We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little trip to Roma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice little trip to Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We booked this hotel as part of a 3 night break with BA it was our first time to Rome. The hotel is in a good location to most of the attractions we walked everywhere the Termini station is just 1 block away so great for getting to and from the airport for 14 euros each one way ( just beware of people trying to help who look like railway staff then want to charge you a fee).
We were on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel the room was lovely with a bathroom and seperate closet and backed onto a courtyard which could be a little noisy at times especially very early in the morning. The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included ,delicious scrambled egg and bacon also great cappuccino.
We found places to eat each evening locally and felt safe walking around the area even though it is a little neglected in places as others have said graffiti everywhere such a shame in such a lovely city. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    612
    224
    85
    43
See reviews for
279
655
44
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

All Hotel staff really helpful...good service and choices at buffet breakfast..wonderful staff there always ready with the lovely coffee...Very near the Termini to get trains to all parts of Rome.. On our first day we took the tourist bus (hop on/off all day) around all of Rome which gave us the knowledge of areas and distances from hotel..was surprised by the huge amount of graffiti everywhere...Good value restaurant near Hotel "Mama Rosy"....Hotel needs a lot of TLC....The shower head did not work so was soaked by an overhead shower..... there were nights when I could hear the neighbours snoring!! and using the toilet.......I had to ask for a clean cover on bed as badly stained, mirror situated in area where cases put so difficult to see how one looked when going out...apart from those few things the Hotel is situated in a convenient spot...If you want tea/coffee and kettle you pay 2 euros something per day....I would NOT stay there again though.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been many times in Rome it really is the location is fantastic you just have to walk 15 minutes for Collosseum and Traian Collum and different other historical monuments.Breakfast was incredible...we do strongly recommend that hotel and staff.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely stay with us and that you've enjoyed your visit to Rome. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Morgana, we thank you once again for your kindness and send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked through Avios (airmiles) and was initially concerned it might not be central enough, but we walked to most places of interest, the Colosseum being a 20 minute walk away. The Termini station was a couple of streets away and was useful for getting to places not within walking distance, such as the Vatican, and Tivoli. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were great, and the room, though compact, was clean and modern. We asked for a room at the back when we made the booking, and there was absolutely no noise from outside.

The area is lively and cosmopolitan, and certainly not the most upmarket part of Rome, but it wasn't seedy and we felt safe walking around at night.

If you don't mind a 20 minute walk to the sights then you could a lot worse than the Morgana.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review. Your positive feed back is a reward for us. We are glad to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Morgana in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff in this hotel went out of their way to be helpful. Reception staff helped book tickets for the vatican, printed our boarding cards, gave good advice, nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast staff were efficient and happy in fact all staff were happy and chatty and this kind of service makes a trip.
The hotel is a good 4*. Exceptionally clean, nice rooms, free wifi, good breakfast with lots of choice. Location is near the station which is great to get to and from the airport as you can walk from the hotel to the train in 5 minutes. For sightseeing we mainly walked as you see more that way but colosseum was only 15-20 minute walk. All other areas within walking distance but we did walk a lot. If you were less mobile you may prefer somewhere closer to heart like Trevii fountain, dependng on where you want to be. Vatican was easy trip - half hour ride on metro. Location suited us fine.
We had an executive room and I think they have a little more space with bigger beds but don't expect too much as it is a city centre! Rooms were well furnished with lovely brand new walk in showers. Beds were comfy.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room ask for one not facing the road as the noise from bin men etc can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent to post your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and we hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to the Hotel Morgana very soon.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at hotel Morgana for five nights last September, booked through British Airways. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, our suitcase was lost by the airline and staff at the hotel did what they could to help us by phoning the airport each day to see if the bag had turned up. This was much appreciated as we do not speak Italian! The hotel itself is easy to reach from the airport, you can catch the Leonardo Express directly to Termini station which is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel itself was very nice, lovely and clean and the room was great, a decent size for a city centre hotel. Breakfast was excellent as well, we really enjoyed it. The hotel is well placed for exploring Rome, you can walk to many of the main sites and the underground is also very close by if you prefer to use public transport. The area around Termini station is perhaps not the best but no different to many European cities and we didn't have any problems. The constant hassling by restaurant staff nearby is very tiring but obviously not the fault of the hotel. Overall we fell in love with Rome and would love to return, we would not hesitate to rebook this hotel if we do so. Hopefully my suitcase will also make the trip on our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having posted your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Morgana in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely staff, great rooms and really nice breakfast! Stayed here for 5 nights and it was very enjoyable the reception,bar and breakfast staff were all so nice and helpful I would most definatly recommend this hotel

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us and we hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to the Hotel Morgana in the near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#171 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from th main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.