We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Morgana for 3 nights in June 2013. I wouldn't say that the stay was perfect, there were some glitches, but it was made up for by the hospitable staff that responded immediately to our issues and tried to fix them in the best way possible.

Pros - Location is very convenient for all metro and bus services (barely a 2 min walk from Roma Termini), free wifi available all throughout the hotel, good breakfast spread, staff was very courteous and receptive

Cons - We had got a good deal online and had opted for the Classic Double Room. The room was very tiny and with our two big bags in the room, there was almost no space left to walk. We were fine with this though, since we would be out of the hotel for most part of the time.
We had a few issues - the safe in our room wasn't locking correctly and we had to call for help, our bathroom door got stuck and refused to open and we called for help again, and the next day water started leaking from the ceiling right on to the bed! The hotel staff immediately upgraded us and we had no more complaints after that.

Despite the issues we faced, we were happy with the staff's hospitality and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who needs frequent access to Roma Termini and expects to enjoy good customer service even while visiting a another country.

Room Tip: Classic Double Room is too tiny. Pay a bit more and upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment. It is a reward for the all of us!
We hope to see you again very soon in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    589
    216
    84
    42
See reviews for
270
608
42
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was a complete delight to me not only because it was modern and cozy but because I was taken to Rome as a surprise to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

So this was to be a special weekend away and my partner wanted it to be perfect. And I have to say he chose perfectly when he picked this little gem. It's a small hotel in a great location, cleaned to perfection with very friendly staff.

I loved our room so mush it was modern and decorated really well. The bed was comfortable, it was cozy and clean. The bathroom was very clean had everything you needed plus the complimentary toiletries I love! There was a mini fridge in the room which we found very useful. We went to the local supermarket and bought bottled water to put in it to take on our days out (we heard that Rome was particularly expensive for drinks etc and wanted to save where possible).

And I must mention the beautiful breakfast room...it was beautifully decorated also. There was a beautiful well assorted breakfast buffet provided daily in the price of our room. Waiters/waitresses were very tentative serving fresh hot drinks made to order..I loved having my morning coffee and pastry here, it was divine!!

The staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful, they kept our luggage after check out until we were ready to depart for the airport. This meant that we could make the most of our last afternoon in Rome without the hassle of lugging around our luggage.

In all, I would really recommend any couples going to Rome to stay here. The room is small, but the hotels in Rome are small. Above all the rooms are clean and modern and the service is tip top. The breakfast room has really stayed in my mind..i really did enjoy eating there. Oh and I must mention the very tiny lift!!! It's like nothing I have seen maybe a bit claustrophobic for some but its mirrored and actually I think unique, me and my partner were a bit amazed by it...maybe we are easily amused lol!!!

Grazie mille Hotel Morgana for a lovely stay and making such a special anniversary weekend so memorable...I left here engaged to get married!!!


Please Note:
There is a hotel tax for tourists travelling to Rome. Its a small fee introduced to help pay for the renovation of this ancient city. I personally was bowled over by the historical beauty of Rome and didn't mind paying this contribution to it's upkeep. It would be a shame to see such a beautiful place go into disrepair!!!

**Please note**: I stayed April 2011

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having taken the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate it. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Morgana in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was absolutely tiny and dark. Too small to include an ensuite which had a sliding door that wouldn't close properly. Breakfast was best we had in Italy though and the staff were pleasant. Next time in Rome we'd stay in another area because although handy for the station it is rather seedy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Your opinion is very important to us and we will use your comments to improve our service more and more.
We hope that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to have you again as our Guest.
Many thanks and kind regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurrock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from Rome and we had an amazing time! My first city break and I enjoyed it massively.
We stayed in the Hotel Morgana as it is close to the train station - really close! And with the 30 minute train from the airport it was absolutely perfectly located!
The Hotel staff were all super friendly! Especially the hotel receptionist who we heard speak three languages at one time whilst dealing with staff, ourselves and Spanish visitors - hat off to her, goodness knows how many more languages she can speak!!
Breakfast was AMAZING! So many things to choose from, one morning I even found myself having a donut! crazy!
We had a fabulous time, the hotel was exactly what we needed - a comfy place to rest up for the next days sightseeing.
It is a bit of a trek from The Vatican and Castel S.Angelo but there's plenty of buses if you don't fancy the walk!
Would defo recommend!! Thousands of restaurants on the doorstep too!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and there was no noise, couldnt say for rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having posted your review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose our Hotel Morgana again in the future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from Rome and stayed here for 6 nights. We were early for check in but they were great and let us check in early. We stayed in room 320, which was a lovely room, very adequate and comfortable. It did have a step but was not an issue at all. Bed was a good size and comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and tidy. Shower was a very nice walk in shower. Breakfast was nice, a good choice for breakfast, personally wish there was a bit more hot selection but you cant complain. The staff were great at breakfast and in general. The housekeepers accidentally took our remote for the TV out of our room, called down to the front desk. Paul was very helpful in checking the whole room and brought us a new remote all within 10 minutes. Wifi in the hotel was alright, a bit slow but wasn't a problem for basic browsing. The area itself was good, very close to station, restaurants and a nice walk to the Colosseum and other attractions in Rome. Would fully recommend the Hotel and was great value. Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having posted such a nice review on TripAdvisor. This is what we love to hear from our Guests and what we work for.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel Morgana and we send you our best regards,
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

During our stay the staff were so helpful. The front desk staff were lovely and very accommodating, they couldn't do enough for us! It's in the perfect location for all transport links. You can get 1 & 3 day metro/bus tickets from the tobacco shop a few doors along the street. The rooms are adequate and well dressed with excellent AC!! In August you'll need it! Breakfast is great and well stocked!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy and proud to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again to Rome and to our Hotel Morgana.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in Rome(Hotel Morgana). Let me allay the fears of those who are wishing and/or are booked to stay there. Anyone critical of this place is either very fussy or a tad pedantic. The staff, rooms, facilities, breakfast, and location are all great. So, the lifts are a bit small and temperamental but who cares. Going up and down those stairs will help you limber up for climbing those hills. We had the same trepidations and reservations after reading some of the views here, but they all evaporated after our first day. A massive thank you to all the staff for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having shared your experience with other TripAdvisor's members. We are happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to have you again as our Guest at the Hotel Morgana.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio , Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#206 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from th main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.