We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 stayed for 5 nights, wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #50 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family of 4 stayed for 5 nights, wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Canada for 5 nights in March, 2013 with our two sons (11 and 16). This was our first trip to Rome and the staff were very helpful. Our room included a king size bed and two twins and was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were so friendly, fluent in English and just all around helpful. We would visit the bar on most evenings after dinner and look at our pictures from our visits that day. The wine and drinks in the bar are very reasonable and appetizers/snacks are provided. The bartender was so friendly, taught us a little Italian while we chatted. The breakfast buffet was unbelievable. I enjoyed eating the local specialities like antipasti, hams, cheeses, pastries. There were eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, yogurt, etc. There were something for everyone, and the gentleman that made our coffee/cappuccinos every morning was so sweet! He always remembered what we liked (including what the kids wanted).

The area is very conveniently located to the Metro (about 1 block) and the Termini train station (3-4 blocks). There is a grocery store several blocks away, a tabbachi shop 1 block away (convenient for purchasing Metro passes, etc.) There are quite a few excellent little restaurants within 1-2 blocks and they are quite reasonable. The staff in the 2 restaurants that we frequented were extremely friendly and really made us feel at home (they also taught us a little Italian while we chatted with them).
The hotel was extremely clean and well-kept, I really felt like the staff and owners went out of their way to make sure everything was taken care of. On the morning of our departure they called a cab for us and insisted that we go eat some breakfast while we wait for the cab. They took care of getting our bags loaded, etc. and came to get us when the cab arrived. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    477
    58
    10
    8
See reviews for
359
745
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are just back from a 5 day stay at this charming hotel and would say it is much better than the 3star rating. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, such as Richard in the bar and Massimo at breakfast. The breakfast buffet and nibbles in the bar at night were excellent. The drinks are very reasonably priced, much cheaper than restaurants and cafes. We were rather apprehensive after reading comments about the area, but at no time did we feel threatened. The location is ideal for Termini station, to where we took the Leonardo Express from the airport. We used the Metro a lot with a Roma pass. The only slight negative was that we had to open the windows at night because the air conditioning had not been switched on for the season. As we had a room facing the street it could be noisy. Although it is a Best Western Hotel, it is family run and there are lots of lovely touches throughout to make your stay special. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner deluxe room, which was very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 5 day stay at the Best Western, Canada. What a wonderful little gem, the staff couldn't do enough to help, the room was beautifully tasteful. As for the breakfast, we didn't need to eat until the evening. The little bar and free home made evening snacks was a lovely touch. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the main Termini train station and less than 5 minutes walk from the closest metro station. We walked from the hotel to all the attractions, even the Vatican. We felt safe walking around the area, day and night. There is a lovely little lively bar round the corner called The Yellow. The hotel is Surrounded by lots of reasonably priced Italian restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel and if we are ever back in Rome this is where we would choose to stay. Kind regards Mrs & Mrs Dent

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 days in Rome at the Best Western Canada. This is an excellent hotel with reaonable rates and in a good location and very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are very spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. The price of your room includes and excellent buffet breakfast every morning starting at 7:00 am. We were on the 2nd floor, street side it was a little noisy with the window open but other then that no complaints. Every evening the bar put out little snacks for you to enjoy and had daily drink specials. The prices for the drinks were very reasonable, cappucino's were 1.50 Euro's, beer 2 Euro...every evening my husband and I enjoyed a nice shot of limoncello before retiring to our room. It is a 10 minute walk from the train/bus station, and the majority of the sights were within walking distance if you enjoy walking. We walked to the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain and it took about 20-25min, The Colloseum and Forum 25 min. We had no problem with the subway system and used it to get to the Vatican (the subway/metro stop is just around the corner from the hotel). All in all this was an excellent hotel and I would definitely stay here again when in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A lovely hotel. painted ceilings, lovely decor and furnishings. Staff very friendly, breakfast delicious- buffet style. A long walk home after a busy day sightseeing but so close to rail, bus and metro links. A welcoming lounge area to get a cup of tea or a drink from the bar, free cakes and nibbles too. Mama Angelaa restaurant just round the corner and plenty of others to choose from. Room was comfortable, and quiet. We would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I am annoyed that I haven't written before since we loved this hotel (a Tripadvisor recommendation) when we stayed for 3 beautiful November days. From the old-fashioned courtesy of the reception staff via the old-fashioned lift, this feels more luxurious than it is. Very solid soundproofing in a potentially noisy spot, good breakfast and the most ridiculously underpriced bar I have ever seen - I had a 50cl bottle of very pleasant red wine there for just over €4 and found it selling for a higher price at the Spar supermarket at Termini !

You are also within strolling distance of 3 or 4 good Tripadvisor-recommended restaurants and 2 minutes from the metro.

A gem.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms spacious,beautifully decorated and spotless. People very friendly and helpful. Close to metro, Termini and easy to park if you are driving. Some very good restaurants close to the hotel. Bare in mind it is an old and charming building so elevator does not take a lot!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.