emailed my boarding passes to the front desk and they had them printed for us and waiting for us when we checked out. Taxi to airport was there within 3 minutes. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk to the Colosseum which was fine for us. Hotel is also just a couple blocks from the main train terminal where you can also pick up the metro and on/off tour busses.

Room Tip: Sleep quality did not get 5 stars since the beds were singles (2 per room). They were comfortable n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I am just leaving Rome and Hotel Canada this morning. This place is clean and fresh. The rooms are well furnished and have everything you need. Front desk staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. There is a bar in the lobby with very inexpensive beverages and free snacks. The breakfast is a large buffet from eggs to desserts! Michela in the breakfast room is very friendly and efficient. This place has it all working right. Located near two different metro lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#76 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.