We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic Roma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Majestic Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 50, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Milano, Italia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the hotel to stay when in Rome. Quite yet very central, the Majestic is a place where you can relax and enjoy Rome.
Everything is smooth, from check in to check out. The junior suite has a great view on the city and the little balcony is gold.
The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    152
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
279
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Except for the slight smell of sewage in my bathroom, and the hotels failure to get us a table for brunch, the stay at the majestic was rather enjoyable. Perfect location, beautifully decorated, and very friendly and helpful staff upstairs in the bar. Would stay here again, but in a room on the other side of the building preferably, the view on the back was not really ideal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I knew this was going to be a great hotel before we arrived. I had been in communication with the concierge prior to our arrival to organize a private tour, transfers, and make dinner reservations for us. They did an amazing job with all of our arrangements.

Unfortunately we arrived a day later than planned because of an error on Alitalia's part. I had pre-paid our room and was afraid I was going to lose the money I had paid. The hotel was kind enough to refund the money for the night we weren't there. Great customer service!

The hotel is beautiful, great rooms and the tasty breakfast on the beautiful terrace was a plus! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Majestic Roma after staying 4 nights at the Westin Excelsior. Wish I would have stayed the whole time at the Majestic. The people were so friendly and helpful. They would remember my name when I would leave and come back. The rooms were spotless and beautiful. What charm this building has. You must stay here if you go to Rome!!!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were nicely appointed, large marble bathroom, great bathroom amenities.. super comfy beds with loads of pillows...great natural sunlight in the rooms. The concierge 'Faisal' was superb! The hotel surprised me with a bottle of champagne on my birthday...really wonderful treat...This hotel will definitely be my hotel of choice during my next stay and for many visits to come!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing front of hotel - you will catch the morning sun. Find one in which the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, mo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel so I don't want to be too critical. I will start with the good things. The location is excellent and I would stay in this area again if I ever return to Rome. Lots of activity and restaurants, close to the Spanish steps, within walking distance of the major attractions except for the Vatican. I definitely recommend taking a cab to the Vatican. One could walk it but it is quit a long way and not the most interesting area of the city to walk through. The train station is close to the hotel too, however, we took a cab there because it is too far to haul luggage. The Borghese Garden is very close to the hotel and we went there to run. It was VERY nice to be able to get a run in without having to worry about the traffic which is horrible in Rome. The bathroom in our room was large and nice. Our room was average size but well appointed.
My biggest complaint is the cost of the room. We payed 440 Euro which is well over $500 and even though the room was nice, it wasn't impressive. For that kind of money I expect to be impressed. We were comfortable, but really nothing more. My advice is to shop around this area and get a good deal on a hotel here. There are many. We over paid and it just wasn't necessary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
500 helpful votes 500 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're looking for a comfortably elegant hotel with Italian charm and first class service in a good location, this is your place.

If you want a modern international hotel where everything is top notch and works as it's supposed to, look elsewhere.

Rooms are beautifully furnished in Italian period style, but could have more electric outlets and storage. No tea or coffee maker is provided.

Things are elegant but don't always work well. There's one lovely ancient elevator. It's gorgeous but it can take five minutes, including the wait, to get between your room floor and the lobby at busy hours.

In our bathroom, the door latch didn't work (until the third time we asked, when it was promptly fixed) and the toilet flush had to be held for ten seconds to remove waste.

The front desk provided perfect service and answered all our questions (although any possible slight on anything Italian will receive a lengthy explanation in rebuttal, so it's best to be tactful or not in a hurry). The restaurant recommendations were accurate and the concierge seemed pained at the thought of having us stumble into a tourist trap. When we slept late one day, we were told we could have the room made up even into the evening. That's unusual for any hotel.

The 30 euro buffet breakfast was a continental breakfast with a continental selection, cold except for the option to order scrambled or fried eggs with bacon or sausage. The first day the sausage was raw in the middle, the bacon, ordered crisp, wasn't, and it took three tries to get eggs over hard actually cooked hard.

But when three of us ordered eggs, it took two waiters to remove the metal domes from all three plates at the same instant. Like I said, first class service, but not everything works.

All that said, we stayed here 15 years ago on our first visit to Rome, and would probably come back a third time. You shouldn't come to Rome to stay in a Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neoclassical Hotel (1889) located in heart of Via Veneto district, 1 km to train, 30 km to FCO airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.