We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay in rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #50 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Rio De Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great stay in rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel Canada for three nights. It is part of the hotel chain Best Western, and therefore a guarantee of higher quality. The hotel is very nice and located close to the train station Roma Termini. Even the subway is within walking distance. Our room was very nice, clean and cozy, the breakfast buffet excellent, very plentiful and the hotel staff was very friendly giving us information about the city. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    451
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
332
709
45
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were a group of six from Canada who stayed at this Hotel at the end of October, 2012., after a brief vacation in Italy and a Celebrity cruise out of Rome to Greece and Turkey. This is the second time we have stayed at the BW Hotel Canada, the first time being June 2008. We liked it so much the first time we thought we would return. We were not disappointed. Each time we were accompanied by a group of friends and all were pleased with the Hotel. The Hotel is convienently located near the train station and metro. You can take the metro to the Vatican for a few Euros. For those who enjoy walking, there is ample shopping and sight seeing within reach. The first day there, we walked to the Colosseum and the Spanish Steps as well as to the Trivi Fountain - a bit of a walk but very enjoyable. Rome is a great city in which to walk. The restaurants and shopping were great. Prices better than 2008 probably due to the difficult economy. Of course, the exchange rate was also much better for tourists. The Hotel is friendly with a lot of charm. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean. The public area is relatively small but very tastefully decorated and furnished, and very comfortable; a nice setting to gather with your friends or just relax, have a drink etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, included in the rate, was quite good. All in all, it was good value.There are other BW hotels in Rome, one just around the corner the BW Hotel VillaFranca. While always interested in new experiences, we still would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This Best Western is simply lovely. The staff are wonderful, professional, helpful, and kind. They helped us with everything from dinner reservations, to finding a cinema that showed films in English. The room was great with plenty of room for the 4 of us. The breakfast was abundant and delicious. Really- this could not have been more perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My absolutely favourite hotel! Stayed for our honeymoon and they made it so special for us. Service is wonderful, breakfast is amazing, gorgeous rooms, excellent location, a really pleasant and happy vibe! I have stayed here twice and I am planning on staying there for a third time at the end of this year ... love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spoleto, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff and management at Hotel Canada are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable -- always major considerations when my husband and I travel. Everyone at the desk, in the kitchen and breakfast room, cleaning staff, and the bar did a superior job at making us feel welcome and appreciated guests. Our room was just what we requested. Upon request, the hotel delivered us a tray with coffee and tea supplies which were refreshed daily, a tea kettle, and 2 lovely china cups and saucers, as well as face cloths (not usually available in Italian hotels, but so convenient). On Christmas Eve (we stayed in the hotel over the Christmas holidays) we found a gift and panettonini had been delivered to our room while we were out enjoying Roma. We were impressed at how well the staff shifted competently among a variety of languages and always had good advice on transportation hours, museum open hours over the holidays, and where to find a restaurant open on Christmas Day. That level of thoughtfulness and care will ensure that we return to the Hotel Canada for another stay. Our room was spotless, light and airy, and furnished with a variety of antique-style furniture that was comfortable to use. The hotel is a short walk from Roma Termini and within a block of a Metro station, plus around the corner access to city and airport buses. Thank you to everyone at Best Western Hotel Canada! A la prossima!

Room Tip: We stayed during winter, so kept our windows closed for most of the time. Still, it's good to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After a taxi ride which would have scared Mario Andretti, we (a group of five veeeerrrry tired Americans) got to Best Western Hotel Canada. Upon entering, the first thing my better half said was "this doesn't look anything like the pictures we saw online." Being that she arranged the stay for her friend, my daughter and son-in-law, and ourselves, she was looking at everything with a very critical eye. The lobby and our rooms were a lot smaller than the pictures would lead you to believe. We checked in, got on the quaint elevator (loved that thing) and went to our rooms. Each room was different..........none of which was pictured online, but clean and sufficient nontheless. I'm happy to say that, after a good night's sleep, we viewed everything from a different perspective. The breakfast was WONDERFUL! Repeat.......the breakfast was WONDERFUL!! The days were filled with tours from Bob's Limousine service; the nights were spent with hor dourves and fairly-priced drinks at the hotel. Location is about 200 yards from the Metro. Overall, the hotel met all our needs: clean, with friendly staff. What we got was a real European old world stay. Highlights are: the quaint elevator (small but very efficient) and the BREAKFAST! I would definitely recommend it..............BUT, they need to put pictures online that more clearly reflect the hotel. Show the elevator!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have travelled extensively, opting to pay a little more for comfort. The Hotel Canada was by far the best. I had heard some poor reviews from friends about the quality of hotels in Rome especially, so I opted to take a pair of brand new thongs to wear in the shower. To my shame, the floors were cleaner than my new thongs. Roomy, meticulous, tasteful rooms with helpful and accommodating staff. I could not fault this hotel and the interesting lounge/ lobby was extremely cosy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada

Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#60 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.