We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best Hotel In Rome and the BEST Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
NYC
1 review
“THE Best Hotel In Rome and the BEST Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Last week, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the St. Regis Grand Hotel Rome.
I am the General Partner of a successful venture capital firm and know luxury.
The purpose of our stay was to attend a friend's 4 day wedding. There were events held at the St. Regis and I must say, the service was outstanding across all fronts.

In particular, Monica Zanghirato, Events Sales Coordinator was amazing! Her eye for detail was spectacular, and each guests desires were attended to.

When staying in Rome on business or pleasure, The St. Regis is THE ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    236
    109
    33
    16
See reviews for
238
610
46
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was our second stop in Italy for our honeymoon. from the train station, it was a quick 10 minute ride, the hotel is known to some cabbies under a different name (but now I forgot what he said), he found it after calling it in but it was no problem, I loved taking the ride. We immediately were impressed with the grandeur of the hotel & the staff. We were upgraded to a suite and greeted with a bottle of champagne, a really nice touch. Upon venturing, we were a little lost, hotel is huge and there were is much space we felt like royalty in a castle. The gym is hard to get to but most of our stay no one realy went there so we had a lot of privacy. Sometime we had to call for water but they came pretty fast.

I did have one problem, on our first day, there was a bald headed young guy at the concierge desk who had an attitude and sent us the wrong way when we asked how to get to the coliseum. We actually walked around Rome for hours only to find the train station a block away and the colisuem about a 20 minute walk. When we walked by the fountain, you can see it from the hotel, yuo make a right and follow the path. We actually saw the movie premiere of "Made of Honor"...lots of stars and that was really cool. they even did a press conference in our hotel!

The next time we spoke with him he had the "same chip" on shoulder and my husband wanted to talk to someone but I passed. Why let him ruin our trip so we knew not to go to him again and asked the doormen questions, they were just as informed and willing to help. Just be ready to tip.

Rome is awesome, its beautiful and bustling, just as we expected. We toured on foot most days and just got lost in the atmosphere, the steps are somehitng not to miss and afterwards go window shopping, you cant miss this. We also stopped at a deli, got lunch and sat on the steps and ate. There are so many people, be prepared but it was fun.

Enjoy, I would go back in a heartbeat, bring money it is not CHEAP.

Next time though I think I woud try the Westin, it was a better location with a park across the street.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed here using Starwood points in Dec-09 and found everything about the hotel luxurious, warm, friendly and ridiculously priced (of course)...especially with the bad US/Euro exchange rate. We had a beautiful room and the hotel seemed nearly empty which probably helped the service. It is in a great location with an easy 5-10 minute walk to subway, restaurants, train station and local sights. I would stay here again in a second, as long as I wasn't paying for it. If you don't buy anything inside the hotel, it works out great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The husband and I stayed here on Starwood points+cash on our Honeymoon last May. As the reviewer below notes, it's a total steal if you can stay here on cash + points. This is a beautiful hotel from which we had absolutely no problem walking to and from all of the touristy sites in Rome. If you're lazy or unable to walk due to injury, I don't think a cab from this hotel would be too pricey.

We knew the minute we walked into the lobby that we were totally out of our league. We were the only guests not in business attire but hey, it was our honeymoon so we weren't bothered. Despite the fact that we were totally underdressed and paying via cash/points, we were still treated just as well as any other guest, which is a standard for Starwood. Their service is unmatched, no doubt.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

I wrote a review of this place that was critical on Aug 5, 2007. I sent my review to the General Manager of the St. Regis, who promptly replied (regrettably, this review should have been written sooner.) But the GM wrote me back and offered me a complimentary stay in the hopes that I would give them another chance. My point is not to highlight the free stay but rather to acknowledge his efforts to rectify a poor situation. He did. We received stellar service upon our return, and while I'm sure we were the couple who had "made the complaint," we were treated with kindness and fairness and enjoyed a pleasant stay over the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We got this hotel for our Rome visit last minute when the cash and points option opened up- it sure was a steal. I think it sucks when people say "not sure if i would have stayed here full price" for one of these starwood reviews.

The location is central enough unless you are a lazy, lazy slob. I guess the obese and elderly might have a tough time but it's equidistant between spanish steps, trevi fountain and the colsseum/palantine/forum area- wife and I walked everywhere.

Concierge hooked us up with a boss Ethiopian restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetwynd, BC Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

My 21 year old daughter and I stayed at the St. Regis Grand from December 30 - January 4. The hotel is very lovely, the room is smaller than it looks on the internet photo's, but nice. We were deciding between the St. Regis and the Westin Excelsior, we ended up choosing the St. Regis because of its closeness to the Termini station (my daughter had to meet someone there) the station is just a couple of blocks away. We walked to the Westin Excelsior on our 4th day in Rome to see what it looked like. The area that the Westin is located in is so much better than the St. Regis location. If I would have known this before we booked I would have chosen the Westin hands down over the St. Regis. The Westin is as grand as the St. Regis, and you have a much nicer location. The street is way less busy and a lot wider and prettier. You have lots of restaurants to choose from near the Westin and none to choose from near the St. Regis. The only real restaurant close to the St. Regis is the one in the hotel and the prices are outrageous. Also just down the street from the Westin is the most beautiful park we have ever been in, there are water fountains and statues galore. The park was the best part of the Westin's location. We got great photo's from there and ate good meals in the selection of nearby restaurants. When you do go to Rome, be sure to use the Hop on Hop off buses, I believe there are 3 or 4 different companies operating them. We paid 19 euros per person for 24 hours of travel. Make sure to sit on the upper part of the bus and take the full loop of the drive from start to finish, taking photo's as you go. Then do the loop again and get off at the stops to see the sights. Using the Hop on Hop off bus was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#56 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.