We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but good for what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Doria to your Saves list
Hotel Doria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Merulana, 4, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #474 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not the best but good for what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had the best room on our level but bathroom very small.
Lift either takes your bag and one person two small people at a push.
No help with the luggage up to the room or down when checking in or out.
Breakfast on level six not too bad but had a lot better in rome on previous stays.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    118
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
26
110
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice hotel and good price but the rooms were a little small and the bathroom tiny.Breakfast was very nice on the terrace and the staff very helpful and polite.Overall a good stay the perfect hotel if ur using it for a base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a double room. The room was lovely, a conformable bed, cleaned everyday, good shower (although small) and generally a very nice place to stay.

The breakfast every morning was lovely on the 6th floor terrace with fantastic views. The hotel was about 5 minutes from Termini station which was great and near some nice restaurant, cake and ice cream shops which was a bonus. There is also a supermarket very close by too!

Colosseum was very close and we were able to walk to pretty much everything in our trip, we felt safe in the area the church opposite was lovely to sit outside, by the fountain and eat ice cream after dinner.

Staff very friendly, spoke great english and all in all would happily stay here again and recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop,Derbyshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights recently in a single room. The hotel was in a great position, being only a short 5 minute walk from the station and an easy 10 minute downhill walk from the Colosseum. In fact only a 35 minute walk from Campo di Fiori. The hotel was clean and well presented throughout and although my single room wasn't particularly large, it still had everything you could need and the bed was firm but comfortable. The staff spoke good English and were happy to give advice (accurate advice too).
The breakfast on the rooftop terrace was great with a really good selection (cold) of food and great coffee. As an early riser I always had the place to myself (730am) and the views from the terrace were fabulous.
My only slight gripe (and the reason I didn't award 5 stars) was that the wifi was very hit and miss although after a bit of research I believe was down to the Hotspot company they use, not liking Apple products that well. I believe that they are aware of this problem and are looking into it.
Overall a great value place to stay (55 euro per night incl breakfast-directly with hotel) in a good position.
Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is ideal if its your first time in Rome , it is 5 minute walk from the Termini along good streets .the staff very friendly and kind .and the hotel is situated quite central to all main attractions my wife and i spent a very enjoyable few days here while exploring Rome.

Room Tip: we liked the roof terrace for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, directly across the street from St. Maria Maggiore basilica (we saw the Pope do a Mass while we were there). The staff is very friendly and speak excellent English, the included breakfast is extensive (coffee was probably the best I had in Italy), it's about a 4 minute walk from Termini, and the room was clean, but a bit small (as was the shower). The only problem is we walked right by the hotel because the sign is so small, and walked all the way to the end of via Merulana (in the rain) before we realized the mistake, but I can't blame that on the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doria

Address: Via Merulana, 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.