We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium Quality Hotel Near Termini” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Medium Quality Hotel Near Termini”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived at hotel and were told we had been upgraded to a mini suite from a two queen room. But the room was not very clean and was dark and had a lot of street noise. Managed to change room next day to the room type we had requested... a bit smaller but overall much better, with double pane windows that reduced street noise. Beds were reasonably comfortable and room quite clean.
Breakfast was pretty good and staff hard working and friendly. Coffee as expected in Italy was excellent.

Front desk staff were helpful and friendly... suggested one restaurant that was very good .

The areas around the Termini station is busy with stores, cafes and restaurants (but not luxurious). Great place for travel around Rome, by bus, tram or subway... we used the OPEN TOP BUSES... they are a great way to experience and orientate around this great city.
Beware the many beggars... who use the ploy to try to steal, we came very close to losing a lot of valuables from inside a zippered handbag .. its a problem in this area!!

Overall this hotel is OK... a good 3 star , not sure about 4 Star.

Room Tip: Checks windows for fit and sound proofing... its a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    132
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
179
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night in August prior to our departure from FCO airport back to North America. The hotel appears small from the outside however it is quite deep once you walk inside. It is very clean and beautiful. The elevator to get to our floor was very small, it barely fit my boyfriend and I with our 2 bags. The room was nice and clean, the bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom has a bath + a shower in the tub.
The hotel also has a complimentary breakfast- warning for anyone with a gluten or wheat allergy that there is not much for you but for the general populous there is a decent amount. The hotel is a 4 minute walk to Termini station and for its location this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff is excellent.
But not the best of neighborhoods.
Termini Station so close is both an asset and a liability - the place is easily accesible to places both in the city and beyond. It is also the crossover station of the A and B metro lines.
But Termini also draws shadier characters to it's vicinity - creating a sense of lack of security.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is excellent. Rome is a very sprawled out city, however being so close to the main transport hub in Rome was a major bonus, with many tour companies operating from the area along with restaurants and cafes in abundance making it a very nice, easy place to stay.

The staff are very helpful and friendly however the room we were allocated was pretty small but we didn't mind as we weren't in it very much. The breakfast was a great buffet spread and the coffee was great.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and I can't fault the staff who are all gracious. Marissa in the reception is always a great help with getting us around Rome. The staff serving breakfast is always ready to help and serves with a smile which you need in the morning ahead of your long day. The breakfast is a typical Italian meal ..I love the coffee. Room is spacious And cleaned everyday with fresh towel. Well recommended.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Morgana for 5 nights from 19th to 24th Aug. We had a really good deal with British Airways holidays. I travelled with my husband and 14yr old son. You could not fault the Hotel. We had a triple room that had everything you needed. A roomy bathroom with bath and shower with plenty of toiletries stocked up daily.
A mini bar with 3 bottles of water provided free of charge for our first night. The fridge was handy to stock up with locally bought drinks. There was Sky TV with free Sky Sports, many music channels, Sky news and BBC World News. Free Wifi with good connection.
The hotel is within a few minutes walk of Termini station for bus, mainline trains and underground Metro service.
The Colosseum is within 15-20 mins walk. Basilica Saint Mary of Maggiorep is 2 mins away - A beautiful domed church. The Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain, the Pantheon and many other sights are within a 30mins walk.
There are a few restaurants around the hotel. We found an American/Italian bar on the hill towards the Colosseum called La Base. Perfect for a fussy teenager. We ate there twice. The pizza there was the nicest I have ever tasted.
In the hotel lobby tea and coffee are provided for free up till around 4-5pm. If you like to have tea/coffee and a kettle in your room you have to pay I think that was quite steep at 9.50€ per day. I took my own kettle and had some milk from the facilities provided in the lobby. One day we were late coming back from sightseeing and the staff had cleared the coffee/milk etc. I asked if I could possibly have a small amount of milk. Within 5 mins a member of staff brought some plastic little milk pots up. We were not charged for them.
There is a safe in the room that you can use free of charge.
Whatever problems you had with the room they were there within minutes. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast certainly kept us going for hours. My husband was very fond of the scrambled egg and bacon. There was a lovely selection of pastries I was partial to the croissants filled with buttercream. You could also have ham, cheese, fresh fruit, cakes, muesli, cereals, selection of bread rolls, and the nicest tasting kind of flat bread. If anyone from The Morgana reads this would you kindly tell me what the flat bread is called.
The staff at breakfast always greeted us in a lovely manner. And the man and lady serving cappuccinos and clearing, making up the tables were delightful and such hard workers.
The only minus for me was the area around the Termini Station, lots of beggars, immigrants, homeless people and prostitutes on street corners after dark. We did not feel any way threatened except for a few teenagers purposely bumping into my husband which seemed like they were trying to pickpocket him. They did not succeed!
Also if you use Termini Station for the metro go down the escalators underground you can pick up tickets down there using ticket machines. Don't accept help from anyone other than train staff with official badges. There are many people hanging around trying to rip you off.
Despite this we had a wonderful holiday in Rome it really is a beautiful city.
I mark the hotel a full five stars because it deserves it.


Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Hotel Morgana. I continue to recommend the hotel to those who have an opportunity to stay in Rome. I have found the staff to be professional and knowledgeable about the surroundings. The rooms are clean and modern.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#271 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#128 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,158 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#243 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#250 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#272 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#357 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#132 Family Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from the main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. You could choose between classic, deluxe, executive and master rooms. If you're travelling with your family, the Hotel Morgana you could either book a spacious quad rooms or a family room; family room is composed of two connecting double/twin rooms which ensure privacy and yet the comfort of having your kids close to you. Breakfast is included in the room rate; buffet breakfast is very rich with a wide choice of cold and hot dishes: bacon&eggs, selection of salami, cheese and ham, homemade bakery and bread, cereals, croissants fruits, salads and many other high quality Italian products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.