We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This review is short because I really have no complaints. Rooms are very spacious, comfortable and in the typical Renaissance decor. The staff could not have been more helpful in helping us get to the airport and make dinner reservations for us. The location is great and very close to Termini is you are travelling outside of Rome by train.

I would go back in a heartbeat, not because I loved the decor (a bit old fashioned for me) but because of the unparalleled service the St. Regis provides.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, so that you do not see the servicing area at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your rewarding review shows that our commitment to offer “unparalleled service” is not only acknowledged, but also appreciated by our Guests.
Thank you for your contribution and we look forward to welcoming you back ... in a heartbeat!
Sincerely,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    270
    119
    37
    18
See reviews for
279
696
50
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed as a family of 3 at this great hotel. Good location, close to most attractions. Hop-on bus stops are at walking distance and so is Rome Termini station (main). Concierge desk is very well informed and friendly. The rooms are big size, clean and well kept. The only minus is no free wifi in rooms only in lobby. Nice spa. Overall a very good place with good service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed a very pleasant stay at The St. Regis Rome and that the hotel location, the room and the spa contributed to an exciting as well as a relaxing experience.
On behalf of all the Concierge staff, thank you for your kind comments and…A PRESTO!
Best regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at St Regis properties before this one by far underwhelmed me.

It is our last night of our family vacation to Italy and while we had only incredible experiences at other Westin and St. Regis properties this ended it on a low note and not how we had hoped to finish our vacation. I had actually cancelled our reservation at the Excelsior to stay at the St. Regis. My mistake for sure as we truly enjoyed the Excelsior.

We arrived and had little help from the bellman getting our luggage from the taxi until we were virtually in the door. They did see us. We were to have had the butler support but never saw or heard from him - only a card in the room outlining the service which really made it seem as nothing more than your normal call to room service or guest services. At other St Regis hotels he met us at our room on our arrival and we had personalized notes and greetings. They added greatly to our stay and experience. None of that here. Closest we got was the generic card saying 'Dear Mr.' then my last name hand written in and the rest pre-typed.

Our 'upgraded' room had a view of the hotels main floor air conditioning units and a wall. You can see the photo I added here. A room we were told that was worth waiting for past the normal check in time as it wasn't ready by 3 pm. Even then we still had to wait further while a couch was moved out and a bed we had asked when the reservation was made was moved in. So probably closer to 4:30 by the time we could unwind.

TV was odd and on a remote stand which didn't work and was set lower than the end of the bed. Every time it was turned on it would turn towards the wall. We then physically had to realign it as it wouldn't respond to the remote.

The only good part is it is one night! Definitely not what I would expect from a five star hotel.

Basically our experience was maybe a 3 star - negatives - average customer service and staff, no value to the 'perks' - I.e. Butler service, no view - has to be worst in entire hotel, positive - large room, close to attractions.

As my kids pointed out maybe our expectations were too high after other St Regis hotels and as my oldest put it - it is one night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay at The St. Regis Rome with your family.
We are sincerely sorry that we fell well below our brand service standards and we disappointed your expectations.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that the inconveniences you experienced were an exception to a rule of bespoke service and warm hospitality.
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Everything you would expect of the St Regis - well appointed, clean rooms, impeccable service. Our plane arrived late and the concierge recommended a terrific local restaurant open late. On returning, we asked if they could arrange a tour guide for the Coliseum for us in the morning. it was 10:30 at night, and by the time we reached our room, they had arranged and confirmed a terrific tour guide for 8:30am the next day! Yes, staying there was an expensive indulgence, but they delivered a world class experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review on TripAdvisor is an important reward for all the team of The St. Regis Rome, since it means that we succeeded in delivering an excellent service and took care of you as you deserved during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another “world class experience”!
Best regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous luxury hotel in a nice area of Rome. Beautiful lobby, elegant and opulent rooms, fantastic service and great food. Don't miss the wonderful breakfast with huge selection and wonderful omelette chef. This place feels like you are staying in a palace with beautiful antique decor everywhere. Been here many times and will continue to stay here when in Rome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
This is our mission: making our Guests feel at home whenever they are in Rome and creating a memorable experience in an elegant and timeless atmosphere each time.
We count on your continued support and loyalty and please let us know when you plan a return visit to your elected address in the Eternal City.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is located within an approximately 15 min walking distance to the Spanish Steps. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and feels luxurious. The front desk staff were very welcoming and walked us up to our room. The concierge on the other hand was very unhelpful and could not be any less accommodating in helping us figure out how to get around, where to go and/or even how to set up potential tours which went a long way in souring our experience. Additionally this was the only hotel in our entire stay between Italy and Paris where Wifi was not included and was fairly pricey per day! considering how much it costs per night to stay there it was a disappointment. If service is not on the top of your list, but comfort and location are, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
We equally appreciate your positive comments about the hotel location and the front desk staff, and your constructive criticism as they both represent an important instrument for us to improve. We are sorry if the concierge fell short of your expectations and requirements and please be assured that we will follow up with the entire team. Furthermore, please consider that WIFI is free of charge in all public spaces as well as in the guests' rooms achieving the Starwood Preferred Guest Gold or Platinum Status.
We are eager to welcome you back to show you the result of our commitment to excellence.
Kind regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevaseret Zion, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

