We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class All The Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Majestic Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Majestic Roma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 50, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

From the moment we arrived this property was above and beyond. The concierge team was especially wonderful. Faisal, Giuseppe, Lanfranco....five star team. Front desk crew was also lovely. Yet every employee of the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome and important; housekeeping, front doorman, restaurant staff. Can't rave enough. The location was fantastic, room immaculate, ambience fabulous. Restaurants recommended were excellent and did not disappoint. Such an ideal location, minutes from Spanish Steps. Captures all the intrigue of "La Doce Vita". Cant wait to return. Love love love.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are incredibly large especially for a European hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    200
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
130
353
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Chose the Majestic for the Rome part of our family vacation on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. We stayed for three nights, and then came back for another night at the end of our Italian holiday.
Location is fantastic. On Via Veneto, walking distance from most of the city center attractions (and we did walk to all of them). In fact, the only attractions which are not walking distance are the west bank sites (castel San Angelo and the Vatican) and the Colosseum and Forum areas. Not only is the location great, but it felt ultra safe (and some parts of Rome are more seedy than others).
Rooms were generally excellent. As a family of five, we booked two connecting rooms. For our first stay, we were given two connecting rooms (one Juniour Suite and one deluxe room) on the first (Mezanine) level, overlooking the little cafe's and restaurants next to the hotel. The rooms were truly luxurious and comfortable. However, due to their location (first floor and next to the restuarants) the rooms were a bit dark and (during the evenings) the music from the next door restaurant was clearly audible, even with the windows and shutters closed. On our second stay - we were kindly given the two room Suite on the 5th floor. A truly magnificent suite, with great views over the city and definitely one of the better hotel rooms I've stayed in throughout the world. Interestingly, the hotel apparently has two different kinds of mattresses. The king size beds we tried all had very firm mattresses (which I liked, although my wife found them a bit too firm) while the doubles and singles were much softer (which the kids liked).
Service was overall first-rate. I would especially want to point out that the front desk staff were all consistently of the highest caliber, both in the friendly smiles and welcomes, and their willingness to truly assist with any request. I have stayed in many leading hotels worldwide, and the Majestic can be proud of the quality and proffesionalism of their staff. That is not to say that everything was perfect (there are always some little points). Upon arrival, one of our rooms still had (in the bathroom) a few belongings of previous guests. A restaurant which was highly recommended by the hotel (Pierluigi) was actually our least favourite throughout our almost two week Italian holiday (plus terribly overpriced). And a one day tour of Rome which the hotel organized was very professional and well-run, but the actual tour guide, while obviously a subject matter expert, could have improved English and personal chemistry (obviously - the latter could be totally subjective, although in my experience, the best guides are also expert at creating a feeling of personal freindship with the guests). In spite of these (very minor) comments, I wish to reiterate that the service at the hotel was of the highest caliber.
Bottom line - great location; extremely comfortable and luxurious rooms; and first class service, especially from the front desk. We will definitely come back and warmly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a first class address for a Rome vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Rome and we had been really looking forward to it. We were not disappointed by anything. The hotel was absolutely perfect for us, just on the edges of the city centre but close enough to walk to many of the attractions. Friendly and courteous staff who could not do enough to help you but in no way was their attention invasive. The Hotel itself is a lovely building with reasonably sized, spotless rooms, lovely bathrooms and a décor in glorious old style grandeur, right down to the old fashioned looking lift. We kept expecting Hercule Poirot to appear as its doors opened.
Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace and this is open in the evening for cocktails which is both a great start and end to the day. This is old world charm at its very best.

Room Tip: If you want atmosphere choose one at the front and throw open the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We visited Rome for the first time last June and stayed at the Majestic. We have just returned again (July) in a group of 9 and on our recommendation, all our party checked into the Majestic for seven nights. The feed back we received from everyone was extremely positive... we were confident this would be the case and the staff and hotel did not disappoint.

