We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Firstly the pros: The hotel is close to the metro (Manzoni stop is on the doorstep) and the Colosseum area. The rooms are relatively neat and fairly well equipped. Breakfast is fine with a decent selection. Cons: Hotel was being "repaired" for an inspection, thus only 1 lift worked at our arrival and was thereafter at least 1 lift (of only 2) constantly hogged by the workers, very noisy with the lovely smell of angle grinders at work and varnish. My main gripe is however with the staff at recetion in particular Manuela. She is as friendly as a pit viper with snotty answers and a real attitude should you as guest dare to ask for assistance. I don't speak Italian and I don't live in Rome, that is why I ask for assistance and as a paying guest I think we deserve at least civilty and perhaps even some friendlyness. A previous review referred to difficulties with checking in, Manuella. If I ask you what the best and easiest route to an attraction is tell me, don't draw a circle on a map indicating where it is.I can read a map, I asked for local advice.If you don't like the service and hospitality industry, quit. The ckeaning staff on the other hand were friendly and we asked them for assistance on occasion. Perhaps the staff should switch positions. The hotel is adequate as far as amenties are concerned, but the service is poor (read rude). This hotel won't see me again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
July 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
I wish to thank you for the comment. and for the directness with which you have expressed the discomfort you had suffered during your stay at our hotel.
I noticed that, among the services that you liked, you have mentioned our central location, the room cleanliness, our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff, made exception for me.
Regarding the renovation works going on while you were staying here, I perfectly understand your disappointment, however I'm sure you'll agree with me that it is necessary for an hotel to work constantly on its amenities to keep up the standards offered to its customers.
Please believe I am truly sorry that this inconvience occured while you were our guest.
At present we have arranged to separate the working area so to not disturb our clients.
For what concerns me: I have treasured your words. As a matter of fact I failed to satisfy your expectations by not giving you the right attentions and care that I should have. I deeply apologize to you.
If you will decide to come back on the base of the good qualities you have appreciated, I will show you the passion and the dedication that during these years had characterized my daily work and my commitment to our customers.
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.