We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night, convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Planet Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Planet Rome to your Saves list
Hotel Planet Rome
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,136 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for a night, convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is at an extremely convenient location, close to the Railway Station. We were a group of 4 friends and had booked a Quad Room for one night. We just needed a place to crash in the night and this hotel was the perfect place. The room was clean and decently furnished
I would recommend this hotel, if you are planning a short stay in Rome and want easy access to the train station, or if you want to catch an early morning flight.

The breakfast is served at a restaurant nearby.

My trip to Rome http://www.cafeinks.com/archives/663

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    18
    14
    43
See reviews for
15
24
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

For those who have a 1 night stand & need to take them somewhere....this is the place to go. Rooms stunk of smoke! My 10 year old almost threw up.. Bed covers with cigaret burns, bathroom was clean, but if you're a little large, forget it! Luckily they didn't have a room for 5 (after we booked for 5), so had to stay somewhere else. They had 4 beds in the smallest room, could hardly fit our luggage in it. Only plus... they had a lift in the building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This Hotel only has one thing going for it...Location. The hotel reception, our room, and our breakfast place were all in completely separate buildings. Our confirmation email lead us to believe that there was free wi-fi, and all taxes were included, yet on arrival we had to pay another 4euro per night (taxes), and the Internet was 5euro a day, and was only accessible from the lobby which was in an entirely different building. However the staff did offer us a room change to get within wi-fi signal, but we opted to head over to the train station cafe to use it for free(they did great coffees). The room was large, however the bathroom was growing fungus from the shower tiles, the shower door was broken, and had a awful smell. The TV had extremely poor reception (not a big deal for us). We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone, as there are a huge number of hotels in the same location/area so hunt around for alternatives!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We booked the Hotel Planet on the basis of cost as it compared very favourably with other hotels, I read some of the reviews which seemed variable to say the least.

+ It is located very close to the main railway station which makes it very easy to find when getting the train from the airport
+ Greeting at reception was very friendly and all the staff we encountered were very helpful
+ Room was very clean, shower was great, towels clean and fluffy
+ Perfect location for exploring Rome, easy access to trains, and the bus tours of the city
+ Breakfast in the cafe across the road was great, it did seem a little odd to collect a ticket at reception and then trot over the road but the coffee and the pastries provided at the cafe were great and the staff there were also really welcoming

- Yes, the room was small but as we only spent two nights there it was perfect, it would not have been ideal for a family but then I would not have booked it anyway. For myself and my friend it was fantastic.
- The Hotel is on the 5th floor of an old building which makes for quite an odd sensation when you look down out of the window but there is a lift so access was not an issue
- There was some noise on the Saturday night but not enough to disturb my nights sleep, possibly due to there being normal appartments in the same building

If you are going to Rome for the weekend with a mate this Hotel is perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to recomend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Planet Hotel, Rome, really is a budget hotel, a 2 star hotel on the 5th floor of a massive old building. On the outside it looks nothing special, but once inside the room, although compact was clean, and ideal for exploring the city. The communal areas needed some work to make it easier on the eyes, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for.
On the plus side the towels were changed every couple of days, the staff spoke English, and its just 5 minutes walk from the main Termini station where all the trams, trains, buses etc start and end. We caught the Bus Shuttle from the airport to the Termini, 8 euros each, each way, took an hour on the Saturday afternoon and 45 mins on the return trip early Saturday morning.
The breakfast is served in the bar over the road, and consists of a drink and 1 piece of bread.
All the sights are easy to walk to, the Repubblica, 10 mins walk, the Trevi fountian, Colosseum, Spanish Steps etc just 20 mins walk. The Vatican took us 1.5 hours to stroll to, but the trams / buses etc go there if you didnt fancy a walk!
A budget hotel right in the middle of the city, great for seeing the sights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed here the night before our cruise and the night we returned from the cruise. It is very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very good. If you book this hotel you may end up staying in any of the hotel group but they are all next to the station so great for getting in and out of the airport and also fantastic for the metro. We managed to get the room for 55 euro per night. Don't expect a top class hotel...this is really a B&B but the sheets are clean and the towels fluffy. Good strong coffee and simple breakfast but fresh. I would recommend this as a base for a few days stay due to location, cleanliness and price. Search about on the internet to find a good deal as the sites all vary from 55euro to 125 euro for the same dates!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

One of the worst travel experiences I have had in 40 years on the international road. The room was crowded, the furniture was junk, (one mattress fell through the springs at night, and another bed frame collapsed on my wife's foot).

The Internet didn't work (@ 5 Euros per hour). The desk personnel were surly, argumentative, unhelpful, defensive and rude. Other than that, they were okay. The water pitcher in the bathroom had black mold in it. Piles of garbage in the elevator shaft, and graffiti on all the walls. I would have left if I hadn't already paid for the room, it was 11 pm and raining.

We initially had reservations at the Hotel Rubino (two floors down), and our room was (inexplicably) in the Hotel Planet. Hotel Rubino looked even worse, by the way. I think they are owned by the same people. You could end up at Hotel Rubino. The "continental breakfast" was a donut ("One only!") and a coffee across the street in a bar.

I would not be surprised if some of the rooms rent by the hour. Go South of the Termini and find rooms there. We found a room at the Hotel Romantica. A very nice hotel. Cheaper, clean, and the people are wonderful. But when they heard where we had been, they giggled and shook their head. Apparently, both Hotel Planet and Hotel Rubino are well known in the area. Infamous.

Warn others!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Planet Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planet Rome

Address: Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,136 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planet Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Planet Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Planet Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.