We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs very well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villafranca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villafranca to your Saves list
Hotel Villafranca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villafranca 9, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villafranca) (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #657 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Met our needs very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice sized room, good AC, free Wi-Fi.
Room was a bit banged up but clean. Street noise could be a problem but I always wear ear plugs in hotel rooms so I was fine.
Would use this hotel again if we are back in Rome.
Were able to use Aeroplan miles for this so that was great too.

Room Tip: Pack ear plugs just in case.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank c_recoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel near in Termini and metro. The was very clean with a big outdoor side. The breakfast was great and traditional but I think that must have a better espresso! You are in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cy_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We at the hotel Villafranca for 5 nights.
It had a very good location because it was right next to the
termini station and the coluseum.

We would've liked to say this was a very nice hotel but the only
piont that stoped us was the plastic food given for breakfst.
The only food that was edible was the musli, mini crosants and the water.

Overall = 3 star (even though it says 4)
comment: Please get diffrant food to offer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to the termini station, as well as a number of attractions, the location of this hotel is great.

Unfortunately the quality of the rooms was not. Although the room had temperature dials, they did nothing. Air conditioning needed to be turned on by calling down to the front desk, which had to be done almost hourly as it kept turning off. Even when it was on the temperature of the air coming out of the vents was far from cold. It made for some long, uncomfortable nights.

The shower was plugged, and even with two visits from the service technician the problem wasn't resolved. Our showers were more like baths...

The room came equipped with a small bar fridge, unfortunately it was far from cold.

All in all we wouldn't recommend staying here, there are far better deals to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregtayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for six nights and would stay here again on our next visit to Rome. The location is excellent if you are travelling to/from Rome by train or want to access the airport via the train line, as it is an easy five minute walk to Rome Termini. It is also handy for the Metro and there are a number of sights within easy walking distance.
We were initially given a small, dark room with poor airconditioning, but we asked if another room was available. Much to our delight we were given a newly renovated room with excellent furnishings and functioning aircon, which greatly enhanced our stay. The free wifi was slow but worked well (even in our room). The included breakfast was excellent with a variety of options to choose from. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with hardwood flooring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna bc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Very Close to the termini station. Very clean. The front desk people could have been friendlier. Breakfasts excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthpresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Villafranca the first night and last night of our Italy vacation. The proximity of the hotel to the train station made it very convenient. On the first night our room was a little shabby and the air conditioning was inadequate, but we were grateful for a place to sleep after a long flight and jet lag. On the last night of our Italy trip, we checked in to the Hotel Villafranca expecting a shabby room and were pleasantly surprised to find a renovated room with a very nice bathroom. We couldn't figure out how to get the shower to work, and the fridge didn't work but otherwise we were very happy with the second room. The location was excellent and breakfast was great. We'd happily recommend this hotel if we were assured of getting a renovated room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoUrbanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
#348 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,056 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villafranca

Address: Via Villafranca 9, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villafranca)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Villafranca
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing