We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cesari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Cesari to your Saves list
Albergo Cesari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #73 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Amazing hotel experience. I would definitely come back and stay here again. Great service, great location, great people, and free breakfast every morning. A must stay. Perfect hotel for a Roman vacation

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear RLM93,
We wish to thank for your kind review and as the sense of your wonderful journey in Rome is well described in three lines.
You made a nice portrait of human emotions & feelings.
We wish to welcome you once again as Dear Customer, howevern, ext time we suggest you to reach the roof-top "la Terrazza del Cesàri" not only for our "included Breakfast" but to join the atmosphere at night with a good prosecco, a cocktail, or an "aperitivo".
Use our secureofficial website to make your next reservation ... and maybe you'll be lucky getting a promotional tariff "together with" one Free Welcome Drink.
With kindest regards.
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    362
    71
    17
    2
See reviews for
209
404
71
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

You can’t beat the Albero Cersari for location in Rome. It’s located on the walking street between Trevi fountain and the Pantheon. Breakfast is served on their rooftop patio which is very picturesque. Also after a busy day of touring that roof top patio is great for a quiet glass of prosecco and snacks. The staff were fantastic with lots of helpful tips on getting to sites, how to beat the line ups, calling taxi’s etc. Rooms were basic and clean and our room faced the street. Street noise was not an issue because one the windows when closed they cancelled 95% of the street noise. Only flaw or suggestion is that our bathroom was in need of an update. Regardless, I would stay here based on the great location and price and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear jakesback,
Our efforts are all made to have such nice review, many thansk for this, and we always hope to meet all our Customers' expectations.
As you have realized the position of the Albergo Cesàri is in the heart of the historical City, all monuments are very close and reachable just by walking. As well the Reception staff with their advises can provide solutions also for those travelers who wish to use the Roman public transportation in order to discover something further.
Visiting sites are not only "all around us"; Rome is a wide extended City but well covered by buses, trams, cabs, etc. the Reception Staff is always available to provide information about how to use it in the best way.
Is also wonderful how you describe the atmosphere of our roof-top "la Terrazza del Cesàri"; breakfast is served morning time as well at night our professional Barman will prepare his gorgeous drinks and aperitivi.
At the end we just remind that our Albergo Cesàri is an historical building and different renovations have been made during many years trying to have "good rooms".
However all our Customers' suggestions and advises about rooms, spaces, comfort, etc. are very important for us. We hope to continue "growing up" in the right way.
Wishing to meet you once again in Albergo Cesàri in a future chance, please remind to visit our official website where you can choose different kind of rooms: Cesàri room, Standard room, Classic room and keep one of our special offer.
With kindest regards,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Albergo Cesari in October and loved everything about it. You really cannot find a place with a better location and the hotel itself is wonderful in every way. The rooftop area is great for breakfast and drinks in the evening, the rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the value for all that you get is excellent.
I would say though that what I appreciated most about this hotel was the service. From first contact with their front desk prior to our trip all the way through to the end of our stay, the guys at the reception desk were all top notch. For our first trip to Italy, they answered all of our questions and had great advice whenever requested. They made our stay even more enjoyable and were a pleasure to deal with.
Next time in Rome, we will definitely be back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear wmike_31,
We wish to thank for your appreciated review. We are glad to know that your journey in Rome was you have expected. This is our must.
The fifth floor roof-top "la Terrazza del Cesàri" is a perfect solution to start the day with a delightful breakfast with an amazing view on the roof of this area. As well at night a nice drink or aperitivo looking the lights of Piazza di Pietra square make a pleasant atmosphere.
Glad that you have appreciated the comfort of our rooms in this Historical building built in 1787, always checked from the housekeeping manager together with her professional Staff.
You also took the chance to have good advises and suggestions from our Reception Staff also if sometimes they are very very busy. But they always try their best.
We wish to meet you in future times for a new experience and we remind to use our secure official website where you can find also all our promotional fares.
We do hope to welcome you again at the Cesàri for a new fantastic experience.
Cordially,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Albergo Cesari is close to everything. Albergo has Trevi Fountain nearby, Pantheon and if one turns left into Via Del Corso one arrives at Colesseum, Spanish Steps and many other monuments. Outside the hotel there are eateries at which to have dinner or lunch. Just up near the Trevi Fountain there are liquor shops and grocers selling beautiful cheeses, prosciutto and other gorgeous items to eat. Along Del Corso are boutiques selling budget priced clothing up to designer labels if fashion is your interest. The reception staff were always most helpful and friendly trying their utmost to make one welcome. The breakfast is served on the rooftop looking out on the terracotta roofs and steeples of churches. How charming! One could have a drink from 4pm on the rooftop till late in the evening which was revitalising after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast catered for all food preferences and the fresh ricotta was delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Thank you to Tommas, Jack, Jan, Bernardo and the staff of Albergo Cesari for making our stay memorable. Russlyn Garotti

