We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself the money and sleep on the street - same value anyway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    597
    218
    85
    43
See reviews for
274
625
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I very much l;iked the Hotel Morgana. Typical Euro style hotel very near the train station but for 10 euros 3 of us went all over the city in 15 min. taxis. Staff was great esp Mary very friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was the best deal in town and we all looked forward to it each day. Rosy s restaurant 100 feet away was our dinner stop every nite cheap , good ,great wine deal also what more could you ask for and Rosy the phippino owner was very nice sowe stuck with a winner.When we go back will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review. This is what we love to hear from our Guests and what we work for. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again to the Hotel Morgana in the near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

this hotel cuold not be considered a 4 stars hotel.I had a room external to the reception in a not safety zone. I took a taxi cominig back alone from the resturant and the taxi driver offered to take me utlil the door ( An address ao a noral flat) becouse of 2 not so nice person outside it. No resturant inside and forced to go outfor the breakfast. The frigo bar empty . the reception terrible. no more. The room seems to be nice ,but a terrible flouver of old water fro all the night. No more

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that your stay at our Hotel Morgana did not match with your expectations. Please be assured that we have assigned a room in the annex with the only aim to give you a more modern and spacious room. We would have been pleased to offer an alternative room accommodation while you were still in house.
We hope that you could give us a second opportunity and that you would consider the option to book again our Hotel Morgana in occasion a return visit to Rome.
With my best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good hotel if you want to be near the train station. Clean,nicely appointed, good restaurants nearby. Great breakfast included. They had turned a large double into a quad so it was a little snug, but still cheaper than two rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having taken the time to post your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you overall had a great experience at our Hotel Morgana and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Hotel Morgana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at Hotel Morgana but we got bumped to another hotel. They claimed they were giving us an "upgrade" by putting us at their sister hotel The Ariston. From the look of the lobby and common areas we liked Hotel Morgana, but we were tired and didn't want to argue. We went to Hotel Ariston and it was a horrible room. We asked to go back to Morgana and were told they were full. I don't think hotels should be allowed to oversell rooms and bump you. It made for a rather unpleasant last two days in Rome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We deeply apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused to you during your stay in Rome. We are not used to be overbooked actually; unfortunately we had to face an unpredictable issue with a guest we had in house and we had no other option but reprotecting you to our sister Hotel Ariston. We are so sorry that the Executive room that we had reserved for you at our Hotel Ariston did not match with your expectations. We would love to have a second chance and have you as our Guest at the Hotel Morgana, to let you finally have a pleasant stay in Rome and to make you forget this negative experience.
Please accept again our sincere apologize.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is pretty good. Its personnel is quite helpful and the rooms have everything you need. There is a good breakfast (may not be included) with a good range of options.
We had booked an executive room (116) to get some more space but the room was still quite small. Made me wonder how small the lesser rooms were.
The location is oke, close to termini station and plenty of restaurants close by.
The negatives about the hotel were the costs for me. Specially the extra costs for the WiFi and coffee and tea in the room. You may think that when you pay a good amount that it should be included.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having posted your review on TripAdvisor. We will take your suggestions into high consideration and we hope that you will choose our property again in occasion of your return visit to Rome.
Many thanks again for the time you spent to review our Hotel Morgana.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Dear Traveller

PROS
This location is a street away from the Rome Termini which is great as all buses and trains meet their. And I truly mean that at roads do lead to Rome. Quickly you will learn to use the bus routes and the trains to get to and fro.

I had an upgraded room. Its in a building a block away from the reception. Not much of a walk unless you braving a cold day which then will wake you up before you arrive at breakfast. Rooms are modern good size for Europe and view is of an arch that looks like arch De Tromph (never got down to knowing what that was).


CONS
Breakfast is good, they have a great variety of food on the cold meats selection but for the hot selection you will get scrambled eggs (good) and bacon (amazing). The 2 quality of the let's them get away with the limited variety. Don't go at 10:30 when breakfast just about closes. They will literally start clearing all the food away whilst you still eating. Also they are seriously probably the most unhappy staff I have ever seen as none of them smile or even make eye contact or even are helpful. Its as if you are always in their way which is clearly an unwelcoming trait in the service industry.

You room does not come with coffee facilities you will have to hire it for EUR 5 per day. That is another strange quirk but where the Romans can tax, they will.

Stay at this hotel mainly based on convenience of location, cleanliness and as learning how to figure out Rome.

It worked for me. If they upgrade on their service, they would reach a far higher standard of excellence.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review about our Hotel Morgana. Your opinion is very important to us and pleased be assured that we will take your suggestions into high consideration to improve our service more and more, with a special attention to the the Staff attitude.
We hope that you overall enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Morgana and we look forward to welcome you again to Rome in the near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Filippo Turati 33/37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#186 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#195 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morgana is a charming four stars hotel, ideally located in the heart of central Rome and within walking distance to the main cultural and architectural landmarks as Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. Hotel Morgana is closed to Termini railway station and steps away from th main bus and subway lines stations thus it allows an easy access to any sites. Hotel Morgana features 121 spacious and luxurious guest rooms and suites that are stylishly designed with a fusion of comfort and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morgana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.