We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch All the Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Dix Hiils, NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Top Notch All the Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were very pleased with our 7-night stay at the St. Regis in Rome. The hotel itself is magnificent. The architechtural design and decor were extremely impressive, particularly the vast lobby area where breakfast, lunch and cocktails are served. The room was spacious by European standards and the houskeeping service was spot on. The entire staff was very accomodating and professional and spoke fluent English. The breakfast buffet was quite enjoyable, though somewhat expensive (however, we were not always charged the stated rate for the full buffet). On a couple of occasions we went to the lobby before dinner for a glass of wine and were given a nice selection of complimentary appetizers--a very nice touch. Negative issues were minor: We were not able to get free wireless internet service in the lobby. We brought this to the attention of the concierge and she gave us a code that granted free 24-hour wi-fi for the entire hotel. Hot water took awhile to kick in and then was difficult to regulate--not a big deal. I list these issues only to show that the hotel was not perfect; nonethless, it was close to it. We would return to the St. Regis should we find ourselves vacationing in Rome in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    219
    104
    30
    15
See reviews for
224
562
43
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from a lengthy trip including a four night stay at the St. Regis Rome where we celebrated a milestone anniversary. In short, our experience at the hotel was excellent from start to finish. Great location, beautiful room and fantastic service.

Check-In was smooth and quick which was very much appreciated after a long day of travel. We had originally reserved an Imperial Room, but upon check-in were upgraded to a Junior Suite. Always nice! What was really special though was that when we got into the room there was a personalized note congratulating us on our anniversary and welcoming us to Rome. That really said something to me about the quality of the staff at the hotel and foreshadowed the excellent, personal service we received.

The room was absolutely beautiful, very quiet and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. I can see why the décor may not be to everyone’s style, but we loved it. We traveled with our 9-month old daughter and a crib was brought up very quickly to replace the cot in the room. I am not one to comment on this subject, but my wife really enjoyed the various bath products. While not one to complain about an upgrade, the one negative to this room was the lack of any type of ‘view’. Both windows looked out onto other buildings or machinery which meant very little natural light. Keep this in mind if you are booking and request room with some light.

The staff was truly outstanding including the butler service (which we didn't use all that much). Very helpful and responsive to our requests – we had no difficulties using English as our Italian is non-existent. One example would be when we didn’t know if we could bring a stroller into the Vatican so they called and found out for us. Another is when the staff at the front even walked outside a bit with us to make sure we were heading in the right direction after asking them for directions. We did a lot of walking in Rome as the location was perfect for us – near a metro station and <20min walk to many attractions.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel.

Overall, a great stay and would happily return if visiting the eternal city again.

Room Tip: Ask about the view - some rooms look out onto nothing and have very little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are so glad that you and your family fully enjoyed the junior suite upgrade and the small touches dedicated to your celebrative trip and to your little daughter's comfort. Rome, so rich of stunning sunsets, romantic bridges, cultural and gastronomic attractions, is the perfect place to spend an enriching and memorable experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Rome; don't miss our new family tradition program!
With our best wishes for a future full of happiness,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the St Regis for 4 nights. We only wish it could be longer because everything was exceptional from check in to departure. Beautiful food and wonderful cocktails not to mention the impeccably handsome waiters who were always attentive. The twin room we had was a little smaller than we expected but nonetheless luxuriously furnished and the most comfortable beds ever. An amazing rain shower glass enclosure with the option of normal shower head. Bathrobes and slippers just completed the comfort.
Getting around Rome was incredibly easy, taking a slow walk visiting several street cafes in glorious sunshine en route to Vatican city.
A word of warning to people visiting the Vatican - do not be taken in by the multitude of ticket touts promising quick entry for a mere 25 euros, The security line pass fairly quickly and entry to the Vatican is completely free. The Sistine Chapel / Vatican museum do charge 16 euros but that includes both and you don't have to have a guided tour. We were overwhelmed by the beautiful tapestries and multitudes of statues on display. You could easily spend a whole day there and still not see a fraction of the art and treasures - some dating back thousands of years so 16 euros is reasonably good value and no need to worry about food as there are restaurants and snack bars throughout the new Atrium addition. Rome can be very expensive as it was for us but that was because we wanted to push the boat out and have luxury all around so bearing in mind that this was our first 5* hotel in Rome, I can't praise it highly enough - you won't go wrong with the St Regis.

