We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #391 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location, but small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed at the Universo for a conference in the hotel itself. I was lucky enough to arrive a day early for a bit of pre-conference sightseeing with my partner. Lucky, because the room we'd been assigned was tiny. I'd describe it as the size of a small single room rather than an adequate double. I asked to be moved, and was given one of their better rooms, complete with balcony. This was possible only because we arrived ahead of most attendees. I was happy with my (eventual) room, but some of my colleagues were feeling claustrophobic after a few nights in their tiny rooms. On the positive side of things, the hotel is just around the corner from Roma Termini. Great location for accessing all areas of Rome. The guest rooms were very clean. The conference rooms were in the basement, so a bit depressing after a day or so. Wi-fi in the conference rooms was very hit and miss. Only about half of the delegates seemed to be able to access it at any time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Ellada,
Thank you very much for your comment.
First of all we wish to apologize for the tiny room you have been given upon arrival, problem which fortunately was promptly solved assigning you a nice one with balcony by our reception staff who is always ready to accomplish our customers desires.
As a matter of fact we wish to say that we are more than confident that, if any of the other delegates had expressed their discomfort, they would have taken an immediate action in order to ease the malcontent.
We hope there'll be another chance to serve you in a next future, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest Regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    429
    148
    58
    41
See reviews for
156
323
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Very convenient for sightseeing- a fairly easy walk to all the main sights. The room was good, just a little odd to have a room with a mezzanine as you have to walk downstairs to go to the bathroom in the night. Breakfast was okay but nothing too special. Reception staff were not friendly, but we had no troubles and they helped us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear clairess_11,
We were very pleased to acknowledge that your stay with us was comfortable. We thank you for having spent some of your time to write a comment so to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor Community .
While reading we felt a little perplexed by your allegation regarding our reception staff not being friendly but who helped with whatever you needed during your permanence at our hotel.
Thanking you once more for having chosen our property for your roman vacation, we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group / Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicagoland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel last week. Overall, the hotel was OK, but we had a few problems.

First, the front desk refused to give us 2 key cards to our room. They said it was a security issue. This caused us some problems in coordinating our coming and going separately. Understand that the key card must be inserted into a slot inside the room to activate the electricity and air conditioner. If my wife wanted to take a nap (with the air on), she needed to keep the card in the room. This precluded me from going out and returning without waking her to let me in.

The second problem was with the configuration of the first room they placed us in. It was a 2 level set-up with the bed and TV on the upper level and the bathroom on the lower lever. Being among the "older" crowd, we need to use the bathroom during the night. This means walking down the somewhat narrow stairs while partially asleep. 2 other couples in our group also were given these "superior" rooms and had the same complaints. One of them also said that the lower level had no furniture. We were able to change to a more standard room the second night.

I must say though, that the rooms were very clean and the hotel overall was very spiffy. The free breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a single level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear bhxteacher,
Thanks for your kind review.
We are very sorry to read you had problems with the room key card and we herewith wish to confirm that a second one cannot be given for security issues.
We also regret you did not appreciate the Junior Suite which was assigned to you and to other members of the same group upon arrival at the Hotel.
We certainly thought to please you by lodging you in a Superior room which is more spacious and more elegantly furnished.
As a matter of fact our Junior Suite has a cost of over 50%, comparing to a standard one.
We were glad to read that the second night you were accommodated in a room more suitable to your needs and that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best Regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very close to station, and a good location for bus & train travel to all destinations. Old style hotel, with old fashioned lobby and common areas. Rooms have been updated recently, to a high standard, but are very small. Hardly room to move between chairs and bed. Bathroom well apointed, but also very small. Breakfast room was very crowded, and not conducive to a relaxing breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Mac097,
we wish to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday in Rome. We are sorry and apologize for the accomodation you have been provided with which did not meet your lodging expectations. However please allow us to underline that our reception staff has been trained to please and accomplish to all our guests' requests hence we are sure that, if you had promptly, report it to them they would have been more than pleased to content you by allocating you in another room.
We also realize the discomfort you have suffered due to the crowded breakfast room in the morning but we are certain you understand that, during high season when the hotel is full, is quite normal to find many people having their morning breakfast at the same time. We trust you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Travelled here with my girlfriend for a short break in Rome. While the room was quite small (as expected in a European city) it was nicely decorated with a beautiful bathroom. The balcony overlooking the side street was a nice addition. Buffet breakfast was nice as was the morning coffee. Staff were also very friendly and efficient. Also just to add it is very close to the main bus / tram terminal as well as the metro line.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Brendanwex,
it's been our pleasure to have you at our hotel and we thank you for your nice comment about us.
Come back soon to Rome.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel had a good location near to the termini station ( 5 minutes walking). Clean Rooms. Bad Bathtub (water comes out during the shower). Bad Breakfast (coffe machine makes terrible products and doesnt even fill the whole cup. Hardboiled Eggs are extremely Cold. Scrambled Eggs very Terrible.

