We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5 star hotel in Rome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful 5 star hotel in Rome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Generous size junior suite with a private butler. Includes daily tea and buffet style breakfast for two.

This was originally the Grand Hotel so it is quite old and has it's share of electrical problems and elevator issues.

The staff spoke little or no English which is surprising considering all of the U.S, UK and Australian clientele.

Much of the staff are warm hearted but things are done slowly.

Room Tip: Try and get the Junnior Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your impressions on Tripadvisor. All your comments will receive your immediate follow up and we will work on the lacking areas you brought to our attention. We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back and show you the result of our continuous efforts to improve and evolve our level service.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    255
    110
    33
    18
See reviews for
254
656
49
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is absolutely STUNNING from the moment you walk in! The staff are extremely helpful with reservations/ directions/ information about the city/ even locating lost luggage (unfortunately we had a piece lost but they took care of it all with the airline!). Very patient with me giving me a new map every day with directions to "you are here, go here and you will get there"

The breakfast was excellent, room service amazing, the bathrooms LARGE! Full shower and a real hair dryer (important for me)... we even had a full separate bath as well which was great for our one year old daughter even though she may have loved the large shower more :)

Rooms were large, enough for our luggage as well as for a crib and then room to walk around, etc. Also rooms were very quiet.

The ONE thing that I would consider a weakness is the location, near the train station vs a cool historical location... but that is also good since you are away from crowds but you do have to walk to taxi to get places. We mostly walked to where we would go and then taxi back. But there were quaint hotels in the heart of things but I kept thinking they can't possibly have the shower I have at the St. Regis :) For example, it is about 20 minutes of a walk to anything major you would want to see but that is great for working off the pasta/ gelato and it's Rome, you are walking past some really cool buildings!

Room Tip: we upgraded to an imperial suite.... we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for recognizing the uniqueness of the St. Regis Hotel, an hospitality institution in Rome for well travelled Guests that today, as in the past, have been looking for first class service in a discreet atmosphere, away from the crowd of a very busy city.
We hope that you will treasure such positive impressions until your next visit and we are eager to seeing your little daughter again!
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have traveled 9 million miles...50 countries and 47 states in U.S.A...
I have stayed many nice hotels including Peninsula HongKong,Oriental in Bangkok, Savoy in London and Danieli in Venice.This hotel is among the top of my list with them.Really classy hotel.
I have stayed by myself couple of times and also when I toook my mom to Rome.
Very nice location and fabulous suites makes me go back always when I visit Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
GRAZIE!
Your review is really special being such an experienced traveller and we cannot but THANK YOU most sincerely for having taken the time to share your feelings with all the TripAdvisor community.
Until your next visit,
Warmest regards from all the St. Regis team.
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just checking out of this hotel today, and before my departure I wanted to say what a fabulous hotel this is! It is truly luxurious, and yes, while it is expensive, you get what you pay for. Upon arrival, we were quite early in the morning, so we had to wait a bit for a room, but we were upgraded to a beautiful deluxe room. One noteworthy thing I want to mention, is that while retrieving his passport, my boyfriends wallet slipped out of his hand luggage and was on the floor. He didnt realize this at first, and started to panic, as he had quite of bit of cash and credit cards in there. Fortunately, a maintainance worker had found it and turned it into the front desk. Such honesty is to be applauded in an era, when sadly to say, isnt such the typical norm. Whomever we encountered during our stay in this hotel staff, from maid service to concierge, was so friendly and helpful. Even though it is a grand hotel, I left with a feeling of personal concern and everyone tried to make our stay here truly enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel for comfort and location, and would definitely stay here again if in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review right before your departure and for publicly recognizing the integrity and genuine concern of our team.
We are well aware to work in a true hospitality sanctuary - created almost 120 years ago by the genius of Cesar Ritz - so we strenously work every day to make our Guests feel special, protected and welcomed. Your appreciation has a great value... grazie and Arrivederci!
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had an "imperial suite" at an avg cost of $535/night-an Expedia special. Totally a waste of money. While the room was beautiful, there were no extras,and even though they advertise the room comes with a butler,it is just room service. The breakfast in the bar area was great, but the lunch and dinner menu was limited. We were not alerted that the dining room was being remodeled until we went to make reservations for dinner. The concierge was very helpful as was the front desk. The doormen were totally dismissive and stood outside talking to each other and cabbies. Had to hail our own cab most of the time-ok if we were staying at a 1-star motel. In short, the beauty of this hotel did NOT make up for its huge lack of amenities. Spend your time and money elsewhere.

Room Tip: If u want to stay here, get the cheapest room possible-we were hearing at breakfast some people had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we may not enjoy a negative review, we are grateful for your honest and detailed feedback; pointing out both the good aspects as well as the lacking ones. There is never a valid justification when our staff does not represent the St. Regis standards at its best and we share your disappointment if - during your visit - we have not been able to make you feel welcomed and respected. Please know that we always encourage a pro-active and dedicated service and we will follow up right away on your comments to ensure that it remains an isolated case.
Above all, we would be honored to welcome you back, so that we could make up for your unsatisfactory experience and allow you to enjoy a refined dinner at the Vivendo Restaurant,that is fully operative again.
Please feel free to contact our Executive office at any time and it will be our pleasure to assist you in finalizing any future reservation.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Probably the most beautiful hotel I have ever been in.

You need to like regency and old world decdent interiors but if thats your thing then the St Regis will NOT disappoint!

Service from start to finish was impecible, charming concierge made a booking in HIS favourite pizza restaurant for us (we had been eating provincal Tuscan food for ten days in the villa we rented and wanted some great pizza befroe we bowed out!) and it was a cracker!

The rooms were spacious and just as charming and period as the lobby let us hype it up to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
GRAZIE! Your outstanding review makes us proud. We are so pleased that you consider the St. Regis as the best hotel you have visited so far and we trust that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. Rome has so many cultural, gastronomic and entertaining attractions that requires more than just one visit and our concierge team will be delighted to guide you in the discovery of its many treasures.
Once again, thank you for electing the St. Regis as your private address in town.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were there for four days sleeping in the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Our grown daughter was traveling with us and used the spa and workout room everyday. My husband had a massage he throughly enjoyed. Upon leaving our daughter realized she was going to have to have items shipped home. They were able to do that for her without any trouble while we were checking out of the hotel. The entire hotel is beautiful. Sitting in the comfortable lobby every afternoon was delightful. We received excellent recommendation for dinner each evening. Will stay there again after experiencing their service, food and beds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you and your family had a great stay at the St. Regis and that your daughter and your husband thoroughly enjoyed their time at the Kami SPA; where you can either work out with the most updated training machinery or relax with one of the best thai massages in the city.
Thank you for electing the St. Regis as your preferred hotel for your future visits to the Eternal City!
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Spa Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.