We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days in Rome with the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #219 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Write a Review

1,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    496
    180
    74
    38
See reviews for
219
507
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

the service at this hotel was great , as we arrived , I accidentally left my pouch with all of our vacation money (about 1400 EURO) at the front desk. the clerk have returned it the second he noticed it and lets talk frankly , he could have take what ever he wanted . for been so honest we owe him. the rooms are great , the breakfast is also great. we thought there is no excuse to pay so many for hotel which are in the same level of this hotel only 500-600meters closer to the center than this hotel. the service at this hotel was great

Room Tip: go for the 3rd floor , we switched room on our last night and the room at this floor was even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having posted your nice review about your stay at the Hotel Morgana.
We are so happy to know that you had a lovely experience with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again to our property in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Picked this hotel because of recommendation, the hotel itself is decent, nice staff, average rooms. Location is not good! Close to train station which is nice if you are gonna be all over the city, metro is easy. My wife and I do not feel the safest walking around the hotel day or night, just not a good neighborhood with below average restaurants nearby. Honestly we wished we had moved hotels after first night for a better Rome environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to us. We hope that you overall enjoyed your stay with us although you would have preferred staying in a different location. Just for your information, we have several properties in Rome, in differenent locations: we a luxury inn located at the Spanish Steps and another one close to the Colosseum (rates are a little bit higher in those properties) and another hotel close to Villa Ada. Maybe you can consider the possibility to book one of our other properties in Rome, in occasion of an eventual return visit to Rome. In case you wish to do so, please contact me and I will be glad to assist you with your booking.
Many thanks for your attention.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice location wise. 2 minutes from Termini station which is hub of trains. Very clean. Nice staff specially Mariyana.. Breakfast was lovely and very tasty. the only drawback was room was on the street side and noisy. try to book on the other side.

Room Tip: book the room on the opposite side of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for your nice review and for having shared your experience with other TripAdvisor's travellers. We are happy and proud to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel Morgana in the near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is great. I was not overwhelmed by the hotel but it has many great benefits and features.

First, let me start by saying that the hotel is absolutely ideal. It is just around the corner from the termini train station, so getting here from the airport only costs $5 each way, then about 2 minutes of walking. The location also makes it great for getting around to places like the Vatican and the Coliseum. Forget about expensive tour busses and just use the metro. It's $1.50 each way.

At first, I wasn't all that impressed with the hotel. You need to buzz to get in, so my first though was, "Oh boy... that says a lot about the neighborhood". As well, the front desk doesn't have that grandeur that most great hotels in North America do have. No doorman or anything.

But don't let the poor first impression fool you. The rest of the hotel decor is actually quite nice. I was able to check out 2 different rooms, both beautiful, both totally different. One room had a classic elegance to it, and the other was ultra modern. The bathroom was to die for. Very beautiful. Rooms are a bit tight, but otherwise fine.

No in-room coffee. Boo.

Some hotel guests get breakfast for free, but apparently my room did not include breakfast. From what I could tell, the breakfast offering is fantastic. We're not just talking about a bunch of pastries and yogurt like the typical contental breakfast offered by hotels. The spread here was huge and impressive.

Room Tip: Avoid hotels on the street side of the hotel. I had one and it was noisy. I asked to switch and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having posted your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Morgana. Please be assured that we will do our best to improve our service more and more.
Many thanks again and best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

FANTASTICO!!.....Hotel Morgana was just perfect for my "Big Birthday" surprise...4 nights in Rome! It's a mid-priced 4-star "boutique" hotel, situated just 100 metres from Termini Station - the hub of Rome's transportation system, so places can be easily accessed by bus, tram, Metro, or train. The area is reportedly "rather dodgy" especially at night, and indeed the hotel entrance is kept locked at all times, however we witnessed no problems. Our biggest risk was posed by scooters and SMART cars, which seem to "breed" on the City streets!!
The Hotel can be reached from Fiumicino Airport by taxi (40-50 euros), or the half-hourly "Leonardo Express" is so convenient (14 euros pp).
The Hotel was beautifully furnished with elegant decor and antique pieces. Our Room 101 was small, but very comfortable with modern fully-tiled bathroom. Wi-Fi was free, air-conditioning was quiet, mini-bar was available "to order"........my only "niggle" was we had to pay extra 5 euros per day for tea/coffee facility! Our room overlooked an inner courtyard area and was very quiet.....comfortable bed plus "tired legs" meant we slept well!
All Staff were excellent.....Reception was friendly and welcoming, and always helpful with booking a taxi, suggesting places to visit, or places to dine-out.
The Hotel had a truly International mix of guests, and many different languages/accents were to be heard at breakfast! Continental breakfast buffet was excellent with good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, pastries, cereals plus hot scrambled eggs and bacon.......a good start to the day!! Staff worked tirelessly to ensure there was never a long wait for a table.
Rome was a truly amazing City with "surprises" around every corner......churches, monuments, Piazzas, fountains etc......A great introduction to the City is via one of the many hop-on/hop-off open-top tour buses.....nearest stop Termini. However the best way to explore Rome is on foot, armed with guide book, map and camera......wearing comfortable shoes!....We walked for miles!!
TOP TIP.....when visiting the Vatican or Colosseum please pre-book a guided tour to avoid the very long queues!!
My Wife and I really enjoyed our visit, and have kept with tradition by throwing coins into Trevi Fountain.........we will definitely return to Rome!!
MILLE GRAZIE HOTEL MORGANA!!!!

Room Tip: "Inner" rooms with "Courtyard view" are very quiet. I could imagine rooms at fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to know that your experience at our Hotel Morgana has been nice and enjoyable. We thank you for having shared your opinion with other TripAdvisor's travellers and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Morgana in the near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was in a great location close to the train station that heads straight to the airport. Only a 20 walk to the Coliseum and many other sights. Breakfast was beautifully presented and plentiful. Room were clean and quiet, price was great! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments. That's so nice to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope that you will book our Hotel Morgana again in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio , Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#156 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from th main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.