The staff were not helpful on any shift (especially the reception staff) when i asked for an adapter to charge my laptop and mobile the didnt have and didnt even bother to look for a one.

There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room even though i asked for one and i was willing to pay the extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear MohamedElba,
First of all we wish to thank you for having dedicated some of your time to write and report what about our hotel you have disliked.
We deeply apologize for the discomfort suffered during your stay and we want to assure you that your comment will surely be helpful to improve our services quality in the future.
In particular for what concerns the room we are glad to inform you that the problem has been fixed.
Referring to your remark about our Breakfast, we would like to say that it’s our target to offer the best quality to our guests and that we constantly check the freshness of the products we serve. However please accept our excuses once more if we did not meet your expectations also in that sense.
Regarding tea and coffee making facilities in the room, we would like to underline that it is an extra service on request but totally free of charge. We will investigate on why it was not provided to you.
The highest customer satisfaction in terms of reliability and efficiency in services is one of our main goals, so we hope that it will be possible to re-establish your confidence in our hotel. We have taken good note of all your comments and also hope there will be the chance to accommodate you again to offer you with a superior experience and to demonstrate the quality of our facilities and the professionalism of our staff.
Remaining at your complete disposal,
Please accept our best regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were unfortunate enough to be booked into this Hotel for 5 nights (5 nights too long!!!)
by our 'trusted' travel agent, in June this year. On arrival at 1.30pm we were told by the most gruff, impolite, unhelpful and unhappy front desk staff that our room was not yet ready. No problem; we checked our bags in and headed off to lunch. An hour and a half later we returned to the hotel to be told that our room was still not ready, could we wait another45 minutes. We went for a wander and returned in an hour, only to be told that we would have to wait another 45 minutes. On enquiring as to what the hold up for checking in was, I was met with a curt, sarcastic and unnecessarily rude reply- not a good start! The next morning ,the restaurant staff was extremely unorganized and the buffet was not replenished anywhere near often enough. We had to pay for our breakfast in our package, but 3 mornings we had to leave the Hotel and go elsewhere for breakfast as we could not find seating at the hotel restaurant. Thank goodness Rome has a lot to offer as far as sightseeing goes. It enabled us to not have to spend too much time at this hotel. We travelled through Malta, Spain, Sicily, and Italy for many months and the only hotel that we stayed at that we ALL disliked was The Universo. The staff at this hotel seem miserable. They are neither welcoming nor accomodating. We often sat in the foyer and watched other guests complain to the front desk about one thing or another. It was embarassing to watch how unprofessional the front desk was in dealing with these guests. The ONLY thing that this hotel has going for it is it's close proximity to the Metro; but it's not nearly close enough to inspire me to stay here again. On my return home, I visited my travel agent and strongly recommended that she not suggest this hotel to future travellers!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione_Universo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear ozeabroad,
first of all please give us the chance to apologize for the discomfort you have suffered at our hotel. We are either sorry and surprised about what you have written since, as you can easily check here on TripAdvisor, our guests are usually very content of our staff and services.
However this does not want to be an excuse for an eventual misbehaviour of our reception employers of which we deeply apologize.
We hope you shall give us the chance to serve you, in the meantime we remain
Yours Faithfully.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#214 Business Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Universo is one of the few Roman hotels which has a hundred years old tradition.The hotel is located right in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Central Railway Station and few steps away from the Teatro dell'Opera and the Government buildings such as the Palazzo Baracchini and the Ministries of the Treasury and Agriculture in Via XX Settembre.Next to the Palazzo Massimo Museum, Piazza Venezia, and Via Veneto are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.