If history is your thing and you would enjoy a taste of how St. Regis' 'society' guests holidayed 100 years ago, then this is the hotel for you. We very much enjoyed the 'back in the day' decor in our room and in the public areas coupled with all the benefits of modern technology and plumbing. Take notice of the two clocks in the dining room; I understand these are original and NOT reproductions. And make a point to ride in the original elevator. VERY cool.

SERVICE
The staff is polite, professional and occasionally even friendly. Our welcoming butler, Francesco, a 15 year veteran of the hotel, was extremely friendly and gracious. Shame we only had the pleasure of his company once. Like the St. Regis in Florence (see review), it appeared that the butlers were on a rotation and rarely, if at all, were we serviced by the same person twice. I would have preferred to have been assigned one or two and to have stuck with them. Regardless, they were all polite and professional. Restaurant suggestions by the concierge were all spot on.

What I really like about the St. Regis though, is no matter what the city, they pay attention to requests received in advance. We asked the team in Rome for a high floor with a fountain view and that's exactly what we received. We noted that on two of the four mornings of our stay we would need to leave before the buffet breakfast began and in its place they brought breakfast to our room at the requested 'obscenely early' hour - awesome! It was all in the records when we arrived - no further discussion required. We mentioned that we were celebrating milestones, and the GM made it a point not only to acknowledge these, but to do so with a kind and well written note and, more than once. I wondered if he has a ghost writer. Regardless, each note was signed in pen. Very nice. These touches make the difference between a good and excellent stay. All the respect Mr. Falcone.

Examples: We were welcomed with a bottle of chilled champagne, which Francesco opened for us upon arrival. There was also a lovely bowl of fresh fruit and a welcome letter from the GM. Every night we returned from touring to find a box of cookies or sweets. On the last evening, I was gifted with a book about the history of the hotel and all the famous people who had stayed there. Many thanks once again Mr. Falcone for such a lovely b-day gift and the thoughtful accompanying note.

Other points of note: 1) the location, walking distance from the train station - so close in fact the taxis won't take you. It is also in walking distance from most major tourist sites, the tourist bus and a non tourist area for excellent local dining. 2) The original elevator which is in modern working condition. 3) the dining and sitting room - old school grand 4) the champagne ceremony, where every night between 7 pm and 8 pm a young man opens a bottle with a sword. Alessio did a magnificent job. He was also especially polite, charming and a gentlemen. He's a keeper.

The down side, if there has to be - the furniture in the lobby could be better maintained - one of the chairs was fraying on the side and the walls of the bathroom in our room were laced with dirt and pencil marks. A good scrubbing is in order there. The rest of the bathroom was, however, in good, clean order as was the rest of the hotel. And there is noise if your room faces the pretty fountain. It's a price to be paid, but nothing unusual for a city and it didn't bother me - not even the police sirens blaring as if making an entrance. I figured everyone in the hotel and beyond could hear those.

All in all, a wonderful four night stay, the perfect location for our first visit to Rome and the last stop in our 12 day visit to Italy.

Room Tip: Imperial Non Smoking Room, Smoke-free, high floor, view of fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, a heartfelt THANK YOU for the detailed description you shared on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The St. Regis Rome.
Reading your feedback was as an imaginary travel back in space and time, full of that spirit of the past as well as of that glorious history that we firmly want to preserve and to combine at the same time with the benefits of modernity.
On behalf of Alessio, Francesco and the entire team, we are so glad that you appreciated the personalized service provided as well as the attention to details and to your requests ffered to make you feel pampered.
Furthermore, as you mentioned, the hotel location is what makes The St. Regis Rome an iconic landmark and the Champagne and Sabering Ritual represents a St. Regis legacy and a way to carry on with tradition.
We hope that you will turn back in time with us once again in the next future, to share other timeless moments in the Eternal City!
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#84 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#60 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.