We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cesari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Cesari to your Saves list
Albergo Cesari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #73 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Large, quiet comfortable room (we were in room 24). Pleasant, helpful staff. Great breakfast on rooftop terrace overlooking lovely Rome sights. Really well located for tourist attractions in the city. Tea & coffee making facilities in room as well as a mini-frig. Really nice hotel, especially for Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Albergo Cesàri for your visit to Rome.
We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Cordially.


C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    369
    71
    17
    3
See reviews for
212
411
74
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeBary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at Albergo Cesari. This hotel has the right combination of history and modern comforts. Our room was large and looked out over Piazza di Pietra and the Temple of Hadrian. The desk clerks were particularly helpful and friendly. We easily walked to many major sites from our hotel: the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain are very close; also the Colisseum, Spanish steps, Jewish Ghetto, Travestere, Piazza Navone, Campo de Fiore and even the Vatican. You experience so much more when you walk! Breakfast was bountiful and eating it on their rooftop terrace an experience in itself. If I"m lucky enough to visit Rome again, this is where I"ll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Reading your review has filled us with joy and has rewarded the work of those who, day after day, is fully committed for the total satisfaction of our Guests.
Me and the Staff, which contributes to our success, we thank you and invite you to come back.
Cordially,

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
putaruru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, it's location is perfect a two minute walk to the Pantheon and five minutes to the Trevi Fountain. The staff are so helpful and friendly, giving us maps, restaurant recommendations and it was never too much trouble to re-confirm our airport transfers and tour pick ups. The open deck on the top floor where we had complimentary breakfast each day and also pre dinner drinks with complimentary nibbles is absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review that proves to be able to fulfill your desires and expectations. Guests satisfaction is our primary goal!
We do hope to have you back with us soon.

Cordially,


C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hi - we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2013. We were delighted by the large room (Room 47 - a triple room) and the south facing window so that the room got sun during the day. The staff were very professional, helpful and cheerful. For example, when ordering a taxi, they would always check it out before letting you board, as they wanted to make sure you were not being picked up by a rogue driver. We enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop terrace - good variety of food and very pleasant surroundings. Hotel was clean, and with good facilities.

We were lucky to have fine warm weather during our stay, so we walked to Trevi Fountain (about 350 metres easy walk) Pantheon (about 300 metres easy walk) and Colosseum (about 20 mins walk). We had dinner at the street restaurant on the street just a few metres along from the hotel's front door! Food was good value - nice but not too flash and at a good price - and we had good service.

If you are visiting the Colosseum - you can cut down the waiting time by buying your tickets at the entrance to the Roman Forum archeological area a couple of hundred metres away - just south of the Arch of Constantine (tickets are for entry to both and are valid for a day and a half - so you can purchase them the day before too if you wish!). Once you get into the Colosseum itself, save time by getting into the middle queue - the short one - and ask for an audio-guide (self tour)! You will waste less time in the queue as few do this, and then you can cruise around the place at your leisure.

If you are visiting the Vatican - we ordered a taxi at about 8.15am to get there early. Ask to go to the Vatican Museum (and Sistine Chapel) first, as you have to buy tickets there. You can then walk around to St Peter's square, where there is no entry fee - there is only a queue for security. You will waste less time in queues that way!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 47! Looking at the fire escape plan, it is bigger than other rooms around it. Has a dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Albergo Cesàri for your visit to Rome.

We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future again.

Cordially.

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone, it was a lot better than some 4 star hotels we've stayed in and had more charm. It's in a perfect location within easy walking distance of most main attractions, just off the Via del Corso in a quiet-ish area. There's a pedestrian and cafe alley one side and narrow road on the other side and with the double glazing we weren't affected by noise.
Being an old building it doesn't have the standard layout with rooms off long corridors, instead you go up and down stairs into different areas. The rooms are fairly plain but perfectly adequate.
There's free wifi, the buffet breakfast was good on the roof top terrace and everyone on Reception was so friendly and helpful.
It's one hotel we would want to return to if we ever get back to Rome and we've no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank for your nice review certain that, in addition to have had a pleasant stay at our Hotel, the charm, history and atmosphere of the Eternal City helped to fully meet your expectations.
We wait you soon!

Cordially,

C. Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for the last leg of our Italy trip and were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet (we had camere 9) and of a good size. What we really loved was the service and the attendants at the front desk. They were so very nice and friendly and never hesitated to recommend a great place to eat, what to order, and even how to order it if needed. We really loved our time there, and even after we arrived home and I realized I had left my sandals under the bed they didn't hesitate to drop them in the mail for me. Their rooftop bar is beautiful and great for a sunset happy hour or dinner, and the location is yet another great thing about staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Reading your review has filled us with joy and has rewarded the work of those who, day after day, is fully committed for the total satisfaction of our Guests.

Me and the Staff, which contributes to our success, we thank you and invite you to come back.
Cordially,

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better hotel than the Albergo Cesari - fantastic location (2 blocks from the Pantheon and about the same to Piazza Navona) and great staff - especially Tomaso! Our room was furnished with antiques and had a great amount of space and was quiet. One of our group had a room on the first floor (room #1) that was a bit noisy as it was over the front entrance to the hotel, so I don't recommend that one. The roof top patio was a great place to have breakfast (included with the room but get there early - when they run out of a few things like the hard boiled eggs, they don't refill them) and hang out for a drink or two after a day of wondering around Rome. The hotel exceeded my expectations and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Manager at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank for your nice review certain that, in addition to have had a pleasant stay at our Hotel, the charm, history and atmosphere of the Eternal City helped to fully meet your expectations.
We wait you soon!

Cordially,

C. Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#73 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 48rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking hotel. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cesari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.