We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cesari

Save Saved
You added Albergo Cesari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Cesari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #76 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Albergo Cesari. We were very peased with the experience. The reception staff is to be commended. Each of the ones that we dealt with over the 4 days was friendly, courteous, and very helpful when we did ask their assistance.

The hotel is very centrally located and a good value for that area. It is a 3 star hotel and the rooms are a bit dated; but they were clean, the beds comfortable, and the A/C worked great.

The hotel's "claim to fame" is its roof top terrace where you can enjoy a cool beverage in the evening and the excellent breakfast every morning. Coupled with the location, the roof top experience makes it very easy to give this hotel a top rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Travelpair70,
Thanks for your kind review: we are very happy you loved your stay with us.
Our professional Staff is highly courted from our competitors, as all the English speaking Secretary are friendly, helpful and courteous in the meantime. Get in touch with them for any kind of problem and information.
The Albergo Cesàri is in a little pedestrian street just near Piazza Colonna, a beautiful square at the centre of the Rione of Colonna – in the historic heart of Rome. It is named for the marble Column of Marcus Aurelius which had stood there since 193century.
The hotel is hosted in an historical building and has 48 rooms - standard or classic - all with private bathroom with bathtube or shower, courtesy kit and hairdryer. Comfortable bed, soundproof windows, air conditioning, safebox and minibar. Different renovations have been made during many years and probably you appreciated that we are going to start again with a new renovation in few months. Every day our chambermaids clean/tidy the rooms.
The 5th floor roof-top "la Terrazza del Cesàri" is a perfect solution to start the day with a delicious and rich buffet breakfast with an amazing view on the roof of this area. As well at night a nice drink or aperitivo looking the lights of Piazza di Pietra square make a pleasant atmosphere.
Thanking again for your review, we suggest to book your next stay with us directly on our official webpage.
Cordially,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    296
    62
    16
    2
See reviews for
162
320
59
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It is so pleasant to stay here. Never disappoints. The staff is so thoughtful and kind and always at your disposal with a friendly smile. Their memories of each guest is remarkable.
The breakfast is the best in Rome.
Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Isabella G,
We are very happy you loved your stay at the Albergo Cesàri!
All our Staff is pleased to give assistance to our Guests, expecially our English speaking one at the Front Desk: get in touch directly with them for any issues, as booking restaurants or museums, buy ticket bus or RomaPass. Not less helpful are our waiters and housekeepers, at your disposal for any inconvenience.
Yes, you are right… they are friendly, smiling and have a good memory!
We are very proud of the Terrazza del Cesàri, our roof top, where our Guests have a rich and fresh buffet breakfast in the morning and a delicious cocktail in the evening. Just for a good start of a new day and for relaxing after a great day in the Caput Mundi.
Thanking for your kind review, we wait for your next stay with us: book directly at our official webpage for a special offer.
Cordially,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here on our last night in Italy. The hotel is very centrally located. Not far from Pantheon to the left and Trevi Fountain (under renovation/ not operating) to the right. Old but comfortable rooms. Helpful desk staff. Good roof top bar. Really good breakfast on the roof top terrace.
Fruit basket in room a nice touch but we didn't have time to eat it.
Good main shopping street to the right of hotel. Private driver can take you to the airport for 50 euro probably what a taxi would cost you.
Beware of taxis from train station to hotel who overcharge. Fare should only be about 15-20 euro. We were overcharged.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear flowermouse_12,
We wish to thank you for your kind review on our behalf, where highlights our location that is perfect for people with “short stay”, as yours.
As you wrote, the 3 stars Albergo Cesàri is located just in the heart of the historical Centre of Rome, 5 minutes walking from the Pantheon (with Raffaelo Sanzio’s grave) and in the opposite site the Trevi fountain. 10 minutes walking you reach the Spanish Steps and – opposite site – Piazza Navona.
The hotel is hosted in an historical building and has 48 rooms - standard or classic - all with private bathroom with bathtube or shower, courtesy kit and hairdryer. Different renovations have been made during many years and probably you appreciated that we are going to start again with a new renovation in few months.
Our professional English speaking front desk Staff is very helpful and is pleased to give assistance to our Guests.
The rooftop of the hotel is really a little oasis of calm, where have the delicious buffet breakfast in the morning and sip a glass of Italian wine in the evening.
Also, we are pleased you appreciated the fruit basket in room, complimentary in our special offer in the official website.
Next to us Via del Corso, a “good shopping street”, that was Via Flaminia. The Via Flaminia starts at Porta del Popolo in the Aurelian Walls of Rome: Via del Corso (Via Lata), which connects the Campidoglio to the gate, can be considered the urban stretch of the Via Flaminia.
At last, we agree with you: pay attention to the overcharge that taxis can apply.
Thanking again for your review, we wait for your next stay with us: book directly at our official webpage for a special offer.
Cordially,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, considering it had 4 single beds. There was still plenty of room for our suitcases and walking around. The bathroom was large and the shower was decent. We didn't have much of a view from our windows and with them open, it was quite noisy outside. However, as soon as you closed them you had complete silence! The beds were very firm (which I love) and very comfortable to sleep on. The pillows were fluffy and comfortable as well.