The location is great and the rooms are comfortable. We again found all staff to be friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The terrace was fantastic for breakfast and again, very enjoyable for evening aperitivo.

The only negative comment to be made is that the hot water was very slow in our room (no one else in our group commented on this).

Room Tip: Rooms on the Via Veneto side have a better outlook and have no discernible noise when the windows ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on the 8th and 9th July 2014 and we were in Room 212. We arrived early here and found that although check in was scheduled for 2pm, our room was in fact ready some 2 hours prior. A nice suprise. The Hotel Reception area and in fact the whole of this rather historic lovely building was beautifully kept and maintianed and the staff were just fantastic. The whole Hotel ouzes charm and sophistication. It is ideally situated for a visit to Rome with many of the places to see not far from your doorstep. If you do not wish to eat always in the Hotel, the restuarant is fantasic I have to add, then walking out of the front door and turning right you are met with an array of places to eat and watch the world go by.
We ate out and then returned to the Hotel and its terrace and bar overlooking the street. It is a beautiful setting and popular with the locals as well as guests. The service and attention is excellent and there was a great buzz and atmosphere here.
The breakfast was exceptional matching the whole Hotel experience here. The Hotel also provides Wi Fi for its guests and this we found to work very well and will meet all your needs if you stay here. Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom quite magnificent.
If you were to stay here on a visit to Rome, you will not be dissapointed by its location, standards of service and will sleep very well in this well appointed Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Quite with good building where you don't hear noise so you can sleep well , clean rooms big bathrooms , friendly staff always smiling and very helpful . Very good breakfast amazing atmosphere . Walking distance from most of sight seen. I totally recommended for fancy peoples.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I need to begin this review by indicating that I am a travel snob. I have travelled extensively, and am fortunate enough to stay at some of the finest establishments in the world. I have also been blessed with 5 children, and this makes travel extremely expensive. While planning our recent trip to Rome, my husband and I consulted endless travel guides, Conde Naste and Trip Advisor, as well as multiple hotel websites.

We were hoping to stay at the Hassler or the Hotel de Russie, BUT...as hotels and rooms are very small in comparison to American standards...it was necessary for us to have 4 rooms for our stay (there were 8 of us traveling), and there was simply did not want to take the price tag of our trip that high. After our extensive search, we decided to make a reservation at the Hotel Majestic, and I am so happy we did. Not only was the location on the Via Venetto perfect, there was very little I was not happy with. In fact, if it were not for the small, slow elevator, the awkward toilet seats with its non-plush toilet paper and the extremely slow hot water, it would have been perfect.

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. From the bell and valet service upon arrival to the check in and bar & restaurant, the staff is extremely well trained and professional. Our favorite person in the entire establishment was Renzo in the bar. He was just like having a friend inviting you into your home. The rooms were a very nice size (much bigger than I was anticipating) and beautifully appointed. Our room over looked the Via Venetto, but I did not feel that I was disturbed by any noise outside, and in fact really liked it, as it helped me to feel as though we were truly a part of Rome. We also loved the terrace at the bar and restaurant and spent our extra time there whenever we didn't feel like venturing out into the city. There was also an indoor lounge that had a HUGE big screen that they broadcast all of the World Cup games for the guests.

As stated above, the building is old, and has been modernized as much as I feel is possible, but the elevator was small and so slow. I believe I only took it twice in the week we were there. The water took a LONG time to heat up in the shower, but I got used to this after the first day and just went in and turned it on to warm up. Finally, the toilet seats, in our room, anyway, were unusually narrow. Throughout our stay, though, pretty much every toilet was this way, so I guess it's an Italian/Roman thing.

All in all, I loved the Hotel Majestic. I'm not sure I could have given the Hassler of the de Russie a better review, especially considering their price tags. You will not go wrong with this hotel, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had street side rooms, and I really liked having the windows on the Via Venetto and overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neoclassical Hotel (1889) located in heart of Via Veneto district, 1 km to train, 30 km to FCO airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.