We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel President, Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel President to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #306 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel President, Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, room basic, general facilities ok. I would stay again. You get what you pay for, don't expect a five star at this price. Good value snacks in the bar, not at silly London prices or suitable for food snobs. Good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Chris F,
Thank you very very much for your kind report and nice words we really have appreciated.
We are then looking forward to see you soon.
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    340
    133
    34
    28
See reviews for
152
271
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel itself is clean if not a little small. The lifts are a joke. Six people maximum? As if! You can get two with luggage at a push, it's one heck of a tight squeeze for three. We arrived on a coach tour and there was a huge queue for the lifts that just didn't seem to go down and the staff didn't help at all on that matter. We decided to bite the bullet and haul our luggage up the stairs which are deceptively steep.

We arrived at the hotel about nine o'clock at night and after a long day of travelling, the last thing I wanted was not to be able to eat. Whoever was on duty that night was excessively rude, snippy and downright unhelpful. The restaurant was full and yes, I understand the man was under pressure but turning away orders because you had four orders on the go was just stupid. The food was clearly microwaved. The pasta was okay, a bit bland and hard when we did manage to eat the following day and I had a suspicion that the bread basket was the leftovers from breakfast. The following day, a group of American tourists arrived and the same employee was all smiles and chatty, serving food and drinks while we were left, ignored at the bar. i almost thought it was because we were British. It was an unpleasant experience. I expected better service and better food from a four star hotel.

The breakfast itself was average; there wasn't a whole lot of choice. Three cereals, a few yoghurts, tinned fruit, ham and a few types of bread. The restaurant was always busy, even going downstairs at 6:30 AM. Having to share your table with others guests that don't speak your language was awkward and uncomfortable. The food isn't replenished often. The hotel often ran out of scrambled eggs, bacon (that was burnt) and sausages (that were actually those mini hot dogs you get in tins). It seems the front of house staff were more polite and helpful. There were maps of Rome on the reception desk and when I asked for the password to the free WiFi, the lady was all too happy to hand me a card.

The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable, albeit small. The single rooms were like teeny ship's cabins but the double rooms are a little larger. The bathrooms are modern and clean and the beds were comfortable but the pillows were not. They were over stuffed and heavy. The A/C when it decided to work was good but cut out through out the night, leaving the rooms hot and sticky. The system is temperamental and difficult to use. The rooms do not come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities but I emailed the hotel before we arrived and they were kind enough to supply a kettle, milk and tea. They also put us on a smoking floor. The smell wasn't too bad but I would have expected to be put on a non-smoking floor unless otherwise indicated.

The location. however, is fantastic. A fifteen minute walk to the Colosseum and the Metro station, Manzoni, was literally a thirty second walk around the corner. The hotel lays on a main, busy road. The room I stayed in was quiet but other guests complained about the traffic noise so do email ahead and request a room at the rear or higher up. All in all, this is a nice hotel but really, four star? No way. Three star at best. It seems to be catered towards business people. The hotel is rather basic and it seems to be geared for people who wouldn't be spending a lot of time in it. There is also a little corner shop across from the Metro station exit that is far cheaper. The staff speak good English, very polite and they sell water for one Euro, serve sandwiches, crisps and snacks and the coffee looked considerably more appetising. As said before, the hotel is just nice. Adequate but not a four star.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel or a higher floor, ask the staff at reception to keep your A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent 10 days on a tour. The rooms are outdated. The floors have a bamboo type tile that is not comfortable to walk on in bare feet. The beds are hard and the pillows impossible. One is not enough and two are too many. The A/C shuts off at night unless you call the desk and ask them to keep it on. When we plugged in our laptop and iPhone it blew the electrical circuit in the room. It had to be constantly reset. There is no power in the room when you leave so you cannot charge devices while you are out, so on your return you have to decide what devise has what priority. The Breakfast are good, but they do not replenish the food very quickly. One AM we had an early tour (7AM) and got to the restaurant at 6:15 and most of the food (scrambled eggs, bacon, breakfast meats and cheeses, bread to toast) were gone and they were not replaced by 6:50AM when we had to board our bus. The fruit is canned, the yogurt and pastries are very good and juice and coffee is plentiful. Dinners were poor to horrible. The soups were bland, the pasta was OK, the main course of fish or meat was horrible. Always over cooked and only warm. The meats were dry and tough, the salmon had bones and was so hard it could not be cut, the vegetables were always brown, and potatoes were brown on the outside and mush on the inside. I cannot think of any excuse for bad food in Italy. The front desk staff made you feel any request was a problem for them. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone! - Robert, Newark, CA

Room Tip: The room let in a lot of street noise. You have to be above the 3rd floor to get a good night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear RobertBE,
Thanks for your comment.
First of all we wish to apologize for not having satisfied your expectations.
However we feel the need to underline few points you have enhanced that need clearance.
All the mattresses are new, that is probably the reason why you might have found our beds hard.
A pillow menu is available in each room providing to our guests a wide choice of pillows.
Fruit served for breakfast is all fresh and not canned.
For what concerns dinner, we are very sorry if you found it horrible and we apologize.
About our reception staff, we were surprised by your statements as, as anyone can easily check by reading other reviews, they are usually kind and helpful at all times.
Apologizing once more we do believe that, if you reported your discomfort during your stay, our management would have been pleased to accomplish all your requests.
We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to show you our efforts and dedication to our customers.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is not a 4 star hotel more a up market travel lodge.Decor in need of updating stayed in a single room have been in bigger cabins.Only has 2 lifts for max 6 people which equals 2 people with luggage.We arrived with a coach party queue for lifts to the door.if you are fit enough use the stairs.Don,t expect a wide choice of food.Only food is in the bar when tried to order the reply was we have 4 orders already will have to wait half an hour??!!.Their club sandwich is a tuna sandwich??.On the plus side you are not ripped off in the bar .beer and spirts 3 euro.Coloseum only around the corner.Metro outside the door BEWARE OF THE PICK POCKETS ON THE METRO.Great corner cafe next door have everything and cheap.Rooms were clean staff mostly helpful and pleasent.Ask for a room at the rear as a lot of traffic noise

