We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check tge room rate - are you paying what you expect?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #404 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Check tge room rate - are you paying what you expect?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 30/31/12/2012. I had advance booked this hotel about 6 weeks prior to arriving directly through the Best Western website. Booked as other travellers indicated close to Roma termini which we thought would be helpful for the time we had in Rome. We arrived early morning around 9.30am. I had booked : Room Details: 1 King Bed, Full Breakfast, Energy Room, Exercise Bike, Energy Drink And Snack, Luxury Bathroom Toiletries, Bathrobes And Slippers, Fitness Area Access. On arriving was told the room was not ready however another room was availble - room 623. on seeing our room it did not include bath robes or luxury toiletries. We were told at check in there would be no exercise bike and I indicated this was ok as at time of arrival - we were tired after 13 hr flight and needed to rest. After check in reviewed our paperwork and noticed the rate was quite high as opposed to rates on website. $209 EUR per day plus city tax. Given we were in hotel over new years eve perhaps this would be why rates are up to $100 EUR per day over rates shown on website? I did ask about this at reception and was told the rate was correct even though higher than on Best Western website via my membership log in. The room appeared to be standard room without any the indicated extras which I also did not understand when I had booked for these extras and was paying for extras. Bedding comfortable. Bathroom clean and serviced well. Full breakfast was very average. Nutritionally could be vastly improved and food served at higher temperatures. One of the coffee machines (2 in restaurant) was broken which caused largish queues each morning we were in hotel. Coffees were low temperature and need to be served hotter. Waiters appear unhappy in restaurant and make no contact with patrons. Tables were not cleared/serviced while we were at our table each morning. Reception were prompt to help, are professional, but appear to be under pressure, rushed and at times a tad gruff.

Hotel seems to be suited more for business traveller than the holiday maker.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear BrisbaneMegan,
Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry to read of the misunderstanding occured about the room rate and we would like to check into the matter carefully.
We would like to invite you to contact us directly in order to give us more details.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    374
    133
    54
    39
See reviews for
136
273
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights on Nov 2012, the hotel location is good for people who wants to travel by rail, since it is only 5 minutes walking distance from Termini Train Station, however, it is far from other city attractions, not even close enough.

The room was small (twin beds), however toilet was big, and be careful when you take shower as the water will flood although the shower has a door.

The hotel has a free wifi internet, but the staff change the password everyday, and you have to get a new password from the reception by physically going there because they will not give it to you over the room phone.

Not all staff are helpful! if you ask something from the room service they will even say that they are busy and can not bring it and suggest that you go down and take it yourself! or it will take ages to arrive to your room! I was not really impressed with that and despite I have complained at the reception but it didn't change.

I will not book in that hotel if I ever go to Rome again, due to the service and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Aya294,
Thanks for your comment.
We were sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel due to our location and some of our services.
However it's important for us to underline that, despite from what you have written, we are located in the heart of Rome giving easy reach to the most important attractions we have here. Piazza Venezia, The Colosseum, The Roman Forum are only some of the monuments you can visit by just walking from the hotel. For those which are a bit far away, there is the possibility to catch the subway or bus practically outside the hotel door.
For what concerns the room service we'd like to apologize if the service did not meet your expectation, we'd like to assure you we have taken notice of your comments in order to upgrade our offers.
Regarding the wi-fi code which changes every day, for security matters our reception staff prefers to communicate it directly to the client in person.
Renewing our excuses, we do sincerely hope you'll give us another chance to serve you and to prove our best efforts to improve our benefits.
In the meantime, please accept our
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

An enjoyable stay in a hotel we have been twice previously. 2 adults,2 children and a baby and we were accommodated in one room which was a good size. Helpful staff via e mail when booking-booking a familynroom online can be complicated. Pleasant breakfast and good location. The drain in the bathroom gave off an unpleasant smell and their attempts to resolve that on the first night were unsuccessful so it lingered for the 3 day stay. However, we were out most of the time so it wasn't a major problem. I think we would seek a different hotel next time rather than stay for a fourth time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Unexpectedly surprised, chose it based on location but it turned out an excellent overall experience. Clean, modern decorated and comfy rooms and staff is helpful. Finally a very good breakfast buffett and quality. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear yannaras,
Many thanks for your review and for having chosing our hotel for your vacation in Rome.
It would be really a pleasure to see you again soon, we would like to surprise you once more!
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room is good the staff is helpful, the location is good really close to the train station, walking distance of almost anything, but the Vatican.
Just has 2 problem, the vault is in the front desk and not in the room and there is no swimming pool.

Bacal

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear leandrobacal,
Thank you very much for having shared with us and with all the Tripadvisor community your experience at our hotel.
We are content to read you enjoyed our hotel and would be really honoured to have the occasion to serve you at the best again, hopefully in the next future.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Close to the Termini for the train and Metro. Staff were friendly enough and helped with all our needs the room was very clean and tidy as was our room. The outside was noisy but what do you expect in a major city near a train station.
Breakfast was good and could get a decent coffee if you asked the breakfast waiters rather than from the machine.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would help with those that have a problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear The_romantic,
We have appreciated your comment and we thank you.
It would be a real pleasure to have the chance to accommodate you again, hopefully in the next future.
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Universo, and found the hotel to be very comfortable and attractive. The location was very convenient to many attractions in Rome. We were there with a tour group, and found lots of other tour groups there also. Breakfast was very crowded and congested. The variety offered was acceptable, but they did not bring the hot food out until after 7:15, although the breakfast opened at 6:30. Waiters were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were very clean and attractive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear X1life4u,
Thanks for your review.
We are glad to read your stay at our hotel was comfortable also due to its central location so convenient for our guests in order to reach Rome main attractions easily.
We apologize if breakfast time was a bit uncomfortable for you.
We do hope there will be soon another chance to see you, in the meantime please accept our
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#300 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Universo is one of the few Roman hotels which has a hundred years old tradition.The hotel is located right in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Central Railway Station and few steps away from the Teatro dell'Opera and the Government buildings such as the Palazzo Baracchini and the Ministries of the Treasury and Agriculture in Via XX Settembre.Next to the Palazzo Massimo Museum, Piazza Venezia, and Via Veneto are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.