We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Room and Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #393 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique Room and Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is close to the train and bus station and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We booked a room for two adults and received a room with a king bed. What was unique about our room was that it was two-stories with the bathroom on the lower level and the bed on the upper level; we loved that feature! The bathroom was spacious however there was a gap in the shower door that allowed water from the shower to soak the entire floor of the bathroom. The bathroom sink was shallow and also soaked the floor while being used. The desk staff was a bit "moody" but helpful. Breakfast was really good. Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear L905,

Thank you very much for having spent some time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to learn you have found nice and comfortable the accommodation and that you appreciated also our central location.
Sorry for the problem regarding the soaked floor after showering, we have taking good notice of your remark, thank you.
We are then looking forward to have another chance to see you in the next future.
Arrivederci!

Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    431
    150
    58
    41
See reviews for
156
325
50
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel is convenient to most of the popular attractions. 20 minute walk or less to major attractions and a short walk to Termini Station or Republica. Recommend using Republica as it is not as busy as Termini.

Rooms were very large for European standards, even larger than many of hotel rooms that I frequent in the States. Our room had a king bed, two singles (even though we only needed one single) and our requested baby bed. All fit nicely and were not cramped. Room furnishings and bathroom are modern and room was new and clean.

I differ from the previous poster on the reception staff. They were helpful and nice every time I interacted with them, which was at least 3 times daily. They even arranged for a private tour guide for us when we asked about attractions. I highly recommend the private tour they arranged for us of Vatican City and The Colluseum. On the tour was my wife, 6 year old daughter and 18 month old son, and myself. The guides name was Alessandro and he spoke excellent English. Cost was similiar to the big tour prices but was just the four of us (he didn't charge for the infant). Alessandro was able to take the extra time to answer all of our questions. Take breaks for the little ones, etc.

Breakfast was great and we didn't experience issues previous reviewer mentions. We went at very different times each morning and only had one morning where the dining area was full.

On the final day the hotel arranged for a cab to the airport and had a fixed rate of 50 Euros which was 20 cheaper than the fixed rate that we got from the airport to the hotel.

I would defintely recommend this hotel. Great value, good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Ralph S,

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are very glad to learn you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our services were up to your expectations.
We have read with much interest the detailed comments about us, the city and the experiences you had during your vacation and that, we are certain, TripAdvisor community will find very helpful.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family once more and, in the meantime, please accept our

Best regards

Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was in a convenient location and fairly close to all the major things to see in Rome and we managed them all by walking everywhere. The room we had was good, clean and comfortable and the bathroom modern and well equipped. Not sure about the exercise bike in the bedroom, I think we got enough exercise walking every day. Unfortunately the staff at the hotel let it down badly. Reception was unhelpful to the point of being rude. No brochures on tourist attractions or transport were available but when I asked ONE was produced from behind the front desk. I also asked about local buses and was told I could get one but when I asked the number and where to get it I was told, "Don't know". Breakfast was actually a nightmare! I know it was peak season and the dining room busy but the 5 waiters wandering around just didn't do the job. The food was never kept stocked on the buffet, hot food was horrible, 3 rashers of bacon floating in 2 inches of grease just doesn't do it for me at breakfast, the other choices were just as bad. Getting a table was also a hassle as all tables were still cluttered with dirty dishes. The only way was to get a table then stack all the dirty dishes to one side and these were never cleared during our meal and when we left were still there. Not the way to run a dining room at all. A shame really as the hotel itself it good for the price, the rooms are good and beds comfortable etc but just don't go into the dining room or ask questions at the desk! I did ask on our last day if the shuttle bus drivers came into the hotel to look for people and the answer was "I don't know". So not only rude but unobservant too. This hotel would do much better with a completely new set of staff who actually like their jobs.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine just don't eat here and try to avoid the staff at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ann C,
Thanking you for your review we wish to apologize for the delay in answering.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our central location and the accommodation given, however we were very sorry to read your comments about our staff either of the reception and of the restaurant.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disservice you have suffered.
We have taken notice of what you wrote and would like to assure our best efforts to improve those services. We are constantly working in order to up grade the quality of our offer and customers' reviews are very important so to help us focus on what needs to be advanced.
We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you, we will be most pleased to show you our enhancements!
Warmest regards.

Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there for 7 nights. Great location, close to termini station, like 5 minutes walking distance. Inside the termini station is a supermarket that you can get water and other stuff that comes handy. Rooms were very clean and spacious. I loved the fact that they cleaned the rooms every day. Breakfast was really good, and they had a good variety of things.
The only thing I did not like was the shower. Every time we took a shower the whole bathroom floor was practically flooded, the only thing it had was a curtain. Also the TV only had maybe two channels in English and was news. Other than that YES I would definitively stay there again. Staff was very courteous. I didn’t had any bad experiences. Best thing WiFi was FREE!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when you book, and if possible for a tub instead of a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights... From the outside the hotel looks old so does every other hotel in rome. But the rooms were spacious and looked new... Bathrooms were big. The break fast was heavy and had variety... Do not book any trip from the hotel though. It's better to go near the main terminal station and book from there or else get taxis from outside and run them on Meter... Public transport is good but beware of thieves... Better you have a guided tour of colosseo otherwise a long waiting line... That goes the same with Vatican city... It's so big that we will definitely need a day apart from the guided tour of 3 hours... All if you like paintings sculptures n history... Outlet mall is definitely a must place to go for brenda like zegna, Valentino, hugoboss , Burberry n others... They are cheaper there then the duty free airport... U will definitely need a day there atleast 6/7 hours... Hotel is close to the termini about 5/7 minutes walk. But there is also another best western on the opposite site of the termini like across the street but don't know how good that one is... Can definitely stay there again but would like to try some other place next time... Wifi is also free... if u like Indian food do try Krishna13 restaurant which is about 15/17 minutes walk... Also download tripadvisor offline map for Rome which comes in handy while walking....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Piyush123,

Thank you for spending some of your time to write a comment about your stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our services and location.
We are sure that Tripadvisor community will appreciate your detailed and helpful suggestions that can become really necessary during a vacation in Rome.
Looking forward to welcome you again, we remain
Yours faithfully.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hospitality, patience & courtesy factor does not exist at all where as they should always be more courteous & have patience for the guests who are visiting them from asian countries because of big language problem. Literally i have to shout on hotel's reception staff in spite of my repeated request to change twin room to dbl room.
Break fast served together with a large group in a very small place which created a total mess in the restaurant, B/f was not ready at the time given i.e. 6.30am resulting could not have our B/f. Negative response given upon enquiring from restaurant & Reception staff about B/f.
Never found smile on the faces of Reception staff during my three day stay which cost nothing & they are always in hurry & irritating mood w/o any reason.
There was bad smell in bathroom due to water logging in cubical shower area & complaint was given at reception to fix the problem but it was done.
Amarjit Singh Ahuja
amarjitsinghahuja@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear AmarjitSinghAhuja,
Thank you for spending some of your time to write a comment.
First of all we wish to apologize if our service did not meet your expectations.
However, we were surprised to read your complaint about breakfast served together with a large group in a small place, as a matter of fact our restaurant can host up to 150 people hence cannot be at all considered a small place nevertheless we apologize if you did not enjoy our service.
Our goal is to always improve and we take in great consideration all comments, either positive or negative, appreciating our customers' suggestions which help us to focus on which service needs to be increased.
We do hope you will give us another chance to prove you our efforts and in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is very convienent for sightseeing. The Hop on Hop off Bus, train and bus station is a minute away. Staff were really helpful, breakfast plentiful, the room clean, comfortable and spacious.

Would definitely stay there again. Look for offer on Ebay, we got a bargin!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - less noise. The Italians seem to love honking their car horns
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Universo is one of the few Roman hotels which has a hundred years old tradition.The hotel is located right in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Central Railway Station and few steps away from the Teatro dell'Opera and the Government buildings such as the Palazzo Baracchini and the Ministries of the Treasury and Agriculture in Via XX Settembre.Next to the Palazzo Massimo Museum, Piazza Venezia, and Via Veneto are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.