We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is located within 5 minutes walk from Rome Termini train station. So location wise it is great. Not much going on except some nice restaurants in the area. The hotel is definitely centrally located that you could walk to almost all main tourist spots on foot within 30 minutes. The only exception is Vatican which will take you about 40 - 50 minutes. Nevertheless, Metro is near by. You could definitely go around very easily, especially central Rome is not that big after all.

The room itself is very clean. The bed is a bit small but comfortable. Comparing with the photos I see here, I believe I had the older room. However, it was still quite nice and well kept.

The hotel staff members were very friendly and helpful. They all spoke fluent English and are eager to help your stay even nicer.

In summary, the hotel is well located and well priced, with great friendly staff, and nice clean rooms.

Room Tip: The nicer rooms are those not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with other TripAdvisor's travellers.
Your opinion is very important for us and we are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Morgana.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Rome, we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    549
    208
    83
    40
See reviews for
245
605
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Many reviews can be highly subjective, whereby, what one person finds awful another person would love!! I will make every effort to minimise subjectivity.

Some key features

Good location - The main station (Termini) for buses, trains, etc is around the corner and you are surrounded by a number of decent restaurants. The Colloseum is also a 20-25 mins walk

Staff - The staff are exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable.

Decoration / Cleanliness - This is no bargain basement hotel. The hotel and its rooms are very well decorated. Also very well maintained. The room itself is small but liveable. Other reviews have commented on the poor air conditioning... this is true but from our experience wasn't unbearable. We just opened our windows (in addition to the AC).

Breakfast - You're in Europe!! Don't expect pancakes, bacon and maple syrup!! There's a lovely spread of food, to include some amazing cakes and pastries!!

Shuttle Service - The hotel advertises 60 Euros (for a couple). Please note that this is one way!! It costed 110 Euros for a return to the Airport but the expediency was worth it.

The majority of reviews speak well of this hotel and I agree with them. The Hotel allows you to enjoy your visit to Rome without worrying about major inconveniences from accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to know that you had a positive experience at our Hotel Morgana and we hope to see you again very soon here in Rome.
With our best regards,
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in here in July 2013 with 3 others. Check in was nice and quick! I found the lifts waaay too small and slow and we had to go up to our rooms in 2s as we didnt all fit in the lift with our luggage.The room was pleasant, the tv was excellently placed in the middle of the room so all 4 beds had a good view of the tv later when we were relaxing, bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast was not too bad, lots of variety. The location is ideal, walking distance to the station as well as the 4 fountains and other nice squares & plazas. Only one criticism the area in which the hotel is located is a little shady esp around the train station. It helped having a guy with us to travel with, it made us girls feel safer but otherwise a good choice!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, which we take into high consideration.
We are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Morgana and we hope that you will choose our property again in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards,
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated 2-3min from the main termini station. Easy to find and a clean, friendly and convinient hotel. Efficient checkin by friendly staff, yes room was small but you are in a city and out all day, what is the point in anything bigger. We stayed 3nights and our room had a queen size bed, freshlyndecorated, nice bathroom, tv, wardrobe, shower and hairdryer.
Its a bit of a giggle trying to find your room as the room numbers arent in a y order, funny!
Breakfast was fresh and a varid and ok selection, friendly staff serving.
The reception lady was very helpful with sightseeing things and even helped us book tickets for the colusseum via her pc which saved us hours queuing.
Recommended as a affordable, fresh and convenient hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having posted your nice review on TripAdvisor. Your satisfaction is a reward for us and we are extremely happy to know that you had a pleasant stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Morgana and we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I want to preface this review with the above statement. We have just returned from our trip to Europe where we had stayed at the Hotel Morgana from August 8th to 11th. I will start this review with the positives about this hotel. It is located in a great area since it was near the main metro train station in Rome. There were many small intimate restaurants to eat in for lunch or dinner. Most having a tourist price fixed menu averaging 15 euros per person. The hotel is decorated very nicely with a modern flair. Off of the lobby is a small sitting area with couches and a TV so that we could sit and talk before going up to our rooms each night. The rooms themselves were also decorated nicely with updated bathrooms and flat screen TV.
Now the negatives about the property. Our biggest complaint is about the air conditioning in the rooms. There was almost none. We mentioned it to the front desk but they could not do anything. Maybe this is just how it is in hotels in Europe. Sleeping at night was difficult in the heat. It would have been great to get back to the hot room and have a cold drink from the room refrigator but alas the fridge was not cold either. There went the idea of cold beverages. We asked about this as well but nothing could be done. Another issue with refrigeration was at the breakfast buffet. It definetly had an assortment of choices but the milk and yogurt were not on ice so they sat out for hours and we were afraid to eat them. Without cold milk we could not eat the cereal or have light coffee. The buffet also never changed so by day three we were a bit tired of the same choices for breakfast.
I guess that making your choice to stay at this hotel will depend on what your priorities are. If the location is important then you can not go wrong. If comfort is at the top of your list I am sure that you could find another hotel in the neighborhood that might offer better air conditioning and a cold mini bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having posted your review on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to us and we will use your comments to improve our service more and more.
We apologize for any inconvenience occurred with a/c during your stay with us. We've experienced a very hot summer and in some days it was extremely hot.
We hope that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and in the Eternal City and we would love to have you again as our Guest in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Thanking you again for your kindness, we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

booked this hotel as a mini moon before our honeymoon in Thailand later in the year. Hotel was gaurenteed with a credit card in March only to be cancelled during the week of our wedding as we hadn't gaurenteed the room. No alternative was offered, the hotel just said thanks but no thanks. Awful service, glad we have avoided as if the staff are like this before we go heaven knows what they are like in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish you would have told the entire story... Your reservation has been cancelled because you did not reply to our 4 e-mails of request of a new credit card to secure the booking.
When you replied to our cancellation notification, we offered you the chance to stay either at our sister Hotel or to re-activate your cancelled booking (at the same conditions), but you declided both offers telling that you had found another Hotel.
We hope to have the chance to have you as our Guest in the future, so that you could be able to evaluate our service and post a review on TripAdvisor based on a real experience.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very short walk from the Roma termini station, and within walking distance to most of the sights (would recommend taking the metro to Vatican City though!). Seemed like many travellers staying at this hotel spoke English, which put us at ease when we walked in the door! Front desk staff were always very courteous and helpful with any questions we had about how to get to places or restaurants in the surrounding area. We originally booked a small double room and were upgraded to a newly renovated room on the 4th floor -- it was very nice! Not too roomy (didn't have much room to move around our luggage) but with a king bed, we were happy! Breakfast was over and above any buffet breakfast I've had in a hotel -- meat and cheese, pastries, cereal, toast, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice all available, and saved us time looking for a place to grab a bite before we started our day. Only complaint is that the rooms didn't seem to be very soundproof -- although we may not have noticed this had our neighbours not included families with loud children shouting and running down the hallway! Overall, a good solid hotel. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. We are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again to Rome in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#276 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#125 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#254 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#279 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#349 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#156 Family Hotel in Rome
#207 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from the main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. You could choose between classic, deluxe, executive and master rooms. If you're travelling with your family, the Hotel Morgana you could either book a spacious quad rooms or a family room; family room is composed of two connecting double/twin rooms which ensure privacy and yet the comfort of having your kids close to you. Breakfast is included in the room rate; buffet breakfast is very rich with a wide choice of cold and hot dishes: bacon&eggs, selection of salami, cheese and ham, homemade bakery and bread, cereals, croissants fruits, salads and many other high quality Italian products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.