We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My expectation were high and I wasn't disappointed although a bit pricey.

The hotel is located not far from most tourist attractions. You can actually walk to most of these attractions.

Check in was smooth. The room I stayed had a balcony with a view of the square. Amazing!

Rooms were what you'd expect from a five start hotel with an over the top bathroom decor with typical Italian marble finishing.

Stayed only 3 nights but will always remember. Overall I'd give this hotel 5 star. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    216
    101
    29
    15
See reviews for
210
552
40
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 days while on my honeymoon. The location is good and the service was very friendly. My wife really liked the room, very classic and old school. The bathroom was a good size and spacious. The breakfast offered while expensive was very good with a lot of options. The concierge helped us with one restaurant recommendation that was very local and it wound up being amazing. I'm not sure if it was worth the price per say but it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing our property so nicely on TripAdvisor.
We are glad we contributed to create some happy memories of your stay at The St. Regis Rome in occasion of such a special moment of your life.
We hope to welcome you back soon to share other unforgettable experiences in the Eternal City.
Best wishes for a future of happiness and harmony,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stay here each time we are in Rome, and are never disappointed. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and though the location of the hotel is on the far end of some tourist areas, we like it like that. :-) Nonetheless, it is conveniently located just a few blocks away from the Termini (and rental cars), and makes for an enjoyable (and historic, if you pay attention) walk to any of the main sites in Rome. An old world gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,
The title and the content of your feedback are so eloquent and rewarding that the only thing we can say is…GRAZIE MILLE for your loyalty and for your continuedtrust!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in our “old world gem” to exceed your expectations again and again.
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone & all the team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've been here less than thirty mins and already wishing I could leave. No one outside to greet or take the bags. No exchange of currency or payout of cash for the taxi driver. Remote control for tv doesn't work. Air condoning doesn't cool the room. Doesn't sound like big complaints but if I wanted this kind of two star performance if book and pay for a two star hotel. Four hundred euros a night this isn't and I would avoid it for business travel. I'm sure there is a nice marriott around here somewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
We cannot but agree, small details can make all the difference between a memorable or marred experience and we are very sorry for not having met your expectations upon your arrival.
Please feel free to contact our Executive Office and to let us know if the rest of your stay has improved or if there is anything that we can do for you to correct the situation.
We take our Guests' feedback very seriously and we are eager to improve your impression of us.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the St. Regis over my birthday while in Italy for our honeymoon. It is exactly what you think of about a St. Regis. It is a very elegant hotel with a solid staff. The room was very nice but the bathroom was incredibly small in our opinion. It was very difficult for the two of us to be in the bathroom at the same time. I can't say I was overly impressed by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
whilst we are delighted that you found the staff responding to your requirements,we are sorry that you were not happy with the dimension of your accommodation.
Being The St. Regis an historical building, it features a variety of rooms' size and layouts. So we would be pleased to personalize your room's assignment, on your next visit to Rome. Please just feel free to mention your priorities upon reservation and we will do our utmost to select a room accordingly.
Thank you for your support and feedback.
Kind regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just awesome. My family and I stayed in two rooms, which were connecting, for 7 nights. The housekeeping was great, twice a day service. My daughter always wanted to do "afternoon tea" so we gave it a try, not cheap, but the service was perfect, as was the tea. If you are looking for a nearly perfect hotel, this is it, but you will pay for it...It's not the the budget shopper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The St. Regis Rome with your family. We appreciate that you recognized our strong commitment to high level service and that you mentioned our Afternoon Tea ritual, an opportunity to enjoy a unique experience and a bespoke service in a relaxing atmosphere.
We hope your future travelling will include a visit to The St. Regis Rome so that we will have the pleasure to create another “old school elegant” experience for you and for your family.
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the St Regis for our anniversary. The room was stunning and the bathroom gorgeous. We are SPG Platinum so were able to get a Jr. Suite as a suite night upgrade.

We stayed for six nights and had a wonderful evening meal at the resteraunt. The food was great and surprisingly economical. The hotel was running a promotion for food and wine pairing for a reasonable price.

Our only complaint is based on a martini. My husband ordered a Belevedere Martini at the bar and we were shocked at the cost 20 euros for a martini. Needless to say we did not make that mistake again.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was to die for. Fresh food, omelettes, espresso or capuchino everyday before we went out sightseeing. One morning we had a day trip prior to the buffet opening up and the wonderful staff gave us coffee and croissants to go.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
As a most valued Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum member, thank you for your review about your stay at The St. Regis Rome last year with your partner.
We feel gratified for your recognition of our commitment towards a dedicated and personalized service in order to create memorable experiences and contribute to celebrate special occasions like your anniversary.
We hope you will keep wonderful memories of your anniversary until your next stay at The St. Regis Rome.
Best wishes,
Vincenzo Falcone and all the Team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.