We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel located just minutes from Rome's main terminal (walkable even with luggage) and easy access to the subway. Short rides to all major attractions, yet off the beaten path enough that you are not constantly bombarded with mini-coliseum statues for sale by street vendors. Easy walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, etc. The hotel itself is very nice and the technology has been updated. The concierge staff speak English and are very helpful in navigating Rome and making any number of arrangements on your behalf. Because of the price point it is predominantly an older (late 40's and over) clientele, so if you're looking for nightlife you might be disappointed... but remember the subway is close.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted by your report and by your detailed information about the location of the St. Regis. Indeed it is strategically equidistant to all the main historical sites, but it is also walking distance to the Quirinale Palace and to a variety of ancient churches, featuring important pieces of art and worth to be visited (S. Maria della Vittoria, Church of S. Susanna, Church of S. Andrea al Quirinale, Basilica di S. Maria degli Angeli), not to mention the Mosè monumental fountain, just stepping out of the hotel. Thank you for also highlighting the expertise of our concierge team; indeed they constantly select and monitor the finest the city has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    216
    101
    29
    15
See reviews for
210
552
40
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

St. Regis is a great hotel chain. Beautiful hotel and large elegant rooms.

The staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We arrived early after a "red eye" from Boston. That was no problem even though the check in was much later. We had a complimentry breakfast while they prepared our room, problem solved. The service at this hotel was extraodinary. The hotel is in walking distance to the Forum, Coloseum, Spanish Steps, Treve Fountain, and much more.

Excellent location, Great lobby/bar/resturant, large well appointed rooms, very clean and great service from the staff. I couldn't recommend this hotel more!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for electing the St. Regis as your preferred hotel in Rome. We are honored by your service recognition and grateful that you mentioned the St. Regis brand. We greatly respect our brand values and we feel proud to work in such a unique environment, rich of history and distinguished hospitality heritage.
Arrivederci,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge , Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We actually stayed in the St Regis in February 2012 but for some reason my review did not post.
What can i say more than i love this hotel more than any other. We arrived to the hotel mid afternoon and were welcomed with a glass of wine.
We were then shown to our room and unknowingly upgraded rooms and had an amazing room. See pics. The staff were more than willing to help us with any requests we had and food and beverage manager Federico was fantastic and even showed us around the hotel. I cannot speak more highly of the beautiful and majestic St Regis Hotel, Rome. Everything about our stay was absolute perfection. The reason i have been reminded to re upload this now is we are staying here again for Valentines this year. Cannot wait.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are honored that you took the time TWICE to share your comments with all of us! Federico and the entire St. Regis team are so grateful for recognizing our commitment to bespoke service. We hope that you spent another memorable stay and a wonderful Valentine celebration with us.
Thank you and best regards,
the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

room condition was good- very classic but cozy
location was not bad
beautiful interiors- it was christmas time
good breakfast- food was not pleniful but very essential?! and the quality of food is the best.
Butlers are not familiar with English~ but kind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our Holiday Seasonal decorations and the warm atmosphere we created for our Guests spending this special time of the year at the St. Regis, Rome.
Thank you for highlighting your breakfast experience; the executive chef and his team select only the best seasonal ingredients to let our Guest enjoy a wide range of local and international dishes. We will also follow up on your comment about the Butler to ensure the highest level of service.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo,ms
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a splendid old hotel ,recently refurbished and at current prices a real bargain.The rooms are gorgeous,the service superb.I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.The premiere for SKYFALL was held in the ballroom while we were there..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly pleased by your recognition of our daily efforts to provide our Guests with bespoke service in a quiet and discreet environment, away from the crowd, though protagonist of the most exclusive events in town.
It is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and spoiling you some more on your next trip to Rome.
Warmest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is one of the most fabulous hotels that I have ever stayed in. It is a hotel that matches the historical charm and beauty of the city in which it is placed. The hotel oozes elegance with the service to match. If you can, stay on a floor with butler service. The butlers really do look after your every need. When you enter the hotel it is like stepping back in time, with the ornate decor and beautiful antiques. It's location is also a great plus. I normally don't like city hotels as I find them impersonal, but the St. Regis is a legendary hotel in a legendary city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do agree that the St. Regis hotel, with its almost 120 years of history, represents a legend as this unique city! Thank you for highlighting the Butler Service, a true legacy of our hotel with dedicated signature services in Imperial Rooms and Suites.
Once again, thank you for your significant appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visited Rome and stayed at the St. Regis Rome for seven of the past ten years while on our annual January holiday to Italy. It continues to be one of the most luxurious and conveniently located (one stop from Termini) at Republicca.

Staff and facilities are what you would expect from the St. Regis brand. We stayed in a recently renovated wing and the accomodations were fabulous. We will certainly stay there next year.

Room Tip: Select a room on the quieter side of the building as those with street views can be a little bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly honored by your loyalty and we hope that you will continue to consider the St. Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to Rome. Indeed, it takes time to discover the Eternal city and breathe its true spirit.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Restaurant, Roo...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
City Center, Qu...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Qu...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#88 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Spa, Room Servi...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Suites, Room Se...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#85 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.