The roof-top bar served an excellent breakfast and had an amazing view. The location couldn't be better. As you go out the front door, turn left and go down 3 blocks and you are at the Pantheon - about a 2 minute walk. If you continue on a few more blocks you are at Piazza Novella. If you turn right out of the hotel and go down several blocks you are at the Trevi Fountains - about a 5 minute walk. Keep going another 5 minutes and you are at the Metro station. Everything is so easily accessible from this hotel.

If we ever return to Rome, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear mammaricco,
We thank you very much for your kind review about our 3 stars hotel, that is a good choice for a family of four, as yours.
Therefore, the Albergo Cesàri has 2 Family room, that accommodate 4 people in 4 separate beds or in 1 double bed + 2 separate beds, as you like. All our rooms have private bathroom with shower and/or bathtub. Not less important, our rooms have tea/coffe making facilities replenished every day free of charge, one bottle of mineral water in room on arrival free of charge, a minibar, a safe box and air conditioning. Soundproof windows to avoid noise from the outside and very comfortable bed. Cleanliness is one of our gap, within good service and courtesy, and we are pleased that all our Staff give you good services.
On the 5th floor of our hotel there is our sunny rooftop, where savour a rich, fresh and delicious buffet breakfast every morning from 7.00am to 10.30am and sip a glass of wine or a cocktail in the evening, just for a good end of the day.
The Albergo Cesàri is in a very popular area, the historical centre of Rome, just near to the most important sites, like the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, the Navona square (not Piazza Novella), the Spanish Steps, Via Veneto and the Church of Saint Ignazio.
Next to us, just in Via del Corso, a bus stop and in 10minutes you reach the Metro station. You are right: “everything is so easily accessible from this hotel”.
Hoping to welcome you very soon, we remember to book also your next stay with us directly on our official website.
Cordially,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wonderful hotel the staff were very helpful nothing was to much trouble. The hotel's location is ideal and within walking distance for all the major trourist sites. There are numerous restaurants located nearby. The breakfast terrace is magical even with the guest sea gull. I would not hesitate to book again. The rooms are small but we did have a budget room but who stays in the room on holiday--not us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear 939Sharon,
Thanks a lot for your kind review! In few lines you headline our strong points: our friendly and professional Staff, ready at any time to assiste at the best all our Clients; our location, between the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon; and our beautiful rooftop garden, wonderful in the morning for the breakfast and magic in the evening to enjoy our excellent cocktails.
For your next stay with us don’t forget to visit our official website where you can find all our interesting offers either for standard rooms or the classic ones.
Kindest regards,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Albergo Cesari was a great place to stay for 4 nights. Location is everything. It is a great place to have short walks to everything in Rome. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast was nice with good views from the rooftop. The rooms were very clean.

We stayed in one of their less expensive rooms and we knew that going in. I had no problem with the room, but it had clearly aged. Rust spots on radiator and grout that needs to be redone in the shower. None of this is a problem for the price we paid. I just note it because many will have issues with this. Try their nicer rooms if this is a problem.

I got exactly what I thought I was getting and that is what pleases me. Nothing fancy, but very clean, good service in a great location at a great price.

Bottom line, if in Rome, this is the first place I'll try to book.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear thewonder,
We wish to thank for your kind review.
As you wrote the location is one of our most important value, just in the historical Roman centre, a few steps from the beautiful places such as the Pantheon (inside the tomb of Raffaello Sanzio), the Trevi fountain, Piazza Navona and Spanish Steps.
A particular credit of our success is due to our professional Staff, well selected for talents, sensitivity and knowledge. All of them are, as you wrote, friendly and attentive for all Guests needs, starting from the early morning during the buffet breakfast until the evening at the terrace where have a special cocktail.
The Hotel has two types of room, the standard less expensive and the classic ones with higher-level; but all very clean and equipped with every comfort. We know that some rooms need of renovation but this is impossible during the top season and we have already planned works for the winter. However, it’s important that your room answered your expectations and that you will come back!
We will be more than pleased to welcome for your next stay with us: book directly on our official website to have a good offer! Try the classic rooms!
Cordially,
Conzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudenaarde, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

lovely place to stay in the hart of Rome! splendid terrazza and great apperitivo!
We really enjoyed the services of the hotel and would like to recommend to stay here whenever one visits Rome! surely the Best place to explore Rome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Estrellit,
Thank you for the time you have spent writing this wonderful review, sharing your experience with all other travelers.
We are really happy you enjoyed the stay at our Hotel and all our services. Thank you also on behalf of our Staff, very professional and helpful.
Hoping to welcome you again in the next future, we suggest to visit our official website and its special offers.
With kind regards,
Cinzia Farias
Hotel Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#64 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 47 rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking floors. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cesari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;