We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Least impressive St Regis I've visited” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Rome to your Saves list
The St. Regis Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Least impressive St Regis I've visited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As a Starwood Platinum memner, I've stayed at many St Regis properties around the world and I have to say this is the least impressive. They didn't have the Remede toiletries I requested (said they were out of stock), the breakfast was OK, there were no upgrades available for platinum members and generally they did not treat me the way other St regis hotels treat their most valuable guests. Will probably stay at the Eden hotel in Rome next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are truly sorry that we have not been able to recognize your valuable SPG platinum status by upgrading your accommodation during your visit. November has been a busy month with high selling of junior suite/suite categories; but please believe that it was not our intention to make you feel unwelcomed. It is our hope that you will reconsider your decision and you will contact the Hotel Executive office upon your next visit to Rome to make your room’s arrangements. We will do our utmost to recover your faith towards the St. Regis brand and our hotel.
Thank you for also mentioning the Remede bathroom amenities, we will make an immediate follow up with The Housekeeping department as it is unlikely that we run out of any products.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    234
    109
    32
    16
See reviews for
234
601
46
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved the location, the room and Service. Huge & comfortable as well. Bathroom was very large with double sinks.
The breakfast was included for us and it was very satisfactory. Staff very friendly and polite.
No real issues or concerns but one small observation is that front desk staff a bit stiff
Spa very nice but small.
I would highly recommend and go back to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you would recommend the St. Regis, Rome and come back upon your return visit to the Eternal City. Your loyalty makes us proud and committed to continuously improve our level of service and attention to details.
Till your next stay, best wishes,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had read all of the reviews for this beautiful hotel....and they were right on the money. The most elegant, beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. Beautiful lobby, amazing breakfast, and the attention to detail the staff provided was amazing. I would highly recommend anyone in Rome to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,
How nice of you to take the time to read all the hotel reviews. We greatly respect our Guests' opinion and always take it into great consideration. We are truly pleased that you appreciated the elegance and charm of this iconic hotel, matched by the dedicated and proactive level of service of our team.
Thank you and please do let us know whenever you plan a return visit so that we can take extra care of you and your family.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights on a city trip to Rome. The hotel is perfectly situated nearby piazza Repubblica (metro) and Termini train station. St. regis is an expensive hotel, but offers a lot of comfort and personnal attention. Great staff, very helpful.
The rooms are in perfect condition with a very good bed and well equipped bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Needless to say, we are most gratified by your positive and detailed comments. The St. Regis linen and beds are studied to ensure the best of comfort in a discreet and distinguished atmosphere.
We hope that your future travels will include another stay at the St. Regis Rome.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAKARTA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everything about St. Regis is always perfect. It was memorable stay in Rome, we almost had our wedding there for family reasons unfortunately we cancelled. For sure we will be back for any special occasions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are touched by your comments and truly grateful that you took the time to share them with all the TripAdvisor community. We are just sorry that you had to cancel your wedding and we hope that everything will work out fine for you and for your partner.
Warm wishes for a future full of love, serenity and ... many stays at the St. Regis hotels!
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis Rome hotel for 5 Incredible Nights. The hotel is so Beautiful and the Entire Staff is just Incredible. Everyone made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel.
The breakfast is wonderful, and the staff is just as wonderful!!
Our room was Immaculate, GORGEOUS, and very comfortable.
On our second day, as we returned after touring beautiful Roma,we opened the door and found a bowl of fruit and chocolates!! My husband and I can't say enough. we will definately return and tell our collegues that this is The hotel to stay in!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so happy that we were able to contribute in creating an incredible experience for your stay at Rome. Your complimentary praise is greatly appreciated and it represents the best possible encouragement in our commitment to deliver a bespoke service to our Guests. The St. Regis Hotel team joins me in thanking you for your recognition and support!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal City.
Arrivederci,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Most beautiful lobby I have ever seen! Although we went out to dinner and came in late, we still felt compelled to have an after dinner drink at the bar. We were in a slow season but got lucky with the weather - wonderful warm sun so we were able to walk to dinner and many places. The Moses statue next door was a great landmark. We walked to the Spanish Steps and then hopped a double decker bus. Well worth it to see a ton in a day!

Our room was just a standard deluxe room but was very large - by US standards - and stadium-sized by European rules! Fabulous decor and living up to St Regis rep. front of house was both helpful and friendly. The hotel offered us a nice ride in a Mercedes to dinner. We are hoping to get one of the Bentleys when we return later in the week!

I highly recommend a stay here - it is a treat whether you are used to high end hotels or for a special occasion. All over Italy we have noticed 3 interesting things:
No hangover from wine, an unusual fondness for bottled water(mainly fizzy and mostly expensive) and a focus on ornate ceilings - painted/fauxed and lit up. Best of all, the Italians are so friendly and great - although I have heard they prefer Americans since we are not snobby and tip well!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
The most sincere THANK YOU from all of us for taking the time to share in detail your experience at the St. Regis Hotel. We are very pleased by your wonderful report; there is nothing more inspiring than our guests’ recognition!
Thank you for mentioning the ride by chauffeured Mercedes as it gives us the opportunity to present you with our newly introduced Bentley exclusive limousine service to experience Rome and its surroundings in a true distinguished style.
Looking forward to your next visit,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Spa Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.