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My friend and I also booked our visit to Rome through Riviera Travel and stayed four nights. The President website 'home page' claims 'fully soundproofed' - not so (see other reviews re this problem).

The hotel is basically a business hotel for tour operators and short-stays and as such devoid of charm. With only two very small lifts, getting to and from your room could be frustrating at times as they were often full to capacity (6 persons!) especially at check-in/check-out times and breakfast. Our room was a decent size, clean and beds comfortable enough. Breakfast room tended to be crowded so expect to wait for a table and/or share with other guests. The breakfast buffet was varied enough. The bar menu was limited and uninteresting so suggest you eat out - lots of restaurants nearby. Pleasant staff.

At best, this hotel is a 3 star - its redeeming feature being its location (see other reviews).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front of hotel (very difficult as the hotel has a very large frontage overlooking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Pauline D,
Thank you very much for having dedicated some of time to write a review about our hotel.
We are pleased to read that you found your room comfortable in terms of size and cleanliness, however we are sorry to read that some of our services did not satisfy your expectations.
Please accept our sincere apologies.
All comments either the positive and negative
Hoping you will be willing to give us another chance to serve you and show you our improvements, we remain
Yours faithfully.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I returned to Rome for an overnight stay after a cruise; as such we arrived around 11.00am to what had been booked by the company as a 4* hotel. Thankfully, the hotel was ready for us and having been well greeted in reception and by a friendly porter, we were unexpectedly able to get into our room immediately, for which we were most grateful and our expectations raised. The room was away from the main and very noisy street which was what we had asked for...another bonus point to the hotel and our expectations were again exceeded by provision of a good sized room, a comfortable bed and a perfectly adeqauate bathroom.

However, the lack of external disturbance was more than made up for by the wafer thin walls and "interesting " and extremely noisy plumbing, which we guessed had been installed in the reign of Tiberius! Everyday conversation was distinctly audible from neighbouring rooms, but thankfully all seemed to retire early, although some made nightly visits to ...you know where... and the plumbing came once again to the fore..!

The evening bar and restaurant service was friendly, with the items from the very limited menu offering little resemblance to the advertised pictures, e.g. the salad, but was well priced...so it depends on your expectations. There are several good restaurants relatively nearby, notably the Taverna Italiana, less than 10 minutes away on the corner of Viale Alessandro Manzoni and Via G Giolitti...or you can walk down to the Colosseum area, some 15 minute walk away in the other direction.

The hotel provides free Internet and Wifi, Expectations again suitably raised we were disappointed that the stability of signal was....not very!. Take care if you are doing anything important.

Breakfast was, as usual after a cruise...a disappointment. However, we have certainly had worse in city hotels. Luggage is stored safely enabling a late departure for flights whilst still enjoying the lounge area which provided coffee on tap, newspapers and a comfortable seating area. This is not a bad hotel at all...but it depends on your expectations of a 4 * President...!

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy road (trams and trafiic) but plumbing noise can be a problem in Room 124
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PCr3152,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to read that your permanence at our hotel was overall good but sorry that not all your expectations were regarded.
Our management has taken notice of your comments about the sound-proofing of the rooms walls while, for what concerns the plumbing noise, we have already asked to our maintenance team to check all rooms, however it would be helpful if you could contact us to provide the room number.
We are hoping you will think about us while planning your next trip to Rome, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel President in Rome is central to just about everything, I could not fault the staff during our 4 day stay or the food but the noise from the street (we were at the front of the hotel which looks out onto the main road) was unbearable, on the second day we resorted to buying earplugs from a local chemist which were better than nothing. We honestly thought the window had been left open it was that noisy - Trams running every 5-10 minutes until 01:45 then starting again at 04:15 - Not Good! It was like living next door to a railway! Rooms were clean and well maintained, staff were attentive and very pleasant but would not go back there.
I like to be able to sleep at night so I can enjoy my day. Noisy couple on room 215 didn't help with the TV blaring until 11:45 most nights, only after I complained on day 3 did they turn it down a bit and it was only a bit.
For a holiday this expensive I would have expected better, 4 star hotel should be down graded to a 3 star because of this.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel, apparently it is much quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear John D,
Thanks for your review about our hotel.
We are sorry to learn that your stay was not comfortable as you had expected due to noise coming from the street.
As you have mentioned in the comment, our location is very central and that naturally implies that, in a big and busy city like Rome, traffic might be heavy during rush hours.
We apologize once again for the discomfort you have suffered however we are certain that if you expressed your disappointment to our reception staff, they would have been more than pleased to change your accommodation with a room with the view on the backyard.
We are hoping you will be willing to give us another chance to serve you, we would like to show our best efforts and dedication to our customers.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#175 Business Hotel in Rome
#215 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.