We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Donne Pazze in Italia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Genio Hotel to your Saves list
Genio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Zanardelli 28, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #653 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“4 Donne Pazze in Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location, location, location! A clean and comfortable place to stay. Not for hotel snobs. Friendly helpful staff. And not bad to look at with names like Fabio and Lucca. Anyway...Rome is expensive but what makes this reasonably priced hotel with its typical continental buffet breakfast(more than adequate with steamed milk and coffee) so special is the fact that you can eat breakfast outside on the 6th floor terrace in the morning, and then at night take your own wine and glasses from the room and sit outside and watch the sunset and lights of Rome come on. I almost hate to write this review because of the 3 nights we stayed there, we were almost the only ones up there each night before heading out to dinner in the chaos below. There is even a higher level with one table for 4 on the top deck if you are brave enough to walk up the small spiral iron staircase. We know not to wear heals in Italy so of course we were up there all 3 nights. Rome is a noisy crazy city so it is important to be able to get away from the crowds once a day and enjoy the peace and quiet that you experience up at that level. Rome feels more like Paris up there with all of the domed churches including St. Peters and towers and monuments surrounding you at that level. We did see a group of women having their dinner up there with their wine if you want to save money one night. There is a coffee shop next door that sells some light fare to go or "take away" as they like to say in Italy, and we found cheese and meat shops not too far away. The trick in Rome is to walk down the most narrow streets you can find so that a car cannot drive down. Amazingly cars are allowed to drive down streets that have outdoor restaurant seating. It is amazing more people don't get run over while eating!

Room Tip: Just remember to shut the shutters and lock the windows at night so you won't hear the traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    185
    90
    42
    56
See reviews for
90
181
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We saw this hotel on a website and booked it through an agent because we had previously read that if you book hotels direct in Italy they get double booked etc so for peace of mind we went through the agent.
We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome from the receptionist who explained all about the hotel and offered us any help at all. We got to our room which was on the second floor, I was shocked because I had read mixed reviews on here and when I walked into the room it was just lovely, everything you required, tea n coffee tray, a safe, loads of wardrobe space and a spacious bathroom. The room was cleaned daily we had fresh sheets and towels each day too.
The gorgeous breakfast room over looked Rome and you could eat outside if you wished. Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of choice, sadly it is only continental. The waitresses speak limited English but are super friendly and really try hard to converse with you.
The reception staff are fab, so friendly, helpful and happy. They always have a smile and always answer questions on any topic.
The area is within twenty to thirty minutes walk of the Spanish steps, pantheon, Vatican and trevi fountain. There is a lovely street leading to the Spanish steps which has some very elite shops in with guards on the doors but they are worth a look. Piazza navona is less than two minutes walk.
I loved this city the downside is its soooo expensive to eat and drink and beware in restaurants as you get charged 7 euros for bread and bread sticks.
The reception guys will be happy to tell you where to eat in a lovely rustic Italian restaurants.
All in all a fab hotel and stay in Rome!,

Room Tip: Tips regarding eating in Rome is included above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked Hotel Genio through Booking.com and had a nice, clean comfortable double room. The location is excellent for all the major sights. It is aprox 100 meters from Piazza Navona and is well placed for visiting Vatican City / St Peters too. The hotel staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was good. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had booked, but not paid the stay at Hotel Genio, and reading other reviews, I think we did it the right way. We were not moved to another hotel, but looking back, I wish we were. The room was smailler than small, the bathroom was tiny with a broken showerhead, so you had to hold the showerhead in your hands while showering, otherwise the bathroom would have flooded.
Aircon lived its own life, working on/off and smelled foul. The feeling of having bedbugs was NOT funny.
Breakfast was a disaster. Nothing healthy, and a staff that didn´t speak English. Understaffed and overpriced.
Only positive thing was the roof terrace, where you can bring your own wine etc.
We would rather have spent our money elsewhere. The closeness to Piazza Navona is not something you should book this hotel for. It is easy to get around Rome, and nice to walk the small and narrow streets.
A lot of traffic noise, and very thin walls between the rooms. We always knew what the guests in the next room were doing!

Room Tip: I don´t think this hotel has any good rooms - and if they do, spent your money elsewhere on other ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived to Rome after driving from St. Francis of Assisi with enough time to drop my parents in the Genio Hotel and return our car rental on time. Once back to the hotel we were told that they had our room reservations but because of an error on their part there were no vacant rooms for us. My parents were already shipped to another hotel of the same company. When we finally got to the alternate hotel my parents were totally depressed. The hotel which we were sent to, was not central at all, was old, moldy and run down. We had no choice but to stay since it was to late to look for another place. We had to pay the same price as if we were in the Genio Hotel and despite expressing our discontent the company management did not even acknowledged any wrong doing. Our whole stay in Rome was ruined by Genio Hotel inc.

Room Tip: If you ever choose to make a reservation at Genio Hotel, demand that if they give away your rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Genio last weekend for 2 nights. Very satisfied that we chose this hotel.

Checked in on Friday afternoon--the room was ready. There was an issue with the room after taking occupancy for a few hours and the staff moved us to a different room. It was only "OK" so the next morning the staff upgraded us to a fabulous room, with a balcony and complimentary fruit basket.

I love a hotel that actually cares that the guests are satisfied. They took the time to make our stay excellent and we appreciated it.

Best feature--the rooftop view and the lovely breakfast we enjoyed up there. The breakfast spread was generous and the breakfast room is really attractive.

Location is about 100 steps from the Piazza Navona--fantastic!!!

And each room evidently has a portrait of the Blessed Mother over each bed and YES that is the reason I picked this hotel originally! Thank you for that--it made us happy!

Overall, we would stay here again. Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was pretty average. Old building with rooms (ours were 306 and 307) that needed updating and attention (wallpaper was peeling, shower curtain was 12" too long)... I could go on. The reason for my rating? LOCATION! Steps from Piazza Navona, and 10-15 minute walk from practically everything else. The staff was nice, especially the gentlemen at the front desk. They were super helpful with maps and suggestions. Breakfast was not bad, (again) average, but it was on the 6th floor with great rooftop views. You can't beat being in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Genio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genio Hotel

Address: Via G Zanardelli 28, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Genio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and comforts and is situated in the heart of Piazza Navona, convenient to major points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Genio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.