We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“impressive breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

room condition was good- very classic but cozy
location was not bad
beautiful interiors- it was christmas time
good breakfast- food was not pleniful but very essential?! and the quality of food is the best.
Butlers are not familiar with English~ but kind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our Holiday Seasonal decorations and the warm atmosphere we created for our Guests spending this special time of the year at the St. Regis, Rome.
Thank you for highlighting your breakfast experience; the executive chef and his team select only the best seasonal ingredients to let our Guest enjoy a wide range of local and international dishes. We will also follow up on your comment about the Butler to ensure the highest level of service.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    220
    104
    30
    15
See reviews for
225
562
44
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo,ms
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a splendid old hotel ,recently refurbished and at current prices a real bargain.The rooms are gorgeous,the service superb.I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.The premiere for SKYFALL was held in the ballroom while we were there..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly pleased by your recognition of our daily efforts to provide our Guests with bespoke service in a quiet and discreet environment, away from the crowd, though protagonist of the most exclusive events in town.
It is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and spoiling you some more on your next trip to Rome.
Warmest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is one of the most fabulous hotels that I have ever stayed in. It is a hotel that matches the historical charm and beauty of the city in which it is placed. The hotel oozes elegance with the service to match. If you can, stay on a floor with butler service. The butlers really do look after your every need. When you enter the hotel it is like stepping back in time, with the ornate decor and beautiful antiques. It's location is also a great plus. I normally don't like city hotels as I find them impersonal, but the St. Regis is a legendary hotel in a legendary city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do agree that the St. Regis hotel, with its almost 120 years of history, represents a legend as this unique city! Thank you for highlighting the Butler Service, a true legacy of our hotel with dedicated signature services in Imperial Rooms and Suites.
Once again, thank you for your significant appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visited Rome and stayed at the St. Regis Rome for seven of the past ten years while on our annual January holiday to Italy. It continues to be one of the most luxurious and conveniently located (one stop from Termini) at Republicca.

Staff and facilities are what you would expect from the St. Regis brand. We stayed in a recently renovated wing and the accomodations were fabulous. We will certainly stay there next year.

Room Tip: Select a room on the quieter side of the building as those with street views can be a little bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly honored by your loyalty and we hope that you will continue to consider the St. Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to Rome. Indeed, it takes time to discover the Eternal city and breathe its true spirit.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my wife to Rome and we stayed at the St. Regis. I utilized my Starwood points, it was worth the redemption. The location was fantastic. The hotel is perfectly situaed for a great walking tour of Rome. The rooms and the decor of the lobby and common areas are filled with art and the hotel's lobby and bar provide an great scene to have a drink before or after dinner.

The service was great. The concierge made 2 reservations for us for dinner. Both restaurants were fantastic. We were ushered in ahead of other patrons, the Concierge definately has good connections.

Our last 2 nights the hotel sent up a nice bottle of Prosecco. The bar tender remembered our drink orders, it was the type of service you would expect from a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We cannot tell you how pleased we all are that we were able to make your visit to Rome with your wife a perfect experience.
Thank you for mentioning the unique artworks of many Italian artists, designed exclusively for our hotel. The collection, having grown over the past 10 years, shows fine examples of contemporary paintings, displayed both in the guest rooms and common areas. Your recognition towards the discrete efficiency of our Concierge and his knowledge of the Eternal City is also so very much appreciated. It is our hope that, as a valuable Starwood Preferred Guests we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon to the St. Regis Hotel for another moment of relax.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, staff was friendly, room was absolutely beautiful. Great location, close to the spanish steps , we walked everywhere from here. The breakfast is incredible . There is no way you could be dissapointed staying here. It truly does live up to the "St. Regis" name

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
GRAZIE! How else could we possibly start? We are so grateful for your most eloquent comments and your trustworthy recognition.
We are honored that you would consider the Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to the Eternal City and we look forward to taking care of you.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
623 reviews 623 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location, still very close to all main attractions but not in a middle of touristic path between Piazza di Spagna and Piazza Novona, St Regis is a true Roman palace - great but probably a bit too much for Rome - I was using by SPG points so it turned out to be the best deal to stay there but it lacks local atmosphere you can find at some smaller hotels. That being said, nothing to regret, great service, delicious breakfast and a building full of history and many famous visitors having stayed there

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the left side of the building, overlooking very impressive and a bit noisy AC ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly pleased that you appreciated the unique heritage of this timeless hotel; its austere façade conceals sumptuous interiors and a discreet, relaxing atmosphere beloved by generations of extraordinary guests, attentive to details, just like you!
We are also delighted by your recognition of the great service and of the quality of our Buffet Breakfast, an area of constant focus as we wish that our Guests start a new day in the best way.
We hope that in the future you will grant us the opportunity of welcoming you back for another experience beyond expectations.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.