Room Tip: Our room seemed to be on the inside facing the inner quadrangle. It was on the second floor and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the St. Regis; we are delighted to hear that you found rest and relaxation in our iconic landmark. We are also grateful that you highlighted the bathroom and separate rainfall shower, which we provide in all accommodations as a standard of true luxury. Your first-hand, precious advices about the Vatican Museums will surely help other guests.
We hope your future travel plans to the Eternal City will include a second stay at St. Regis Hotel. As you so rightly pointed out, this glorious city has so many souls that one visit is not enough!
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked the break on the back of the fabulous reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed! The hotel is typically italian in design and the rooms comfortable but it is the staff who truly set the hotel apart. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by everyone we encountered at every point. The service provided by the lobby manager Monika was superb. She voluntarily arranged complementary drinks whist our room was prepared on srrival and was incredibly informative about local attractions and the best way to get round the city. The service in the bar and restaurant was second to none and the breakfasts were to die for!!! The hotel is situated within a 5 min walk from the main train termini so a great location for those flying into Fiumicino airport (Leonardo express takes 30 mins and €14 each way). Vatican was the furthest attraction but only 10-15 mins in a taxi and €10 max. The hotel also organised a birthday cake and drinks in our room as I was celebrating a very special birthday and it just topped a perfect weekend off. In summary fabulous personal service from a global brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square on the side of the hotel. Our room was so quiet even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that Monica, together with her colleagues was able to create some happy memories for you to treasure. Thank you for also mentioning the quality of our bar and restaurant. We will share your rewarding comments with our Executive Chef, who surely will appreciate your compliments for the accurate selection and preparation of our breakfast Buffet. We look forward to your return visit and it will be our privilege to create another memorable experience, exclusively for you.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed over Easter holiday, 28-March to 1st April.
very central location. near Piazza de la Republica
easy to walk out and about and you SHOULD walk in Rome as it is the best way to explore the eternal city!
Staff=BRILLIANT, very engaging, smiley, always making eye contact and try to chat.
Buttler Service= waking up with a coffe, a juice and petit fours, for free!!! OH i wish i had this every day!!
gym is small but clean and has basic equipment.
the hotel has amazing decor and a very glamorous feeling, perfect for an Easter break!
amazing bed, one of the best ever.
standard remedie bathroom amenities but the staff did go the extra mile and brought me some Aqua Di Parma ones, when i asked and THANK YOU lovely lady for that!!

thank you all, and i cannot wait to come back

Room Tip: the hotel is on the old Grand Hotel building and has 4 floors. It is overlooking the fountain with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel was beautiful inside with a lot of character and added to my vacation experience. Extremely helpful staff- example- I needed the business center to print off my Vatican reservation. The person at the front desk didnt point me to the business center, he escorted me and explained my need to the staff in the center. Little gifts were nice- plate of fruit the night I checked in, bottle of wine one night, and the parting gift. Very convenient location. Very close to Termini but also almost everything is in walking distance. I stayed 12 days and they gave me a room facing the courtyard so very quiet.

Room Tip: Expedia was $2,000 cheaper than any of the other sites or even from the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose to end our Italy trip with two nights here at the St. Regis and I was very happy I made that choice.

After a quick cab ride from Tiburtina we pulled up to the St. Regis. Our bags were quickly taken and tagged to be ready to go up to our room. There was no wait at check in and thankfully it was just a couple minutes before we were inside our room.

I had booked us an Imperial Room and that's what we ended up in. The room was well furnished, had plenty of room and was very quiet throughout the whole day. I was a big fan of the sitting area with the great painting and lights. The bed was comfortable and again was beautifully decorated. One small thing I appreciated was easy to reach outlets on both sides of the bed. It's always amazing how many hotels don't make it easy to charge your phones at night bedside.

The bathroom was a bit small, but did have everything we wanted. Thankfully there was a separate shower and bath and two sinks. The towels, bedding and robes were all super comfortable and of course clean.

I think a few people have mentioned the rooms are a bit older and here and there I might agree. But considering how old some things seemed, everything was in great condition and all the important items were new and worked well.

All our interactions with staff were great here as well. The front desk was happy and eager to answer any of our questions. When we went to the gym the attendant was quick to sign us in and show us around the facilities. At breakfast all the staff were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed.

To end our trip we had a quiet night and just got some room service. Everything came exactly how we ordered and the two servers that came up with our food were great. While they set up they were friendly and chatted about our stay. This was easily some of the best room service I can remember in the last few years and the price seemed totally reasonable, especially considering how much food we got and the great service.

If I were to come back to Rome in the near future, the St Regis would be an easy first choice. Overall the hotel was comfortable, clean and the service we received was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Family Hotel in Rome
#66 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.