We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff - excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cesari

Save Saved
You added Albergo Cesari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Albergo Cesari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #77 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Waikanae
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, nice staff - excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hi - we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2013. We were delighted by the large room (Room 47 - a triple room) and the south facing window so that the room got sun during the day. The staff were very professional, helpful and cheerful. For example, when ordering a taxi, they would always check it out before letting you board, as they wanted to make sure you were not being picked up by a rogue driver. We enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop terrace - good variety of food and very pleasant surroundings. Hotel was clean, and with good facilities.

We were lucky to have fine warm weather during our stay, so we walked to Trevi Fountain (about 350 metres easy walk) Pantheon (about 300 metres easy walk) and Colosseum (about 20 mins walk). We had dinner at the street restaurant on the street just a few metres along from the hotel's front door! Food was good value - nice but not too flash and at a good price - and we had good service.

If you are visiting the Colosseum - you can cut down the waiting time by buying your tickets at the entrance to the Roman Forum archeological area a couple of hundred metres away - just south of the Arch of Constantine (tickets are for entry to both and are valid for a day and a half - so you can purchase them the day before too if you wish!). Once you get into the Colosseum itself, save time by getting into the middle queue - the short one - and ask for an audio-guide (self tour)! You will waste less time in the queue as few do this, and then you can cruise around the place at your leisure.

If you are visiting the Vatican - we ordered a taxi at about 8.15am to get there early. Ask to go to the Vatican Museum (and Sistine Chapel) first, as you have to buy tickets there. You can then walk around to St Peter's square, where there is no entry fee - there is only a queue for security. You will waste less time in queues that way!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 47! Looking at the fire escape plan, it is bigger than other rooms around it. Has a dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Albergo Cesàri for your visit to Rome.

We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future again.

Cordially.

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    265
    61
    18
    1
See reviews for
131
269
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone, it was a lot better than some 4 star hotels we've stayed in and had more charm. It's in a perfect location within easy walking distance of most main attractions, just off the Via del Corso in a quiet-ish area. There's a pedestrian and cafe alley one side and narrow road on the other side and with the double glazing we weren't affected by noise.
Being an old building it doesn't have the standard layout with rooms off long corridors, instead you go up and down stairs into different areas. The rooms are fairly plain but perfectly adequate.
There's free wifi, the buffet breakfast was good on the roof top terrace and everyone on Reception was so friendly and helpful.
It's one hotel we would want to return to if we ever get back to Rome and we've no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank for your nice review certain that, in addition to have had a pleasant stay at our Hotel, the charm, history and atmosphere of the Eternal City helped to fully meet your expectations.
We wait you soon!

Cordially,

C. Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Albergo Cesari gets the highest marks from my family and me. We had a great stay. We walked everywhere in Rome. The Vatican was a little hike from the hotel, but with all the history to observe and lovely little backstreets, it was a pleasure. Maps do not really show how close everything is to this hotel. More importantly, gelato shops are everywhere.

I could have stayed on the terrace all day sipping coffee and eating pastries. It was very lovely up there. I thought the breakfast was delicious and expansive with lots of fresh fruit. It was a great way to start our day. The Cesari served Tassa D’Oro coffee and always had a pitcher of steamed milk available.

The beds were comfortable. The air conditioning was great. We were able to adjust it to whatever temperature we wanted. We were on the third floor. With the privacy shutters, we heard very little on the street. The room size was in line with those in large cities. The bathroom was in need of work, but this did not bother us. We paid a very reasonable price for the Albergo Cesari, so I can overlook a worn bathroom. We just considered it part of the charm.

The staff at the front desk was helpful and funny. Tommaso recommended Da Francesco. We ended up eating at this restaurant twice. We wanted something that was not fancy. This was a no-nonsense restaurant where we had delicious food.

We used the Cesari's car service from the airport. It was very easy to email the hotel with our flight information.

I would heartily recommend the Albergo Cesari!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for the last leg of our Italy trip and were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet (we had camere 9) and of a good size. What we really loved was the service and the attendants at the front desk. They were so very nice and friendly and never hesitated to recommend a great place to eat, what to order, and even how to order it if needed. We really loved our time there, and even after we arrived home and I realized I had left my sandals under the bed they didn't hesitate to drop them in the mail for me. Their rooftop bar is beautiful and great for a sunset happy hour or dinner, and the location is yet another great thing about staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Reading your review has filled us with joy and has rewarded the work of those who, day after day, is fully committed for the total satisfaction of our Guests.

Me and the Staff, which contributes to our success, we thank you and invite you to come back.
Cordially,

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better hotel than the Albergo Cesari - fantastic location (2 blocks from the Pantheon and about the same to Piazza Navona) and great staff - especially Tomaso! Our room was furnished with antiques and had a great amount of space and was quiet. One of our group had a room on the first floor (room #1) that was a bit noisy as it was over the front entrance to the hotel, so I don't recommend that one. The roof top patio was a great place to have breakfast (included with the room but get there early - when they run out of a few things like the hard boiled eggs, they don't refill them) and hang out for a drink or two after a day of wondering around Rome. The hotel exceeded my expectations and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Manager at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank for your nice review certain that, in addition to have had a pleasant stay at our Hotel, the charm, history and atmosphere of the Eternal City helped to fully meet your expectations.
We wait you soon!

Cordially,

C. Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANVILLE, INDIANA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel pre-cruise, it was an excellent hotel. Located close to shops, restaurants and sightseeing. Off of a little street away from main traffic. Room was very clean. Building was built in 1847 so it is very "European" not a modern Hampton Inn. It has a lovely breakfast buffet which is located on the roof top, a bar there as well. Staff was very attentive and helped with luggage without having to ask. They notify you of your shuttle service and even call them to double check. I would highly recommend this hotel. There is free internet in the lobby with a computer for your use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Manager at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review that proves to be able to fulfill your desires and expectations. Guests satisfaction is our primary goal!
We do hope to have you back with us soon.

Cordially,

C.Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Albergo Cesari, at the recommendation of friends, for a week in late October, 2012. The location is superb, affording easy walking access to sightseeing, shopping and dining. Our 4th floor corner room, overlooking a small piazza, was clean and spacious. The staff provided great information and service. We particularly enjoyed the hospitality and ambiance of the rooftop terrace for breakfast and evening drinks. While not a luxurious property, we found the Albergo Cesari an excellent value for the Euro. We heartily recommend the hotel and will return, again.

Room Tip: Request a 4th floor room with walkup access to the breakfast room/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thanks for your kind review and we are pleased you have had a pleasant stay at the Albergo Cesàri.
Your words repay our continuous effort to improve the service so as all our Guests can enjoy a comfortable stay with us and have an unforgettable travel in the Eternal City.
We hope to have you with us again in the future and thank you once more for your nice review.

Cordially,


C. Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome
Hotel Cesari
Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#144 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 47 rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking floors. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cesari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.