We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Value for Money - great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Value for Money - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel Morgana was brill - its 2 minutes from the train station - which in turn is 1/2 an hour from the Airport using the Leonardo Express that runs every thirty minutes.

The area is ok - some people have commented that its a bit run down - but I never once felt intimidated at all, even when walking back to the hotel on mu own at night from one of the local restaurants.

Breakfast is tops - plenty of choice, cold buffet, fruit, pastries, hams, cheese, cereal, eggs and bacon - CAPPUCHINO...... LOL

The staff could not have been more helpful.

We walked EVERYWHERE - even to the Vatican - which only took about 45 minutes... don't worry about using the metro at all you really just don't need to....

I would so definitely stay here again.

Thank you for a FAB time xxx

Room Tip: Noise from the road can be a bit loud first thing but not to the point of disturbing sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    632
    231
    87
    43
See reviews for
287
676
44
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel Morgana was a lovely hotel with modern clean rooms and friendly staff.
The breakfast was okay, the egg looked rather odd but was edible.
The hotel however is situated near the termini station which seems to attract prostitutes, drunks ( I was nearly knocked off my feet by one) and beggars and lots of litter which I feel is a real let down for not only the hotel but Rome itself.
I felt as though after a nice day out you would rush as quickly as you could to get through the safety of the hotel doors and I found the people and rubbish very depressing.
My husband and I enjoyed our time in Rome but a few tips are to wear comfortable shoes be prepared to be ripped off for bog standard food and plan your trip so you make the most of the beautiful buildings, ruins and museums.
The hotel recommend using the GLT tour buses, I personally wouldn't as we waited an hour and a half along with a few other angry people to get onto this bus which is suppose to arrive every 10 minutes and was annoyed that it had wasted time out of our day and the red sight seeing buses are the same price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Always difficult when making a choice for a hotel, made even more difficult when its in a country you have not been to before. We found the location to be excellent and the hotel easy to find as it was near to the Termini Station. "so great for going sight seeing" Have to say we were a little apprehensive when we were walking to the hotel for the first time as the area looked a little run down but in fact it turned out to be fine. The Hotel itself was excellent, it was beautifully decorated with a lovely lounge area to chill out in however the bedroom was a little on the small side but it was very clean and a comfy bed plus a good shower so fine for the 3 days also this was more than compensated by the really friendly / helpful staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was really good. Great few days

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the hotel with BA , as a package and got a deluxe room (number 130), which was big enough for a couple, modern and clean. The hotel staff / especially reception is very friendly and helpful. Termini station is 5 minutes walk and the hotel is in walking distance to all major tourists attractions. Overall great stay in this is lovely plaxe. First time in Rome was a great success! Thank you!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from a three day break in rome and stayed at the morgana , read a few reviews before hand about people saying the area was a bit rough but didn't experience that at all and being near the station meant we could get to everything with ease , the hotel was clean the staff were great breakfast was nice and nothing was to much trouble , I would 100 percent return to the morgana xxx

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangybi, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean hotel situated not far from the termini, the staff were very helpful, there were plenty of good places to eat around the area.
We walked every where and saw a lots of buildings and fountains, not shown on the map. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having posted your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Morgana and we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were 'upgraded' on arrival from a deluxe room to an executive room, I would have been devastated if the room we were originally allocated was worse than the room we were provided with as the hotel pictures have obviously been taken in their top rooms. The receptionist was pleasant and gave us a map of the local area pointing out the major tourist sites, she also advised us on the better places to eat locally and made a reservation for us at a local restaurant that was considered good.
We were allocated a twin room on the 5th floor (533) the room was dated and extremely small. The twin beds were at their best the size of a small child's bed and made for difficult sleeping being placed nearly side by side. The bed linen was old and dated, with a sheet and old blanket adorning beds. The noise from the constant traffic and individuals roaming the street at night was disturbing as room became very warm when windows shut and as previously mentioned by a traveller air-con did not function well.
The bathroom was rather large in comparison with the sleeping area with a shower placed over bathtub. The other negative to this room was two small steps that connected sleeping area to bathroom that provided an obstacle when negotiating way to bathroom at night without switching on lights.
The free wifi service was for the majority of the visit virtually impossible to connect to apart from at lobby area. We were on the 5th Floor and when reported they did say they would check but never reported back to us with their findings. We ventured just along from the Hotel to a place called Tudini where the wifi was free and staff very pleasant if just stopping for a coffee or light refreshment.
The breakfast buffet was average, you could get a fresh cappuccino but no fresh black coffee/expresso apart from the coffee available from an urn that was very poor quality. The omelettes were sliced up and served cold, and the bacon was was so overcooked it was impossible to cut, let alone chew. No facility to order eggs of choice as I was led to believe. I would suggest seeking an alternative venue for a more appetising breakfast.
The location of the Hotel is very good, a short walk from Termini Station, helpful for catching the Leonardo Express to and from airport and accessing metro. Many of the major tourist attractions were within walking distance which allowed for a greater insight into Rome, we also walked back from Vatican.
The area around the Hotel has numerous street vendors that target tourists trying to sell their goods (selfie-sticks galore) additionally there appeared to be many homeless people that took refuge around this area at night.
Overall we were disappointed with this Hotel that was booked as part of a package with British Airways and given a four star rating. Perhaps if we had one of the rooms featured it may have changed this rating but honestly feel that a three star rating is overall a better review.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#172 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#179 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from the main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. You could choose between classic, deluxe, executive and master rooms. If you're travelling with your family, the Hotel Morgana you could either book a spacious quad rooms or a family room; family room is composed of two connecting double/twin rooms which ensure privacy and yet the comfort of having your kids close to you. Breakfast is included in the room rate; buffet breakfast is very rich with a wide choice of cold and hot dishes: bacon&eggs, selection of salami, cheese and ham, homemade bakery and bread, cereals, croissants fruits, salads and many other high quality Italian products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.