Room Tip: Remember to close all shutters upon going to bed in evenings as on weekdays the public buses commenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Russlyn Garotti,
We are glad to read your review through which you share your positive feelings.
Glad that you have appreciated the taste of history just outside our door; ancient monuments representative of an old great empire are within short walking distances and our Reception staff always try to give our Customers “the key of the City”: useful discovering suggestions.
As well roman tradition can be found in a dish served from the typical restaurants, taverna, osteria and pizzerias of this area and you have also found the small grocery stores … to bring back home a small taste of Italian food.
Boutiques and all-brand shops on Via del Corso give to chance to choose from a low-budget to a fashion brands shopping; as well plenty handicraft antiques shops are within the tiny small alleys.
Together with the warm welcome of our Receptionists we appreciate you have enjoyed also the courtesy of the staff while having your breakfast at our roof-top, as well the atmosphere at night …with a nice drink; the view on the roofs is amazing to start or finish the day.
Wishing to meet you once again in Albergo Cesàri, we suggest you to visit our official website where you can find many and many opportunities for your next stay with us.
Cordially,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

On several occasions I have tried to stay at the Albergo Cesari and could not get reservations.
This time, returning from a cruise and staying in Rome independently for 4 nights, I was able to stay there. This was my husband's first trip to Europe and this lovely boutique hotel made it a special experience. We stayed here the first week of Nov 2013
Cesari is a charming 48 room hotel, typically European in terms of size of rooms. It has a proud history having being licensed since 1787 and is handed down through generations. You can actually feel the pride they have in this.
It has a lovely roof top lounge and restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast each morning - in beautiful sunshine 18 degrees weather.
Breakfast is buffet style, with a quality variety of cheeses, smoked and cured meat cuts, variety of breads and pastries, variety of fruits, variety of juices and coffee. At least 4 people were working and serving during breakfast - and it seemed like a 2:1 ratio .. Staff, curteous, responsive, and prompt.
The roof top also acts a lounge in the late afternoon and evening for cozy drinks...but we never had the chance to do that - with all the touring we did.
Location is amazing - whichever way your turn out of the hotel, you end up in an attraction area, Trevi Fountain, or the Pantheon.. aside from the fact it is placed in the center of one.

My initial communication with the hotel was with Jan. Not only did he respond to my inquiries about availability and price etc but also helped in arranging transportation from the port to the hotel and later to the airport. The front desk staff is attentive, helpful with direction, advice, suggestions and simple welcoming comments making you feel at home.

The rooms are in general similiar to European style chambers, although we were particularly fortunate to have a larger size room (my husband is now spoilt !) Important to note - clean rooms, clean bathroom (small shower stall- but standard for Europe), great mattress.

We had an excellent stay here, and although I have been to Rome 4 times before.. this trip had a special feel to it. Albergo Cesari is my new home in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Steps from the Trevi Fountain and the Parthenon this hotel has a very good location.

They have a great rooftop breakfast, and at night it is lovely the end the evening with a drink there. The rooms were fine, as were the staff. If you are going to Rome you should consider the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you enjoy at our hotel and you appreciated our location in the historical centre of Rome, 5 minutes walking from the Pantheon, with its Royal graves, and Trevi fountain. But the hotel is also near to all the most important fashion streets like Via Condotti, Via Frattina and Via Veneto – the “dolce vita” way-.
Ends a good and rich day at the roof top of the Albergo Cesàri, drinking a cocktail, it is a privilege. The same privilege you have every morning, during your delicious breakfast always at the rooftop.
Book your rooms directly to our official webpage and our English speaking Staff will be very pleased to help you.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel.
Cordially,
Mrs Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Rome within walking distance to several historic landmarks. Trevi Fountain is close by, so too the Pantheon, walking to the metro is a lot further but not out of the way, and there's some excellent restaurants around too. The facilities were satisfactory and as you're out travelling, you just need a clean room with a roof over your head and a nice hot shower. The concierge were excellent and a very helpful. One guy, Tommas, in particular was very helpful from the moment I booked in presenting me with a large map and drawing out various walking routes to different places. Rome is very walkable and I took up his suggestions and discovered plenty. The other concierge guy also suggested an excellent place for pizza and a bakery where I could get cannoli. The wifi was pretty strong, even from my room on the 5th floor. I also stopped by for breakfast on the terrace where there was a lovely spread and I particularly enjoyed the cold meats and cheese selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Shaun,
We have much appreciated your details as a result of a special experience. Thanks a lot for your kind review.
The central location within a very wide pedestrian area is a chance to make own walking exploring visits.
When our Receptionists can take their time by providing details about historical monuments all around us, is because they wish to be as a “shepherd” for our visitors (… but if they can, because sometimes our small lobby can be very very busy…).
The pleasure of discovering is also into the traditional food you have tasted while choosing a pizzeria, a Taverna, an Osteria, a bakery as well a superb gelato or fantastic cannoli ! And hopefully you have been able to avoid fake food-experiences just taking useful suggestions from our Reception Staff.
We always wish to meet our Customer’s needs: amenities in all rooms, free wi-fi, the atmosphere on our roof-top “la Terrazza del Cesàri” at breakfast and for a drink at night, can be a result of a pleasant Stay in Albergo Cesàri and for this reason we hope to meet you once again with us. For your next stay at The Cesàri, don't forget to visit our official website where you can find many opportunities and our special offers.
Cordially,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 48rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking hotel. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cesari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.