We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cesari

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Cesari to your Saves list
Albergo Cesari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #74 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is terrific.It is located within walking distance to most of the major attractions with plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. We stayed in one of the classic rooms which was quite big with a huge modern bathroom. The rooftop terrace was a bonus serving a lovely breakfast and then drinks in the evening. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    303
    63
    16
    2
See reviews for
167
333
60
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great stay at the Albergo Cesari. The front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. We loved the breakfast on the roof. It was also nice to unwind in the evening with a drink on the garden rooftop. Very clean , well appointed bathroom. You couldn't ask for a better location. It is close to the forum, Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and other sights.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Comfortable and convenient, the Albergo Cesari provides the perfect starting point for exploring central Rome. Located one block south of the Column of Marcus Aurelius just half a block off Via del Corso, there aren’t many highlights in central Rome that are not easily accessible by foot. Check a map to pinpoint the location of the hotel and you will quickly find that the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and Fontana di Trevi are literally just a few minutes away. The Coliseum, Foro Romano, Spanish Steps, Isola Tiberina, and Piazza san Pietro (Vatican) are more distant but still well within walking distance. As with most central Rome locations there are a bunch of cafes and restaurants within a couple of blocks so one won’t have a problem finding a place to eat.

If arriving in the area by rail or air ultimately the best way to get to the hotel is by cab or private car (it’s not located near any metro stop). We chose to hire a car from a service I’ve used several times (inlimorome.com) to pick us up at the airport and drive us directly to the hotel – all things told this was the best combination of speed and cost, and had the added advantage of not having to navigate Roma Termini train station.

Even though we arrived quite early in the day we were allowed to check in to our small, but very clean and comfortable room. The lobby is small as is common with most of these hotel types, which wasn’t a problem for us but could make for close quarters during the check-out rush in peak season. A small lounge off the main lobby equipped with couches provides extra space if required. The beds were small by North American standards but were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern, but as I’ve come to become accustomed to in Europe the hotel did not supply face-cloths. One other thing worth mentioning is that prices for this property seemed to vary by several hundred euros. I completely understand that the season and demand drive up prices but I’m not sure I’d pay several hundred euros for a room here given the plethora of other options available in central Rome – if I’m going to pay that kind of money I’ll find a place on Via V. Veneto instead.

Along with the excellent location the other highlight of this hotel was the roof-top bar, which also serves as a spectacular venue for morning breakfast. Whether enjoying an evening beverage or a leisurely breakfast, spending a couple of hours on the rooftop is required. The hot breakfast was quite good, featuring scrambled eggs, bacon, and the expected spread of fruits, baked goods, cereals, and juices.

To summarize, the Albergo Cesari is a great location for exploring central Rome and offers the best venue for breakfast that I’ve seen in Rome (although I’ve only stayed in four different hotels here). Get a competitive room rate and you’ll have no regrets about staying here at all. If you have any questions or concerns at all, do not hesitate to consult the excellent staff.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

There is a lot to like about this hotel, although to be fair there are a few negatives.

To recap:
1. An excellent location - right on the main pedestrian path between the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. This does mean that some taxi drivers will drop you off on Via Del Corso, rather than make the effort to go to Piazza di Pietra, adjacent to the hotel.
2. Super friendly front desk staff, with a can-do, want to help attitude.
3. Excellent breakfast buffet with plenty of selection and indoor / outdoor seating on the rooftop. The bread was excellent!!!
4. For approximately 200 euros per night in the location, the hotel is a bargain. The price includes breakfast and free wi-fi.
5. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Forum and the Colosseum. St. Peter's would be a bit of a walk, but on a nice day, in no rush, is doable.
6. There are plenty of dining options nearby, including for those hopelessly in need of American food, a McDonald's. We patronized a small pizzeria near the hotel and were quite pleased.
7, With the windows and blackout shutters closed, the room stayed dark after sunrise and was quite quiet as well.
8. On the downside, to get to our room (25 from the lift, we had to go up five steps - with luggage of course.
9. Our room could have used a paint job, and the wooden floor looked a bit worn. The bathroom was small with a tiny shower stall.

On the whole, the lodging quality is adequate, but the location / price combination with the good breakfast warrant a five rating. On the room quality alone, I'd rate this establishment about a three.

Room Tip: If you are going to be bringing lots of luggage, contact the hotel in advance and see if you can boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is centrally located between the Trevi fountain and the Pantheon/Piazza Navone. You can walk to most attractions in old Rome. The room we stayed in was larger than we expected and very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel also features a rooftop terrace whicheck is nicer than most. Great value

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fabulous stay at the Albergo Cesari, as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip to Paris, Rome and Tuscany. From the time we booked, the hotel was extremely responsive, answering one or two quick eMail questions I had in almost real time.

On arrival, the gentleman on reception - who was a delight throughout - provided us with a great description of the locations we should visit by foot. Through the stay we were treated very well - but it's hard to be critical of a hotel that remembers, from a brief mention months earlier, that this was our silver anniversary and has bubbly delivered to our room. A lovely surprise.

The location was perfect for our adventures in Rome and the breakfasts on the roof top terrace set us up well for the day. We had a couple of friends staying in a separate hotel and they joined us for the first breakfast (they were charged 5 euro's each, which seemed pretty amazing to me!).

Anyway, we couldn't have been more pleased with the Albergo Cesari and hope one day to visit again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street and had no problem at all with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtälje, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This small charming hotel is perfectly located in old town with lots of restaurants just around the corner. We were 10 persons staying in 4 rooms for 4 nights and we really enjoyed this hotel.
Tomasso in the reception can give you lots of useful tips where to eat and how to get around.
My old mother that has some problems walking,enjoyed it being so close to all the attractions,only a few minutes walk in many cases.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Rome
#62 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 47 rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking floors. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cesari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.