We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location not so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location not so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great hotel expexially if you have a driver who can take you where you need to go.
I don't reccommend driving in Rome, and public transportation isn't the best compared with other european cities such as London or Paris.
Breakfast was amazing, and concierge was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the St. Regis Rome. We are grateful for your positive comments about the hotel services and staff. You are certainly right, driving in Rome is not easy if you do not know the city well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Hotel, making it your personal address in the Eternal City!
Best regards & wishes,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    216
    101
    29
    15
See reviews for
210
552
40
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My fiancee and I booked this hotel 2 months prior to our visit and when we arrived the hotel manager - very pleasant he was - informed us that their wasn't any rooms available at the hotel!? To which he immediately apologised profusely for and arranged prior to our arrival to stay with the Westin hotel 5 min's north of the St. Regis.

In the interim he ordered the concierge to organise our hotel transfer via a private limo and the bar/ catering staff to serve us complementary drinks and food (no limit on spend, type or quantities) to apologise to us for their huge mistake.

Before we left he informed us that due to a diplomat staying longer than anticipated they had to give up our room to accommodate this. However, he wished to bring us back on our last night as the diplomat would've left by that time and will receive a complementary room upgrade to a Junior Suit, complementary Champagne to our room and to dine in their restaurant (of which I worked out the final bill on the night come to over €300) as their guest and a personally hand written letter from the general manager apologising for their failings to us.

Overall, our Westin hotel was still grand with high ceilings and a good concierge service, even after spending only one night in the St. Regis hotel I would've certainly preferred to have stayed my total 4 nights with the Regis rather than the one, however, I must admit the St. Regis sure knows how to apologise to a customer.

Would certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments following your visit to Rome. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you encountered and we would like to assure you that this is not representative of our usual level of hospitality and it represents an exception that will not have a repetition in the future. However, we are delighted that you appreciated our efforts to recover the situation at the best of our possibilities and we would be honored to welcoming you back on your next visit to create a truly memorable experience at The St. Regis Rome.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is for anyone looking for luxury at the heart of Rome. We could not find it right away, but once in we were amazed by the grandeur of this hotel. The hotel is very majestic in its design and decor, and it is one true beauty! The room was splendid, however would have expected it to be a bit bigger. The bathroom was enormous though and very rich. The bed just divine and the most comfortable ever!

We had also dinner at the hotel, however food left us wondering. Aesthetically food was poor and very simple, and very not acceptable for the prices paid! However service was enjoyable, and the servers were very friendly and helpful.

We really had a great time, but truly, we had higher expectations for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that we were able to contribute in creating a memorable stay in Rome and we thank you for having taken the time to share your overall impression with all of us. However we are very sorry that we somehow disappointed your expectations about the plates’ presentations. We will bring your comments to the attention of the Food & Beverage team so that they may ensure that it remains an isolated case.
Once again, thank you! We would be honored to welcome you back and show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of refined cuisine.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

beautiful hotel, beautiful location, amazing service, very italian, and very classy.
There was some problem with the concierge: he was nice but not much helpful, which is a shame when you come to a city for the first time. You'd better avoid having lunch in the lobby/bar; the food was mediocre for the least, but again the service was excellent.
On the whole I loved this hotel and will certainly come back

Room Tip: One tip: ask for the room 113, it is perfect in beauty and functionality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very grateful for both your positive comments and your constructive criticism. We are delighted that you appreciated the quality of our service and we are sorry that the concierge was not able in providing you the assistance you would have expected in discovering such a big city for the first time. We have shared your comments about your lunch experience at Le Grand Bar with the Chef and his team; we all apologize if you feel it was not satisfactory.
We really hope to welcoming you back soon so that you can re-evaluate the quality of our cuisine.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanya, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have felt us like staying in an old palace. Rooms are classic and big enough for a family. It was very nice to stay there. The only minus is no water heater in the room. We needed it for warming our baby bottle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the St. Regis Rome. How beautiful it is that you loved the timeless and authentic atmosphere of our hotel! We understand that a water heater is a crucial device when you have a baby. Our staff would have been pleased to promptly provide you with the necessary baby heater, however we are very sorry for this lack of attention.
Once again, thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to make up for it.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

so I took my girlfriend to Rome for a few days prior to heading south to propose in Capri and thought that with the hotels history we woudl stay at the St Regis Rome.....and what a brilliant decision that turned out to be. The staff appreciated our business and the whole place is just beautiful and perfectly positioned in teh city. Well done Starwood/St Regis !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at The St. Regis Rome. We are truly pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and we appreciate your rewarding feedback.
Wishing you a future reach in love and serenity, we hope to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As a Starwood Platinum memner, I've stayed at many St Regis properties around the world and I have to say this is the least impressive. They didn't have the Remede toiletries I requested (said they were out of stock), the breakfast was OK, there were no upgrades available for platinum members and generally they did not treat me the way other St regis hotels treat their most valuable guests. Will probably stay at the Eden hotel in Rome next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are truly sorry that we have not been able to recognize your valuable SPG platinum status by upgrading your accommodation during your visit. November has been a busy month with high selling of junior suite/suite categories; but please believe that it was not our intention to make you feel unwelcomed. It is our hope that you will reconsider your decision and you will contact the Hotel Executive office upon your next visit to Rome to make your room’s arrangements. We will do our utmost to recover your faith towards the St. Regis brand and our hotel.
Thank you for also mentioning the Remede bathroom amenities, we will make an immediate follow up with The Housekeeping department as it is unlikely that we run out of any products.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.